We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at 3 different Komaneka hotels in Ubud, it is always a pleasure. The atmosphere is fantastic not least because of well-trained staff.
Komaneka Monkey Forest has a very central location, which for us is really good. Of course is the jungle / nature atsomfære better if you are staying at Komaneka Bisma.
We will certainly return to Komaneka Monkey Forest, it was a great place for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    107
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
210
648
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of central Ubud. It is close to so many excellent restaurants and shops. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. My room was spacious with a sunken bath tub and a very comfortable bed. It had a balcony that you could sit on and look at the rice fields. The gardens were lush and wonderfully maintained. It is truly a tropical oasis. My only complaint was that the WiFi was erratic and I could not always access the movies on the TV. However, the staff were working on this problem and I suspect by now it would have been resolved. Afternoon tea is a nice touch and served everyday. There is also a huge selection of breakfast choices. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

After enjoying two magnificent stays at the Tangayuda property we thought we would give Monkey Forest a go. We stayed in a beautiful pool villa overlooking rice paddies. We did have some trouble with our pool on our second day, but the fabulous staff moved us without any fuss and even offered us a glorious treatment in the spa for the inconvenience. We loved the location of this resort with many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The staff are more than happy to make reservations for you and they even dropped us off a Naughty Nurri's and returned to collect us once we finished. Overall we really enjoyed our 3 nights here and loved the location but I do prefer the views from the valley pool villas at Tangayuda.

Room Tip: Private pool villas are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2NowPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The most amazing thing about this wonderful resort is the contrast from the chaotic street scene in front ("Taxi? Taxi? Tomorrow?") and the calm in the resort itself. We (my wife and son and I) had a pool villa, and it was the most peaceful retreat you can imagine. We backed onto the forest with a stream in the valley below, next to rice fields. The staff is incredibly friendly and seems honestly happy that you are there. The food is very good in the dining area, though there are so many choices nearby that we only used it for our first dinner when we arrived late and for the breakfasts.

I've stayed in many places, but this one is a very special and memorable one. I would easily spend twice what I paid for this and still feel I got my money's worth.

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth the extra not just for the plunge pool, which is nice, but for the extra q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike in Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

As older experienced travellers this was the most beautiful place to stay. It is centrally located in Ubud and is very quiet. The villa was beautiful...the attention to detail we have never seen any other resort. The staff were exceptional..they were attentive but at the same time discreet. Any request was met with a smile and attended to immediately. The food was also beautiful, nothing pre-cooked, all cooked fresh. We also had an amazing body massage. Thankyou to everyone at Komaneka Monkey Forest Resort for making our stay a memorable one..we will certainly be staying here again next time we are in Bali, also will recommend this to our friends. Rob and Jenny

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Thank you to Yoga and the staff at the Hotel,very friendly and professional. We stayed in a beautiful Villa over looking the rice fields. The massage was was the best we,ve every had. Enjoyed every minute, thank you again.

Room Tip: Villa Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

June, 2013: My husband and I stayed at the Komaneka Monkey Forest and cannot recommend it highly enough!
The staff were not only professional and courteous in every way but also gracious and warm in their welcome and daily encounters with you.
Our accommodation was outstanding with a welcome card from management and staff and surprise welcome gifts too. The room was beautifully presented as only the Balinese can do and so CLEAN.
Breakfast was a lovely surprise with the extensive menus to choose from and the food did not disappoint.
Afternoon tea by the infinity pool was truly wonderful and the savoury and sweet foods offered a delight along with the percolated coffee or a choice of teas.
The grounds were beautifully kept and it was so PEACEFUL even though we were just off the main shopping road. Very well located.
A wonderful airy and beautifully presented library/reading area and Spa overlooks the green fields and is so restful and relaxing.
The KOMANEKA brand is excellent and we were driven (complimentary) to the other 3 hotels in Ubud to have a look around to see what they offer. We also chose to have breakfast at 2 of the other hotels so that we could enjoy the experience - we were not disappointed. Staying at a Komaneka hotel you are able to have a meal or a day or part day at the pool of one of the other hotels, even afternoon tea and have a complimentary driver to take you and pick you up.
We will definitely go back next year and stay here again as it was outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room and it was truly wonderful. We believe all the rooms are located so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie5167SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#1 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing