We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting in a lively area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #14 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The service is great; staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and gracious. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast that is included is excellent. The Monkey Forest area is a busy street but this hotel is tucked back enough that noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Komaneka at Monkey Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

For starters I'm a retired 5 star international hotel General Manager. You don't get more picky than that. Komenaka staff are first class, with a cheeky sense of humour that made every contact point feel that we were very special. From the greeting on arrival and allowing us to get into our room a little earlier than expected, throught to spacious well appointed spotless rooms, fantastic infinity pool overlooking the ravine, the free afternoon tea and top class breakfast were impossible to critique. Free Wifi fantastic.We were even allowed to saty a little later for a late checkout. The owners and management of this resort should be justifiably proud of their first class affordable property, but the real hidden gem is the amazing staff service culture. Well done, we'll be back and sure to tell others. If you found this review helpful please tick so. Cheers Owen Cook

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff at Komaneka Monkey Forest are the most courteous, most hospitable and most welcoming people in Bali. They really go above and beyond what is expected, not a day goes by during our stay that we have not felt so spoilt and special. My special thanks to the front desk staff -- Juli, Juni, Ade, Miarta, Dewi and Yoga -- you guys are hands down the most amazing people we've met. We will come home to Ubud and come home to Komaneka at Moneky Forest each and every time we visit your beautiful island!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinklybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I broke a tooth a couple of weeks before I went on my already planned holiday to Bali...and horror of horrors, it was one of my front teeth. Long story short, I had to have the whole thing removed, here in Australia, and was told I would have to wait six months to get any kind of 'filler'...I was soooo self concious.
When I asked the staff at the hotel about dental care they couldn't have been more helpful...they found a local dentist (who saw me on a Sunday) they made sure that any kind of bridge, plate, filler would be completed before my holiday ended (it actually took only 3 days) and they provided a driver to take me to the clinic (free of charge) for both days (initial consultation and fitting)...and look SANTA, no more gaps...they were simply wonderful.
I would like to thank Hera, the resort manager, and her terrific staff for making this not only possible, but as 'easy' as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry_R27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Komaneka at Monkey Forest in Ubud for a week. From the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left our stay was awesome. We travel quite a bit and we felt like the room, all of the amenities in the room, the grounds, pool and food as well as its central location was just the best place that we have ever stayed. Internet is great too. The beauty and comfort with the attention to every detail addressing asthetics was matched by the hotel staff. Every person on their staff from garden workers, chef, restaurant servers always greeted us with beautiful smiles, requests to let them know how we are finding our stay and what more that they could do for us to make our stay better. They gave us a complementary dinner one night replete with personalized menus with our names on them. Their food is varied and delicious and presented always with bright smiles and a genuine wish that we enjoy their food...which we definitely did. They gave us a gift when we left and they made us feel like we were very special guests for them. I cannot say that for the many types of places that we have stayed. After our stay in Ubud we stayed in other parts of Bali and nothing came close to our experience at Komaneka at Monkey Forest hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacobspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a marvellous place to stay and we were simply delighted by the warmth of the hospitality provided. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, the food very good and the location very handy for Ubud attractions, but it is the customer service provided that stood out here. From the moment we arrived (having had a long trip up the mountain) we were simply made to feel very welcome. The hospitality provided to us over our stay simply exceeded expectations - a consistently warm, friendly and generous attitude that would be the envy of many others. It is one thing to train staff to greet guests and be helpful, but this came across as a step above - the staff seemed simply to want your stay to be as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we spent three nights at Komeneka during december 2012. What a pleasant experience. We were greeted with such warmth from the inception of our stay. The resort is absoulately clean and the service is excellent. We even noticed staff removing brown leaves from the trees. The breakfasts were very good as well. It is located in the heart of the town and we could walk to the restaurants and shops. Thank you Neethi, for going out of your way to make my daughter feel special on her 16th birthday by having a cake for her. If ever I come back to Ubud, Komeneka would be the resort of our choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#18 of 198 in Ubud
1,915 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 198 in Ubud
2,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 198 in Ubud
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $186 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing