We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #11 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kampen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Komaneka resort at Monkey Forest Road. A personalized service, you are not just a visitor but really treated as a guest! It's a rather small hotel, 20 rooms only. We had a deluxe room, overviewing the rice fields. The frogs where rather noisy but they go to sleep before midnight. After a few nights, the manager offered us an upgrade to the Komaneka Bisma hotel. On the 10th night of our stay, we were offered a complimentary candle light dinner. Perfect facilities: a spacious Spa and a lovely swimmingpool. In the afternoon, they serve a complimentary afternoon tea. The staff really does it's utmost to make you enjoy your stay at the max! We will certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabl0niere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    108
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
217
677
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very nice hotel - perfect location in Ubud, very good service and staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oeeneesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Wonderful and unique resort with fantastic staff. Highlight of my Bali holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Let me begin by saying this hotel is smack dab in the middle of Ubud, a city in central Bali that is equal parts village-y and tropical forest. The staff was wonderful and so polite, as were most of the people in Ubud...we were greeted in the middle of the night and shown our room which was nice. The room was clean and decent-sized, but the bathroom was an "outdoor bathroom", meaning the ceiling was partially open. This allowed in small lizards not to mention a sweat-inducing humdity in the bathroom. Overall the hotel had a quiet, in-the-middle-of-a-rainforest feel...which exotic sounds of animals and insects heard outside in the distance at night. Breakfast was complementary and it was okay, not better or worse than any other in Ubud (hotels all seemed to offer similar breakfast options). The main negative aspect of our stay here was that my diamond wedding ring was stolen by a staff member. I am sure of this, and it was mainly my fault for leaving it out in the bathroom while going out with my husband for the day. The manager apologized profusely and really the people/staff were the best thing about the hotel. They were very polite, and we only stayed 2 nights before moving to Komaneka at Bisma, the sister hotel, which was much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LailaAlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

From the moment we were welcomed everything was perfect. The attention to detail drink and cold towel on arrival, flowers on the bed, complimentary daily afternoon tea, fresh fruit daily and as much bottled water as we needed, not to mention the delightful massage oil and bath products as a gift plus a one hour massage each included. We were truly impressed to have been upgraded to a pool view room before we even arrived. Absolutely loved the private courtyard, massive room plus a gorgeous outdoor shower. Everything was clean and fresh and the excellent staff turned down the bed each night and left a night gown, changed daily. I can't rave enough about this hotel, that is until we we offered a free upgrade to the Komaneka at Bisma for two of our nights stay. Definitely went from brilliant to even better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaylover086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Attentive friendly service- central location, yet quiet and peaceful ..a beautiful boutique hotel.

I've stayed in 2other hotels during our visit to Bali- novotel Bali benoa, and Royal Beach Seminyak- This place was the smallest, but by far the best experience. Only stayed in Komaneka for one night, but wish we'd stayed longer ! This place is not your usual large resort with big pools, but left us with a very pleasant, lasting impression.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Komankea Monkey Forest Road and were so sad to leave. Everything was perfect, Wonderful staff, beautiful room and a perfect location. Three minutes from busy, busy Monkey Forest Road you find this oasis which is remarkably peaceful and sitting next to a rice field. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KesuStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing