We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce for a quiet Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #31 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NIce for a quiet Break”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had just finished 8 days in Legian Padma Resort and found exactly what we were after in this place for a cultural experience to the end of our trip. It is all Balinese and we paid the extra mony to be in the Deluxe Villa. It was two storey and beautiful for a couple/honeymooners. We had a family of 4 so the kids stayed upstairs. I was certainly in the good books with my wife with this place.
Yes there was some stairs but it created the ambience of this resort on the side of the mountain. Just outside of town but plenty of galleries around us to visit and a courtesy bus to town or the monkey village all day, everyday. Ubud is quieter hence we only need two days with teenagers to visit however if you plan to do rafting do it from ubud not legian as the travel is over an hour whilst 10 minutes from Ubud
We did not eat in any of the restaurants in the resort but had and american breakfast included and was delicious.
What you see on the website is what you get. - Beautiful sample of this country
Thankyou Pita Maha

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz06_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    119
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
125
447
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This was the third part of our Honeymoon in Bali and was absolutely spectacular. This is exactly what I pictured when I wanted a private villa with a plunge pool overlooking rice paddy's...The villas are a MUST!!! the plunge pool is great for a dip after a long hike through the rice paddy's. The villas a very private and the decor and attention to detail is the likes of the many temples that surround Ubud. Yes there are lots of steps...BUT...what do you expect you are on the side of a ravine, plus it adds to the authentic charm!!! The room is massive and we were greeted with rose pedals decorating the bed spread and bathtub. The staff went above and beyond to make our experience truly memorable and I would definitely recommend this property to any couples looking for a romantic getaway.

I recommend taking advantage of a visit to the Royal (sister property)...there is a complementary transfer...all you have to do is ask! The grounds and view are remarkable and the food was great! Quite possibly the best steak I have ever had overlooking an awesome ravine with a winding river 300 feet below.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Have stayed at Pita Maha six times now. Have visited all others (amandari, four seasons, Royal Pita Maha etc). I find this one is more real Bali and not plastic in any way. Pool villas are lovely. Staff are great. Location is great. Not the best views in Ubud but if you, like me, like great 4 star hotels that are 32 rooms or less, this one is brilliant. Its not full of Japenese honeymooners or package tour tourists. blissful and highly recommended. Not really suitable for kids - more a quiet haven. Six visits says it all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyboardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Recuperating from an illness, my husband and I found the Pita Maha an excellent place to relax and recover. I am not very good on my legs so there was always a member of staff to help me up the many steps. They could not have been more obliging. To save me having extra walking, all meals were delivered to our private villa. This had its own walled garden and pool. I spent many hours lying on the day bed listening to the doves cooing and watching the squirrels jumping from branch to branch in the trees while the swallows wheeled overhead.

The staff organised a car and driver for us and we visited a different craft village, palace or temple every day for the 8 days that we stayed there.

Like all the Balinese people that we met, the staff were extremely polite, kind and helpful.

We look forward to staying there again. As we are both old that will have to be soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Lovely room with pool and garden. Service excellent. Lovely views. Transport to Ubud provided.
There are a lot of steps. If this is a small problem check actual location of room. If major problem you are going to miss out on a really good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at Pita Maha for 6 nights our honeymoon in June 2010. After being married in Bali we were looking forward to ending our wedding trip with a relaxing few days in the mountains. In summary
Good
1. The view!!! amazing view from our bed out over our infinity pool and over the canyons. Simply breathtaking.
2. Nice clean rooms, spacious.
3. breathtaking views over the gorges from the restaurant for breakfast
4. yoga bale down by the river with free and paid yoga classes daily. an amazing spot for your practice!
5. organic restaurant down by the river... nice.
6. free shuttle bus to Ubud centre - handy
7. KIRANA SPA IS JUST NEXT DOOR - and FREE USE of the facilities at Kirana once you book a treatment.... this place is just HEAVEN... one of the top 2 spas in Asia you know...sheer joy/bliss/tranquility.....

Not so good
1. The steps!! we were at the top of the complex which meant a vast amount of STEEP steps to get up and down just to get from our room to the lobby. don't even think about it if you aren't that fit, are carrying babies, strollers, or can't walk a lot of steps a lot of the time.
2. The steps! to get down to the organic restaurant and yoga bale... 20mins walk to get down there... became not worth it towards the end of the trip...
3. decor seemed very 'dated' and 'traditional' (but not in a good way) - it was a little kitsch and not very modern...the room was nice but it wasn't spectacular
4. the staff. whilst very friendly and attentive we always got the feeling that the concierge staff were trying to 'hustle'... too much offering of drivers/tours/motorbikes/more tours - enough already!!! if we wanted a tour we'd ask you... we also got the feeling that it wasn't hotel arranged drivers/tours etc but their own personal ones. not very relaxing.

all in all it was a nice hotel but we're the more 'boutique'y' style of hotel so we wouldn't go back to this one again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Meet and greet at the airport was very welcome. Our driver provided bottles of ice cold water and chilled towels. Lovely friendly welcome with more cool towels and fruit drinks. We originally booked the duplex villa, but were upgraded to 2 villas (one with a pool) as the duplex was next to a new build so wouldn't have been very private,
I loved the old Balinese style-made a lovely change from modern hotel rooms. The rooms are huge, and yes there was a sort of musty smell but just like the smell of wood in a rainforest, which given the climate and setting didn't seem out of place.Turn down service was great-everything cleaned up and tidied and refreshed-mosquito nets pulled and all other mosquito repellents activated.
Fantastic outdoor bath & shower-that was a real treat.
Our 2 villas were connected by a door in the private gardens and all villas are behind walls with typical Balinese entrances. The private pool was wonderful, but venture down to the main infinity pool and the views are amazing.
Breakfast was very good with fruit, pastries, cooked-various combinations and toast.
Only ate at the restaurant first evening and it was ok, though the choice in town is so good, it couldn't really compete.
The shuttle bus was very handy
Thought the staff were charming-very friendly but not intrusive, and they would do anything to help.
Hotel provided transport to our next hotel in Sanur, and I would have liked to have given a medal to one of the young men who carried 2 of our bags( and they were heavy!) up and down all those steps and still made it to reception with a smile.
Fantastic place would love to return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Property: Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing