We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for honeymooners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #30 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for honeymooners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Upon entering the lobby at Pita Maha – you are instantly impressed! It’s all open air with an amazing view of the valley. Pita Maha has an old charm and rustic feel while still feeling elegant. It was designed with the style of a Balinese village in mind. The grounds are beautiful. Almost everything is covered in moss. Old stone and wood work are everywhere. I’m sure there are other, more lavish hotels but the unique feel of Pita Maha cannot be replaced.

The villa was wonderful. It was very private and perfect for a honeymoon. We loved the outdoor shower and tub and our personal plunge pool. The room is not completely sealed (the doors are locked by padlocks – so there is a gap and they don’t completely close). Therefore we did find bugs – mosquitoes and ants mostly. This was not a problem for us, but I know some would be turned off. It all goes with the atmosphere of the place! And there was a mosquito net on the bed. We never used bug spray once and only got bitten a few times - it was always when we were in town at night.

The main pool was very nice with an amazing view of the valley. We only used it once, however - since we had our own private plunge pool.

The “American” breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. We were served a plate of fruit, given a selection of toast, Danishes, cakes etc., then served two eggs, with choice of meat and a small hash brown. We only ate dinner at the hotel once and it was delicious. It cost about $45.00. For the rest of our meals we went into the town of Ubud. The food was always good. We usually ate for around $30.00. We found a little hole in the wall for lunch one day and it cost $10 with a beer.

The service was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We found this hotel to be very quiet. Even breakfast in the restaurant was never busy – although it’s a small resort with only 24 villas. There are family villas as well for bigger groups and families.

There was a free shuttle every hour into the center of Ubud and to the monkey forest. Although, we got the feeling that if you asked, they would take you pretty much anywhere in the area. We also saw them take guests into town who had missed the shuttle – so they were very accommodating. The last shuttle pick up in Ubud was around 9:00 pm - which gave us plenty of time to have dinner.

There was a supermarket located very close to the hotel - approx. a 5 min. walk, which was convenient for purchasing wine & beer & any items you may have forgotten to pack.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    115
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
425
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Pita Maha is my favorite hotel in Bali. There are many fancier places to stay, but this one feels like home to me. I have stayed there four times and will return. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly, the rooms are spacious and the restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloberoamerCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over the world on a yacht
Level Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

having just been to the Damai Lovina, we were spoiled...but Pita Maha was a big letdown. this is a hotel for the masses, not for individual pleasure. the moment we arrived, the manager was asking us when we were leaving. ok, it was so he could organize our transport, but it wasn't a good feeling! the gardens and walkways are amazing, beautifully landscaped...unfortunately, this means an army of gardeners... making an army's worth of noise. we were offered a pool villa (plunge pool), it looked amazing from the photos. the reality was somewhat different. these villas are HUGE, with nearly 3 whole walls of beautiful glass & views of your own private garden...but they are very tired. the furniture was serviceable, not built for beauty, which is what we were expecting...hey, this is bali!! there are a million carvings outside, but inside is very bland, almost ugly, and needs a refit. there was a cheap bamboo mat on the floor. the throw pillows didn't match even a little bit. the sheets were scratchy and had holes in them. part of the wall was falling away under the desk from the damp. a general polish or varnish was needed. the mini bar is rusting. the mosquito net looked romantic but needed to be larger; when we did use it, we were trapped in a little pyramid in the center of the bed, and the "king" bed was 2 beds pushed together! the shower and bath outside were at least under cover, which was good. loads of really hot water, great. yukky shampoo & conditioner, cheap, cheap, cheap. the last place we stayed made their own, and it was a pleasure to use! the first "pool villa" we stayed in was right next to a bigger "family" sized villa, with children shouting & screeching in the pool from 6am. we asked to be moved, this took quite a while, and you could tell they didn't want to move us. the 2nd villa was exactly the same as the first, a little less tired, but not much (i.e. the wall wasn't coming apart from the damp), but there are holes in the wall hangings above the bed, and the general air is the same.
the staff are all very friendly, but they are obviously used to the 2-3 day visitors. they say hello & how are you, etc., but they invariably ask: "when are you leaving?" and "what's your program?" then offer you some service outside the hotel. the shuttle driver (after he asked us when we were leaving) advised us NOT to use the hotel for excursions, as it would be very expensive...but don't you know, he had a friend who could drive us around... (*sigh*) in general, the staff are very friendly & eager to please, but they are not as attentive as those at the damai. i guess it's because they get so many people moving through so quickly.
the food here was ok. beautifully presented. you get a coffee machine in the room, and they do give you tea bags, but unless you run the bottled water (also free) through the coffee machine, how would you get it hot? the sugar is in a packet, also you get little packets of non-dairy creamer. yuck! i hate that stuff. why not put a little box of UHT milk in the fridge & charge the guests if they use it? the salt and pepper were also in packets, as was the jam & the butter (even at the table in the restaurant for dinner). i did think this was a more upscale place than that.
the hotel itself is in a good location, far enough from town and in a good spot, near some nice shops & restaurants.
the lobby has a fantastic carving that is not exactly my idea of art, but certainly demonstrates the carver's skill. the blocky furniture is comfortable but covered in a fabric that irritates the eye. as it rains A LOT in Ubud, the use of extremely slippery tile on the floor & stairs is a total mystery.
the front desk will tell you that the shuttle only leaves on the hour, but they don't tell you that you can ask them to take you into town for $5US! they don't encourage this, i guess. the hotel says that there are no taxis in the area, but yet there are thousands!
the in-villa reference book is disconcerting. you look for "laundry", there is no entry. you look for "room service", it's under "villa service". i can't remember what else i was looking for, but it took a while to figure it out!
ah, the locks on the doors: inside the villa, all the doors have a wooden bolt with an extra (ugly) chain lock (hmmm). the beautifully carved front door to the villa (the one you see in all the photos) as well as the door to the garden gets closed from the outside with a padlock on each. both are hard to open, which is irritating. and ugly! mars the beautiful carvings.
you can change money at the front desk, sometimes it's easier than doing it in town. they are very willing and give an ok rate. they will confirm your flights here too. there is internet downstairs in the "lounge", but they tell you immediately that you can only use it for 2 hours. the printer was antique and it took over 24 hours to be able to print out our tickets. they offer "free" tea & coffee with balinese "cakes" here every day for the guests. this is a blah room that looks over the beautiful hotel temple. the pool looked nice, but it was raining, so we didn't check it out, ditto the pool bar.
in general: we were disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

bugs in the room, don't leave any windows open, and ask at the reception desk if the pool has been given chemicals.. i am not sure about those pools.. when our fountain turned on, a very large goppy ball of larva slipped out into the pool and really freaked me out... it was the size of a baseball and i would not swim in our private pool again. i never saw anyone doing anything to our pool in one weeks time... also the food in the restaurant is not that great and very expensive... staff is wonderful, were never really sure they understood english all that well, but it's just enough out of ubud to make it a great walk with great fun shopping. also make sure to use a safe deposit box, people are comming in and out of the room all day when you are gone.... so don't leave anything in the room... like money, passports, etc..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naptownUbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Yes, the Pool Villa was gorgeous and spacious. Yes, the views are lovely. Yes, our bathroom was decadent. Even the location is just far enough outside of town for it to be quiet yet convenient. But the big thing here at the Pita Maha is the staff. There was nothing that was too much of an effort and they actually enjoyed conversing and laughing with you. We have been to Bali many times before and stayed lots of places but these people were that extra helpful. We dropped into the sister property for yoga by the river, (The Royal Pita Maha) and although the property itself was absolutely incredible, the staff were not half as friendly.
One peice of negative feedback I would give to the Pita Maha is more about Food and Beverage than anything. It just misses the mark. Breakfast is Ok...little things like soggy, cold toast and cold eggs kind of dampen your enthusiasm. At dinner, main courses that came out cold really arent up to par when everything else is.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaginelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Like many others we stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon. It was sheer bliss. The rooms were gorgeous-immaculate, spacious, and fit into the surrounding natural environment. I do not feel that the website accurately portrays how amazing the actual property is. Additionally we were treated like gold by every staff member we came in contact with. We made a mini video of our villa and our friends and family cannot even believe that a paradise like that exists! If you are staying in the Ubud area Pita Maha is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Having traveled all over Indonesia we let our guard down due to the opulence in this place. We hadn't eaten all day so know when we were served a lukewarm chicken dinner that was the source of infectious diarrhea. We both felt a bit off within a few hours of the meal. My husband refused to eat anything else from the restaurant . Shortly after breakfast, I was in so much pain I could barely walk and make it back to the room in the nick of time; I suspect I the food was contaminated by Clostridium perfringens. I couldn't leave the room or eat anything for the next 3.5 days. A huge waste of money as this was our most expensive hotel stay during this trip. The management wouldn't call a doctor, didn't offer soda for us to have any calories, or seemed concerned that 2 guests had been poisoned by their restaurant. What infuriated me the most was the total lack of concern by the management and failure to offer any palliative service. We were about to use our emergency travel insurance to evacuate home, when I found my Cipro. Only this saved me. The food handling in the tropics is so important and one expects high standards at a high end hotel. I've worked in food service so understand the importance of safe food handling. We completely missed out on using the facilities of the hotel, much less seeing the sights of Ubud. If the hotel had at least expressed concern or offered soda or soup, but they just didn't care. So... the hotel is beautiful, villas luxurious with gorgeous landscaping, great AC and beautiful views, however if the kitchen cannot provide hot/safe food the guests suffer. Our entire stay at this hotel was ruined due to poor kitchen sanitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SE-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#38 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Property: Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing