We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with private pools !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #32 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice resort, close to Ubud (10 minutes to the center of Ubud by free shuttle bus). Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Private secluded garden with private pool. We could then enjoy dinner on the terrace. Room service was great as well as breakfast. There is also an infinity pool in the resort where you have a stunning view over the forest. I think this hotel was moderately priced compared to other similar places in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 782 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having been impressed with welcoming the pick up from our resort in Seminyak, we were excited to arrive at Pita Maha, especially having read such great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully rustic, the villa was wonderful, and the staff friendly.

However, the longer we spent there the more disappointed we became with the service. Having been spoilt by the wonderful staff in Seminyak, perhaps we expected too much from Pita Maha, however it did feel a little unprofessional on occasions. On a number of occasions staff tried to sell us trips with their friends, paintings through an uncle etc etc, which became very tiring.

The spa was poor, on the two occasions we receive couples massages, the masseurs whispered to each other constantly which was rather off putting. A tip would be to check out the spa on days where they offer 40% off, which was 2 out of the 3 days we were there.

That being said, I think the hotel is in a good location, away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Ubud, but close enough to go in for dinner or the whole day. A must place to eat is The Melting Wok. There are also some great restaurants near by the hotel, including Mozaic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This one of the great hotels in Ubud and if you have a villa, which I recommend, you also have a pool on your own, which seems to flow into the canyon. The staff is friendly and kind. The breakfast is not buffet but menue style. Very comfortable and spacious rooms, a good bed, which is rather rare and a very quiet environment.

There is a free shuttle bus to Ubud, which is nice as the way is down and uphill.

In the hotel you should avoid the bar, which is free of any atmosphere and has very upmarket prices.

Room Tip: In recommend room 305, which is the Spa Villa. It is a long way up back to the reception area, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neubiberg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Although I was only there for one night, it was very special. The place is so charming in a Balinese way not often found today. The rooms are ultra-spacious and loved soaking in the lovely round bathtub. Sitting by the pool pondering the greenery on the other side of the river was also magical. The only area that could be improved was the breakfast as it was quite average. The poached eggs were really more like hard boiled. However, the setting made up it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaUbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pita Maha Resort for 7 wonderful days, every single thing was perfect from the pick up at the airport to the simple and efficient check-out.
The villas are just beautiful, we stayed in villa 202 which isn't too far away from the main lobby and has the most stunning view. The outdoor shower and bath is just gorgeous.
The staff are absolutely charming and nothing is too much trouble, the staff at breakfast and afternoon tea were particularly polite and friendly.
The resort is ideally located within a 20 minute stroll into Ubud but there is a free hourly shuttle bus from the resort, but if you don't want to go too far, there are a few good restaurants within a minute walk.
All in all this is just a wonderful resort, ideally located and the staff just make it perfect, we would highly recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk to breakfast room 202 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey452012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A friend and I again stayed recently at the Pita Maha. What a sanctuary. It is set into the side of a valley with beautiful views and pristine gardens. Our room was luxurious and spacious. Staff were welcoming, attentive and friendly during the entire stay. We did feel like we were returning home. It was close to attractions such as Botanica, the ridge walk, Mozaic and Indus (our favourite restaurant). The shuttle bus made the short trip into Ubud central so easy. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidinKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Pita Maha, from the moment that we arrived from the pick up at the airport. The location is a dream in truly Balinese style, the villas are superb.
They have a shuttle for the convenience of their guests free of charge. The gardens are sublime with a wonderful infinity pool and al fresco spa.
The staff is extremely friendly and ready to help in any way possible.
We did not eat there every night as there is so much variety in town which we guessed made for a compact menu. That said the food was of good quality when we did.
Would definitely stay there again next time we are in Bali.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $206 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing