We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of the real Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #31 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reminds me of the real Bali”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Although I was only there for one night, it was very special. The place is so charming in a Balinese way not often found today. The rooms are ultra-spacious and loved soaking in the lovely round bathtub. Sitting by the pool pondering the greenery on the other side of the river was also magical. The only area that could be improved was the breakfast as it was quite average. The poached eggs were really more like hard boiled. However, the setting made up it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaUbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    118
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
124
439
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pita Maha Resort for 7 wonderful days, every single thing was perfect from the pick up at the airport to the simple and efficient check-out.
The villas are just beautiful, we stayed in villa 202 which isn't too far away from the main lobby and has the most stunning view. The outdoor shower and bath is just gorgeous.
The staff are absolutely charming and nothing is too much trouble, the staff at breakfast and afternoon tea were particularly polite and friendly.
The resort is ideally located within a 20 minute stroll into Ubud but there is a free hourly shuttle bus from the resort, but if you don't want to go too far, there are a few good restaurants within a minute walk.
All in all this is just a wonderful resort, ideally located and the staff just make it perfect, we would highly recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk to breakfast room 202 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey452012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A friend and I again stayed recently at the Pita Maha. What a sanctuary. It is set into the side of a valley with beautiful views and pristine gardens. Our room was luxurious and spacious. Staff were welcoming, attentive and friendly during the entire stay. We did feel like we were returning home. It was close to attractions such as Botanica, the ridge walk, Mozaic and Indus (our favourite restaurant). The shuttle bus made the short trip into Ubud central so easy. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Pita Maha, from the moment that we arrived from the pick up at the airport. The location is a dream in truly Balinese style, the villas are superb.
They have a shuttle for the convenience of their guests free of charge. The gardens are sublime with a wonderful infinity pool and al fresco spa.
The staff is extremely friendly and ready to help in any way possible.
We did not eat there every night as there is so much variety in town which we guessed made for a compact menu. That said the food was of good quality when we did.
Would definitely stay there again next time we are in Bali.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed at Pita Maha several times during the past ten years and every time it has confirmed the feeling we felt the very first time we walked into this place: peace and serenity at its best. The property is bult in a truly balinese style with plenty of stone work inside and outside the 24 villas it is made of, with each villa perfectly secluded from the others so to guarantee absolute privacy, some of the villas have also a private plunge pool though there is an infinity pool for everyone to share, an outdoor bath and shower in each villa make the stay absolutely wonderful. As the resort is just outside Ubud, and so away from the madding crowd, a free shuttle service is available and running every hour. Breakfast is served on a terrace facing an idilliac panorama made of a vulcano and a forest of trees housing several squirrels running up and down amongst the branches. The staff is very friendly and helpful making you feel at home from the very first moment you step in. A newspaper is provided to each villa every day free of charge and so are, on request and at quite convenient costs, a range of tours to the most significant places around the area.

Room Tip: Not the best place if you have troubles with your legs as there are several steps connecting the var...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pita Maha is a bit outside of Ubud proper (a regular shuttle service is available, or you can walk down the hill), so privacy and calm are "au render-vous"! Magnificent villas dotted along the hill, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Infinity pool is a must! Nothing to add - a little paradise in a wonderful town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwaiYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in a villa with a private pool. The service and amenities were absolutely fantastic. The villa has high walls around the perimeter which gives absolute privacy to the rest of the resort. The outdoor bath and shower make for the most romantic stay. The food was delicious but very expensive relative the rest of Bali and other resorts we stayed at. The alcohol was even more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank bryde_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Property: Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#27 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing