We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Travelled with our two teenage children and stayed in the two bedroomed pool villa whichnwas absolutely beautiful. The bed was very comfortable with mosquito net. Upstairs were two single beds aagain with nets. Upstairs had its own ensuite and balcony overlooking the stuuning valley. Massive bathroom with a huge stone bath and separate shower. Would have liked to seen a rain shower head but minor detail. Beautiful breakfast served by the the lovely friendly staff on your private verandah overlooking the plunge pool. The main infinity pool was stunning with the views. It is a bit of a climb from the villa tonthe reception but you get used to it after a couple of days. Only complaint would be the price of drinks. I ordered a gin and tonic and still spluttering over what i was charged - ridiculous amount. Beer not too bad though!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 782 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thank you to the owner and management for investing and running such property in Ubud. This has provided us times and times again with what Bali holiday is all about. The Villa is not the most cutting edge in terms of architecture, however boldness in staying true to intricate yet simple to enjoy Balinese architecture sets you apart. Yes, private plunge pool, beautiful Grohe shower, Toto toilet, AC, Samsung Flat Screen, etc and free wi-fi are all there, however it did not override the true Bali experience. Excellent size villa blend to the surrounding nature, veranda, lounge area, etc just got to be there to experience.
Love the nature corridor, the cliff and landscape, you've integrated all these elements with balance; Frangipani and the rest of the green surrounding.
The only thing that I would suggest; upgrade the breakfast menu and make sure that there's no ants running around on our table, although being part of nature is a challenge.
Thank you for allowing children in your property, connecting gate is a great touch. Looking forward to re-visiting Pita Maha again.

Room Tip: Room not too far from the lobby, just in case it rains, however that's another unique experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We ended up at Pita Maha because our hotel in Kuta was overbooked and we were sent to Ubud as a "getaway". After a long drive (well, 36 km can take 1,5 hours on Bali :-))) we arrived at Pita Maha and were welcomed by the staff. We got a nice two storey villa with own pool, the house was huge (we were just 2 people staying there). The location is ok, however a bit too far from all the restorants (the hotel however offers you a busride to the "centre"), but it's OK to walk a mile or so. The room was lovely decorated, eventhough a bit outdated and the bed was too hard, and there were indeed ants in the bathroom (due to all vegetation outside?). We were quite satisfied with the stay, but only because we did not have to pay for the room. I had checked the room prices before coming an I would be quite dissapointed if I had to pay 200-300 usd per night.... Breakfast was great with a real personal service at a table and you can choose from the meny and the food was fresh. There are many steps in the hotel area and the distance between rooms and lobby demands some walking.
The gardens and the views and the nature is amazing, so Ubud is definetely worth a visit. Would I stay at the same hotel if I ever came to Ubud again? probably not... but it is a great option if you like it quiet, calm, no people around and complete silence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljono4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really beautiful place to stay. Wall enclosed villa with own pool and outdoor bathroom. Spacious and luxurious. Beautiful place to walk around. Exceptionally helpful staff. Good place to explore the island. Only downside is being in the forest means noisy at night from the natural wildlife! Would love to stay there again.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenDen1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

What an amazing place, my Husband & I spend 7 wonderful nights at The Pita Maha Resort & Spa to see in the New Year 2013.
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud.....the serenity, peace, tranquiity and beauty of The Pita Maha will take your breath away.
We stayed in a Pool Garden Villa, the villa was beautifully appointed in true Balinese style.
The private garden and pool were beautiful..... Well kept and clean, an outdoor covered patio area, with a daybed, table & chairs.
The bed was very comfy and a good size like the Australian king size with a mosquito net.
The villa has a good sized living area with a daybed & two chairs, a study desk, small fridge, TV, DVD Player & wireless internet.
We just loved the very private outdoor bathroom with a shower and a sunken with bath.....We want one at home!

The room was very clean and is made up every day with fresh linen, fruit, fridge stocks & water.

The main pool is very clean the gardens around the resort are just beautiful very well maintained.

The food in the Pita Maha Restaurant was delightful- obviously more expensive that the restaurants in town, but I thought quite reasonably priced for a Resort.
The included American breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to it each day after our long morning walks certainly filled us for the day right through to our evening dinner.
The 24 hour room service was nice to have not that we used it often, a nice treat was to have breakfast served on our own private outdoor covered patio area.

The staff here are just lovely nothing at all is too much to ask, any request was done with pleasure & always with a smile. The main staff speak very good English.

The location of this Resort was great – especially if you are after a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle. There is a free shuttle every hour to and from the main village, it is just a short drive down the road. The main centre of Ubud is only around a 35 minute walk from the resort and is quiet safe even at night. We chose a private taxi at night if we had missed the free shuttle the cost from $4 - $5 Australian Dollars.

In Ubud there are several little convenience stores for a bit of shopping, you can stock up on beer, soft drinks & snacks etc
Amazing restaurants in town in our order of recommendation and a price guide –
1.Ibu Rai – Monkey Forest Road, Ubud – 3 courses for two & a bottle of wine AU$60
2. Nomad – 35 Ubud Main Street, Ubud – 2 courses, cocktails, wine & a beer AU$50
3. Cafe Lotus - Ubud Main Street, Ubud - 2 courses, 1 wine & a beer AU$40
If you are after an unforgettable dining experience the treat yourself “Bridges” in Ubud, beautiful food & views. It is best to book so you don’t miss out – We left this treat for our last night in Ubud - We had 3 courses each plus beer & wine - for AU$85
Best coffee & iced coffee in Ubud – Kopi Bali House just up from the Monkey Forest

My Husband & I have travelled the world and stayed in many luxury Hotels and we would have to say The Pita Maha Resort & Spa is truly an amazing tranquil experience.
We cannot rate this place highly enough and will definitely return a truly incredible experience!

Room Tip: Pool Garden Villa views are better closer to the main pool we had Villa 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rvandsvAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pita Maha was such a welcome after a long year. We arrived on the 17th December and stayed 3 nights in a pool villa. Our welcome to this peaceful resort was wonderful. Staff were all very helpful and always smiling. Breakfast was great and would highly receommend this resort for peace and quiet and recharge time out.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arrived on the 26th October 2012, stayed in chalet 102, What a great place, quiet and very private with an outside bathroom. wonderful.
Staff very helpfull and pleasant.The chef baked me a great chocilate cake for my 68th birthday.
Table service for every meal, The only negative it is very hilly with lots of steps so ask for a chaley between 101 to 112, they are managable, I have had a hip replacement and would have found it very difficult in any other chalet after 112.
There is a restaurant called Mozaic within walking distance, I highly recomment it especially for a special occassion.

Room Tip: chalet 101 to 112 as there are only a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyhawke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,029 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#29 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $206 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing