We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to your mystical film set......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It sounds crazy but bits of the Ibah are seriously Indian Jones filmic. Mysterious pathways, water features everywhere, moss covered walls, ancient looking stone carvings. On an island that knocks out consistently impressive hotels, the attention to detail at the Ibah is no exception. The whole place looks absolutely historic; as though the gardens have been there for thousands of years (and then someone in the modern age decided to put a pool in!).

The Ibah is very much a private hotel and it really is more suited to the intimate couples retreat segment of the market. It is a hotel in which you grab a book, sit in the astonishing gardens and just chill out. Whilst I’m sure it is child friendly this really isn’t the kind of hotel where I’d take kids. There, quite simply, isn’t enough to keep them occupied and negotiating the slippery and uneven paths could be a problem for the little ones. Beyond kids, if you have any form of mobility issue then the Ibah may not be for you. I couldn’t imagine negotiating the uneven paths if I wasn’t 100% solid on my feet.

For me the Ibah wasn’t quite what I expected. I generally love the big Bali resorts with a great pool vibe and a bit of a pulse going on. The Ibah doesn’t have this –at all. The pool and broader grounds are a landscaping master stroke But..... the place is very, very quiet, the pool tends to be a bit too chilly and there definitely isn’t a resort vibe. For many potential guests, I can appreciate that this would be a major drawcard for the Ibah. For me, it was almost too quiet.

Comprising a number of villas and some apartment style suites (the Treetop Suites) at the furthermost point, the Ibah really did feel empty. In the four days we were there the only time you ever actually saw other guests was at the breakfast restaurant. Breakfast itself was OK but probably the one thing that I found disappointing. I’d kind of expected a buffet but, on reflection, this wouldn’t be all that feasible in a place the size of the Ibah. Whilst the made to order breakfast was nice enough, after day four the lack of variety became tiresome.

On check-in we were upgraded to a one bedroom villa from the Treetop Suite we had booked. The villa was outright gorgeous. Traditional Balinese furnishings, great bathroom, excellent private garden; really above the 4 star rating that the property carries. For those who have booked the entry level room (Treetop Suites) and don’t get an upgrade I wouldn’t worry. These looked fantastic too.

Bali being Bali, the bar on service is always raised high and the Ibah definitely kicked a goal. The staff were amazing . Nothing was ever a problem. The on-call complimentary pick-up service was excellent and a completely unexpected bonus. So nice to not have to deal with the Bali transport touts. They can ruin a whole trip! At the Ibah all you needed to do was call the hotel and, voila, five minutes later the hotel shuttle rocks up. Absolutely brilliant. If you wanted to go for a walk then the Ibah is literally a few minutes stroll down the road from Ubud town centre. Great to be so close (our last Ubud hotel was in the middle of nowhere!) yet removed enough to be psychologically divorced from the panic that ensues outside the gates.

Room for improvement? Not a whole lot. Given that we stayed for several days and had one or two rainy afternoons, I was a little surprised that there were no fitness facilities. Whilst I’d read good reviews on the spa service the pricing will probably have most guests looking elsewhere. It really did seem empty for most of the time which, if it is as good as the menu looked, is a bit of a shame. Beyond these two minor points it really is pretty much amazing as a total couples escape and the kind of over the top thematic landscaping that you thought only existed on film.

If you want solace then the Ibah is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 903 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay at Ibah was divine luxury. A beautiful retreat with all the trimmings. Ibah is very beautiful and stylish. It's a visual feast of carvings, statues, and flowers. The garden is so gorgeous, and it's a delight to wander around and enjoy the quiet spaces. The staff were absolutely lovely. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and well looked after. In busy Ubud it was a joy to return to our sanctuary.
The pool is gorgeous, with a small pool perfect for children. The restaurant was really nice, and we enjoyed great meals there. Breakfast was a delight each day.
It's the special things at Ibah that make the difference.....the frangipani bowl, the fish ponds, the gardens, the attentive staff, the hotel shuttle car, the turning down of the bed at night, afternoon tea, and the gorgeous rooms.
We loved our stay here. It's a must for everyone wanting luxury with style and without ostentatiousness.

Room Tip: Our treetops suite was beautiful. Ask for a top floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napurrula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is really a special place to stay. There is a timelessness to the stone paths, stone carved walls and statues, the lush gardens and ponds. The villas are set naturally into the gardens, and are very comfortable, with attention to detail. The rooms have tea/coffee facilities (including loose tea and coffee) and the shampoo and conditioner is provided in lovely ceramic pots (not in little plastic bottles like most places). Bowls of fresh fruit are topped up every day. Our family of four (including older teenagers) stayed in two Ibah suites, which were spacious and beautifully appointed, with verandahs or patios depending on the location of the villas. The service and standard of food at breakfast was very good, with made-to-order juice, fruit salad, eggs and coffee, as well as ample toast, pastries. We only had it once, but the complementary afternoon tea by the pool was really lovely. The location is perfect: an easy 10 minute walk into the centre of town, close to restaurants and cafes around the Campuan area and close to the lovely Campuan ridge walk. The shuttle service was handy; we often got a lift one way and walked back. While not cheap, Ibah offers very good value for money. This is one of those hotels you dream about returning to…...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel probably gets overlooked by people looking at the likes of The Four Seasons or something more upmarket (and loads more expensive). But this hotel is very special and should not be overlooked. It is like entering some magical, mystical jungle temple and the hotel, rooms and grounds are truly magical. Housekeeping do a wonderful job of cleaning the rooms, the restaurant staff are so warm and friendly and go out of their way to attend to your needs. When you sit on your balcony you feel you are in the middle of a jungle, it is so peaceful and the sounds of nature just beautiful. Please go there and see for yourself!

Also, they have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere you want to go.

Tip: Go to Bridges Restaurant just down the road from the resort for dinner; one of the best dining experiences i've ever encountered.

Room Tip: Allamanda villa was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great hotel, tucked away from the main road, but close enough to walk to all the attractions of Ubud.
The beds were huge & super-comfy, and the rooms secluded & private, with a real feel of being in a jungle temple retreat.
We came here last year & could not wait to return.
Breakfast is great - just the best muesli! - and the staff very attentive.
The bathroom was huge & the towels clean and soft - and the electric night light/scented candle a nice touch.
Along with friends who have been here we have never had ANY insect problems! Yes, there are geckos around the place, but this is great news - they eat the mossies and run away from people! We have never seen a single spider or worm/centipede, and only occasional ants out on the terrace - just as you would expect.
I certainly would not sanction the chemical warfare others on here demand to kill all the bugs - they seem to have no considerations of the impact on human health let alone the local wildlife. If you want sanitised conditions, don't come on holiday to the tropics! In the room we were provided with mossie coils and an outside carved burner, along with a can of inspect spray if you need it - we never did.
The staff were all great, and never failed to say hello as we passed - from the security guard to the cleaners working between rooms.
Another great stay - we will definitely be back & will recommend to all going to the Ubud area.
If I were to make 1 suggestion it would be to make the Wifi free site-wide & dispatch with the annoying login screens. Also a few more sunbeds on a sunny deck area would be ideal!

Room Tip: 105 has an unencumbered valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boff_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful location amongst the wonderful jungle even though close to town it was very peaceful.the villas we stayed in we're the treetops villas which had a great outlook over the trees with the river below.staff great , villa very clean and a very different look about it .

Room Tip: The treetops villas I would recommend top floor as you don't have people walking around above as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debtrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a return stay at the Warwick Ibah and we were not dissapointed.
We were upgraded upon arrival to a suite with a beautiful private garden and having views across the river.
As per our last stay, the setting is absolutely stunning with beautifully appointed Balinese rooms. Our suite was huge with two terraces overlooking tropical gardens and views across the ravine.
The staff at the Ibah are all fabulous, nothing is too much trouble and they all have the wonderful Balinese smile to make your day!
A shuttle service is offered by the hotel which is very handy even for just a pop out to Starbucks
We LOVE this hotel, it is our favourite, I don't think there is a prettier small hotel in Bali. I would class it more of an 'adults only' hotel, I'm sure they cater for children but the facilities are not very 'child friendly with lots of unfenced water areas and no 'shallow' pool facility with sheer drops around the pool sun terraces.
We will definately be returning to the Ibah again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaligirlPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 199 in Ubud
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $163 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Ibah is a prime example of classic and up-to-date Balinese hospitality and style. Exteriors reflect traditional Bali, with thatched roofs and stone walls carved with exuberant sculptures, making it the perfect place to discover the culture and spirit of Bali. The resort is situated on Royal grounds handed down through generations, alongside Holy springs discovered by a Hindu priest over four hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas Hotel Ubud
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas And Spa
Warwick Ubud
Ubud Warwick
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing