We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Location, Excellent Value, Friendly Staff”
Review of Bumi Muwa Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Ranked #55 of 638 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a little nervous about coming here, as i knew it was a new place, and i wasn't able to read too much input on the place beforehand. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised...and then some.

The staff here was over the top friendly, going out of their way to make sure we were always having the best day possible. Whether it was helping us plan the cheapest/easiest transport, booking later accommodations elsewhere, or fun attractions/activities nearby- they were on it. Every day we got back from shopping around town, they'd always ask what we got, did we have fun, where'd we eat, what did we like the most, etc etc. Never pushy, never with an agenda, just genuinely happy and nice people.

My friend had bad food poisoning on our last day there, so I asked if i could get her breakfast in a take-away container to take up to the room. They told me not to worry, and brought it up to her on a room service tray themselves. They also picked up the tray almost immediately after we set it in the hallway, which was nice considering that's always bound to attract lots of creepy crawly critters. For the rest of the day, any time i came or went, they would ask me how my friend was doing, was there anything they could do, etc. i thought it was really sweet. and even just nice that they remembered.

Beyond the staff, the hotel and rooms are also really nice. i saw some people write about not having toiletries during their stay, which wasn't an issue for us. they must've just still been in the beginning phases then or something, i'm not sure, but they had everything. The rooms were clean, spacious, and also have a good-sized patio which was nice. the one thing the room didn't have was cups! sounds random, but sometimes it's nice to have a drink once you get home, ya know. we just had to resort to straight from the bottle. real classy.

the location of the property was excellent. it was right in the middle of the best strip of shopping, and only a few hundred meters from the entrance of monkey forest (beware of those sneaky little thieving creatures). there were TONS of really good restaurants, cafes, and bars within short walking distance. but the best part about it is that although it's right in the main mix of things, it's not loud at all once you're in your room and trying to sleep, relax, whatever. and the garden is gorgeous, giving it a really serene, peaceful vibe.

I definitely recommend staying here if you come to Ubud. The staff is easily the friendlies of all the places i've stayed in Indonesia so far.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Be careful locating the hotel it's just after the hill on the right after leaving the monkey forest. It is hidden from the road and provides a perfect nesting place. Tv stations are limited but who wants to watch HBO when in ubud! Garden is spectacular, my room was on the upper floor directly facing the garden. I left my windows opened most of the time to maximize the view. Breakfast is just okay to get you going. As always in ubud, get a bike and tour yourself before taking any pro tours.

Room Tip: Choose second floor rooms facing the garden or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colo_mentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in a room on the second floor. Although there was a little construction but it was quite quiet and I was able to rest. The room was very basic and was very clean. The room faces the breakfast pavilion and there was nice greenery. The breakfast was tasty even though flies will come quite soon as your food arrives in the breakfast pavilion. The location is really good as it's close to cafes, restaurants and Monkey Forest.

There are no toiletries provided but you can get them easily from the convenience stores nearby. The tv channels are quite basic too. The entrance to the hotel is via a small alley next to a sarong shop. You have to really look out for it, the first time you arrive at the hotel. There is no safe and no kettle. The staff understands basic English. They didn't understand everything I said but they displayed helpfulness.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and made my holiday enjoyable. It was good value too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreedBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well decorated rooms with a nice bathroom. Very well set up, apart from the fridge which was noisy the place was perfect. the garden is a bliss and the breakfast very good. friendly and helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

i just spent a week there in the middle of my Wife's 2 week stay and was very happy with the accomodation and staff, obviuosly it is budget we got $60aud a night (inc breakfast), but the only things lacking
was a room safe and tea coffee making facilities, like other have mentioned other than toilet paper there was no toiletries but as my wife was there before me this was not an issue, and there are plenty of shops very close buy to purchase items you may need, just across the road and up the hill about 100metres is a laundry service for $3 you get a bag full of washing done and can pick it up the same day, the highlight of this accomoadtion ofr us was the staff, always very nice andhappy to please, supplied a dvd player in the room arranged taxis and even used the accomodations transport to take us to local attractions, this place is only 5 months old so i guess that is why reviews are minimal

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0425steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Get this hotel thru booking.com. The room are spacious,comfortable and clean with a good view of the small garden. The only lacking are the toiletries and the satellite tv only have 1 channel that is MCI. Would be great after business meeting or holiday outing to lay back on the comfortable bed and get updated from tv news. They did have a DVD player. Bytheway the far end of the hotel can be improve rather than seeing the bush...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Bumi Muwa for 2 nights in july 2012. The presentation on bookings.com is better than you will get. The rooms are nice, but there are missing some details.
There are no toiletries in the bathrooms and the finishing touch was lacking.
The view of the garden is very nice, but there is no swimmingpool. You have to share this with the neighbors.
The employees are friendly, but hardly speak English and don't make you feel really welcome.
They are still renovating the hotel and next to the hotel are also building-activities.

The location is very good: about 150 mtr from the Monkey Forest, on Monkey Forest road.
Despite of the building activities, it's a very quiet place (no sound of traffic).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marije1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#139 of 199 in Ubud
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#61 of 638 in Ubud
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#63 of 638 in Ubud
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ujung Ubud Guest House
Ujung Ubud Guest House
#29 of 638 in Ubud
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#10 of 638 in Ubud
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Muwa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Muwa Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $25 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Muwa Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Muwa is a perfect Balinese hideaway accommodation for romantic couples, families alike, and for those who appreciate informality, but to be close to Ubud’s tourist interest and culture centre. Considering Bumi Muwa ubud located in the heart of Ubud, Bumi Muwa serves as a tranquil and comfortable place. Bumi Muwa is build as a simple accommodation with traditional and modern architecture. The space and facilities are set in a surrounded tropical garden with swimming pool and nearby from Monkey forest and Ubud Palace, also just a door step to find many tourist activities, shop, and restaurant at the main road. In front of the accommodation a few minute walk to rice field, there will represents an outstanding value offer. Bumi Muwa is not just accommodation but also unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bumi Muwa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Muwa Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing