We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming place!”
Review of Villa Saraswati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Saraswati
Ranked #11 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very charming place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed there on my own for a could of days to recover from a long journey from London and it was the best cure for jet lag! The place is very charming and pleasant. The room and the bathroom were quite large and nicely decorated. The commons areas are beautiful. The villa is not on the centre, but I didnt find that to be a problem as the hotel offers transfer to town three times again and in any case it is very easy, and cheap, to take taxis. The staff was polite and efficient. Breakfast was delicious, I particularly enjoying the common table as there are only five rooms and it really adds some character to dine all together as well as making it an interesting opportunity to exchange tips with other guests. I had dinner one night there and I really like the food too. The place is a dream, I would definitely stay there again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
243
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this beautifully designed Villa for 5 nights. Due to its location outside of the madness of central Ubud, there is a feeling of peace and tranquility as soon as you enter the front door. You will be greeted with a refreshing drink and an aromatherapy infused refresher towel (which we thought was a really good touch)

The Villa is owned by an Australian couple (Robyn and Dean) who take immense care to make sure that your stay in the Villa and Ubud is a pleasurable one. Robyn is usually around in the mornings and will guide you to the best places to visit and shop in Ubud and around Bali.

The hotel manager (Mr Komang) and his team, with the guidance of Robyn and Dean, bring you true Balinese hospitality and make this Villa run like a Swiss clockwork. We loved the chats we had with the very charming evening staff after our days out in Ubud.

The rooms are well appointed, have crisp white linen and are spacious. I would recommend getting one of the rooms with the outdoor showers.

One of the men working at the Villa (Obe) who is really delightful but an unassuming character, produces the most amazing Balinese artwork, which I believe will be on sale at the Villa soon.

Although it is situated 5km outside of Ubud, the Villa provides three shuttles per day to central Ubud and there are loads of taxis to take you to and fro if the shuttle times do not suit you.

If you prefer a combination of luxury,tranquility, and a mix of Balinese and Australian warmth without the sterility of hotel groups, you cannot go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaheenSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudlo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful Villa for 2 nights after 5 days in Seminyak and Nusa Dua. Both my husband and I was longing for some quiet time, and the location of Villa Saraswati, design of the Villa and garden together with the very warm welcome from Village Manager Komang Tarma made us feel relaxed from the minute we arrived. We really enjoyed the communal delicious breakfast and made new friends with whom we shared a day trip and dinner. Unfortunately we only had one full day in the area which is way too little. We will defiantly return to Ubud and hopefully also to Villa Saraswati.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bente-skibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed in the Villa Saraswati for a week in February and absolutely loved it. I was in the Lotus room which was very romantic and had a beautiful bathroom with outside shower.

The Balinese staff were good at giving advice on where to go and what to see when you are in Ubud.

The hotel is not right in the centre of Ubud. But there are regular shuttle buses to the centre. A taxi to get back is only 50000 IDR.

I would willingly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had the most wonderful, idyllic stay at Villa Saraswati. Every detail has been considered, every need taken care of before you even say it out loud. This place is heaven. The small hotel is in a village about 5 -10 minutes drive to town, but with shuttles at convenient times throughout the day it was easy to get to Ubud. One afternoon we walked the 2 miles in to town so we could check out galleries on the way (an easy downhill walk). We stayed in the Lotus room which was perfect - comfy bed with crisp linens, 2 lovely showers - one indoor and one outdoor, and a large walk-in closet. the manager, Komang, and the other staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Robyn, the owner, is also very friendly and gave us some great tips from shopping to navigating the airport. From the delicious breakfast in the morning to the thoughtful "bedtime story" found on your bed each night highlighting one aspect of the culture in Bali, the little touches made our stay magical.

Our stay here was our best by far in a 2 week trip around Singapore and Indonesia. All expectations were exceeded, and I just hope that I will be so lucky to come back here again one day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rehana329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Villa Saraswati

Arriving at our villa was like stepping into a small piece of heaven. The design was representative of Balinese culture yet very simplistic and spa like. My room had a large bed with white linens and the most amazing pillows. There were huge sliding French doors that opened to the outdoors. The roof was vaulted with dark wood beams and intricately woven palm. The washroom had an indoor walk in shower with rain shower head as did the private outdoor shower. 

The joy of balinese life is that everything Is open to the outdoors. The villa has 5 rooms with a large living room, a media room, a massage room - where I had 3 Balinese massages, an outdoor dining room where we had breakfast everyday and a huge infinity pool deck. All surrounded by carefully gardening lush plants. 

If that wasn't enough, I fell in love with the Balinese staff. Although it was owned by Australians all staff were Balinese.As so as you thought you may want something, they were there asking if you would like it. Like little fairies. Every morning we were greeted with "good morning, would you like your Balinese coffee on the terasse or by the pool. Their big smiles and their kind hearts won me over.

The villa team were very helpful at arranging tour drivers, hair cuts, jewelry making classes, and restaurant reservations. They even included our adult children on the making of the offering baskets and dressed them in beautiful sarongs and lace blouses for presenting their offerings. This experience was a highlight of their trip. My husband loved the Villa's Mie Goreng and the staff were glad to open up the kitchen to give him a lesson on how to prepare it along with the recipe.

We spent a week in Ubud at Villa Saraswati with our two adult daughters. They returned to Canada and we then went on to Seminyak, Lovina and Sanur for three more weeks but our last week we decided to return to Ubud and to the relaxing, elegant Villa Saraswati with the warm and expertly trained staff- which is a credit to the leadership of the on-site owners, Robyn and Dean.

In the months and years to come, when we think of Bali we will first think of the Villa and then of the memories created in Ubud and it's surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coop1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Villa is a little far from the town center, this keep it's peacefull and calm. All the staff were so nice, it made my holiday totally carefree. The banana pancake of breakfast is very delicious!
Tips for room: only rooms in upstairs have cute outdoor shower!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 196 in Ubud
752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saraswati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saraswati

Property: Villa Saraswati
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya, Jl. Mpu Beradah, Banjar Payogan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saraswati 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Multi Award Winning ADULT ONLY Boutique Hotel only 4 km from central Ubud in what was once a private home named Villa Saraswati. The intimacy and serenity of this Boutique Hotel offering 5 beautifully decorated bedrooms is truly what makes it a special part of your Bali holiday and why many guests return again and again. Maximum occupancy 2 Guests per room and minimum age of 17. Popular with all travelers, particularly Honeymoon Couples and Solo Travelers, this will be the highlight of your Bali Holiday. Our family of staff specialise in giving all guests personalised attention. Come as our guest at Villa Saraswati and leave as our new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Saraswati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saraswati Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing