We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa But Something Lacking”
Review of Villa Saraswati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Saraswati
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa But Something Lacking”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The villa is stunning - the rooms are beautiful, the pool is spacious, the entire common area is nicely decorated. It's about a 7 minute ride from central Ubud, but they offer free drop off and pick up several times a day. A normal taxi won't cost you more than 50,000 IDR.

There was just something lacking. The driver who picked us up from the airport (arranged by the villa) was unfriendly and a very aggressive driver. Komang, the manager, never smiled and wasn't very helpful. When we first arrived he asked if we had a program (assuming that he wanted to help us arrange something), but when I replied that we did it seemed that he lost interest in us. I told him that I would want a driver for two days later, but he didn't help us at all to arrange one. And then there were two occasions where we weren't given change. On check in, I paid the balance and was not given the 20,000 IDR due back to me. I had to ask for this to be deducted from our food bill later. The on check out, a similar situation occurred. I know that 20,000 IDR is not much money, but it's the principle that counts!

So with these mixed feelings, I'm not sure if I would recommend this place. I don't require a lot of attention from staff while I'm on holiday, but a simple smile from the manager would be nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn E, Owner at Villa Saraswati, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We loved your comments in our Guest Book – “Thank you so much for our wonderful stay! Sadly today we must say goodbye. We hope to one day visit again” – and were therefore surprised to read your review, but appreciate that you have taken the time to do so and all guest comments are important to us so we can continually strive to improve our performance. We hope also that you were happy with your free upgrade from the Swan room to Veena (one of our premier rooms).

We apologise for the driver from the airport – he is not employed by the Villa but we do give all transport to local drivers from our village. It would have been good to know as soon as you arrived of your dissatisfaction so that we could have addressed it with the driver concerned, but we have raised it with the local Banjar who organizes the transport to ensure that it does not happen again.

As for the Rp 20,000 our Manager remembers that he did not immediately have the Rp 20,000 change on him when you arrived, he also did not have it in Petty Cash so it was agreed it would be deducted from your bill on departure. He made a mistake by not writing the deduction on your final account, even though he verbally told you that you owed Rp 20,000 less than it showed when it came time to settle. He will now ensure that this will not happen again and will always write everything down, so please accept our apologies for this error but be assured that we did not overcharge you Rp 20,000.

As to your comments about Mr Komang, Manager, we have had nothing but wonderful comments about him in the past and so were surprised by your feelings towards him. He has been instructed by Management that he is to care for all guests and assist them with any tour arrangements, restaurant bookings, etc., but that it is not our place to “push” any of these things on our guests. He is a wonderfully quiet man with a generous heart and the most beautiful smile which is seen often during the day.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we have endeavoured to improve on the issues you raised and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Regards, Robyn E (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
233
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Truly beautiful Villa in a peaceful surrounding. 15mins away from Central Ubud, perfect location for total relaxation, but easy enough to get into town. We stayed for 3 nights in early December, occupying the Deluxe Lotus suite, definitely worth the little extra cost.
The entire vicinity was very clean and efficiently run. The staff were absolutely wonderful, full of knowledge of all surrounding areas and ever so eager to help.

This would be my first choice when i return to Ubud.

Thanks again Villa Saraswati! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLuu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stay for 3 Nights . It was amazing place when I arrived . Same as photo shown here. Swimming pool is clean. Staff are nice , polite , helpful.
Villa is not close to center. It need about 10 mins drive to center. But I love it.
Breakfast is excellent ,I love banana pancakes , banana smoothies, balinese breakfast.
thank you so much Komang and Ketut.
I will back again.

Room Tip: all the rooms have there own character. choose the one as your first impression and you won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enochhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Saraswati twice and will never need to look elsewhere for my yearly Bali retreat. The owners of the villa have put detailed thought into every aspect of the experience; from the gardens to the breakfast and light meal menus, the shuttle service and every effort the staff will put in to ensure your comfort. I have and will continue to recommend this welcoming experience to friends, family and business associates. Thanks again team Villa Saraswati!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing but Lotus and Veena are definitely worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this place for 4 nights over my birthday, and could have easily stayed here longer.
We stayed in the lovely Frangipani room - a 4 poster bed, crisp cotton sheets and sliding doors opening out to the pool. The rooms were cleaned daily and our bed turned down each evening, when a 'bedtime story' was left for us (a passage explaining local traditions).
The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was yummy - recommmend the indonesion breakfast and banana pancakes! They even gave me a cake an sang happy birthday.
This place is slightly out of Ubud, but it's no problem as they have a free shuttle service at 10am, 1pm and 4pm, and are also happy to take you into town for dinner at 6:30pm. If these times don't suit you can catch a cab for 50000.. Just take a map!
We will definitely stay again - thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucylou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a chance to stay in this lovely Villa at the end of our two week roundtrip in Bali and we only hope we could have stayed there longer. We arrived late in the afternoon but the driver took us anyway to Ubud centre after the last shuttle had already gone. The Lotus room vas spacious and well equipped with both indoor and outdoor showers. The pool was great with service. The feeling was quite intimate since there are only a few rooms in the entire hotel. The breakfast was perfect and we enjoyed it enjoying of company of other guests staying at the same time. The service was excellent and discreet. Ubud itself was very interesting but unfortunately our stay was so short that we didn't actually have a chance to see enough. If we ever shall return to Bali we would most certainly return also to Villa Saraswati.

Room Tip: The Lotus room is very spacious and have plenty of room for two. It has a with walk-in wardrobe - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just returned from Ubud and can't stop thinking about our next stay at Villa Saraswati!
This majestic villa feel like a home away from home. We really didn't want to leave. Dean and Robyn (and of course Komang and staff) made us feel welcomed and relaxed. The villa is spotless, the rooms amazing and service was above and beyond our expectations. I've never written a tripadvisor review but I felt compelled to recommend. Don't let the short distance from Ubud center deter you. If anything, it makes this stay even more magical.

Thanks You Robyn and Dean and staff for making our short stay so amazing. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. It really doesn't matter. You can't miss out. We stayed at the Lotus wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
712 reviews
2.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saraswati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saraswati

Property: Villa Saraswati
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya, Jl. Mpu Beradah, Banjar Payogan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saraswati 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Multi Award Winning ADULT ONLY Boutique Hotel only 4 km from central Ubud in what was once a private home named Villa Saraswati. The intimacy and serenity of this Boutique Hotel offering 5 beautifully decorated bedrooms is truly what makes it a special part of your Bali holiday and why many guests return again and again. Maximum occupancy 2 Guests per room and minimum age of 17. Popular with all travelers, particularly Honeymoon Couples and Solo Travelers, this will be the highlight of your Bali Holiday. Our family of staff specialise in giving all guests personalised attention. Come as our guest at Villa Saraswati and leave as our new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Saraswati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saraswati Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing