We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax”
Review of Sunset Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Hill
Ranked #88 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best place to relax”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Actually my stay was a bit too short, but anyway the best place to calm down.
Beautifull, clean bungalows in a quiet place. A bit far away from the center of Ubud, but I knew that before.
The breakfast was fantastic (especially the bread).Kevin (the Manager) is doing everything to fullfill your wishes.
Ok, the road is not the best, but on the other hand there is not so much traffic and you only hear the natural noise ;-)
A perfect place to relax and also doing yoga.
I would come back one day :-)

Room Tip: just try out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleintrixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floza, Gérant at Sunset Hill, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sunset Hill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    59
    13
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
135
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay! we're a couple and recently stayed 3 nights at bali bliss. we planned to only stay for two but ended up staying an extra night. Its a very quiet place to stay with beautiful views over jungle. We stayed at villa no1, it was very private, clean and nicely laid out. The resort also had a very nice infinity pool right at the edge of a little cliff and whilst swimming you can look over to the other side. the staff were very professional and helpful. The manager went out of his way and sat down with us to plan the next bit of our trip and even booked the ferry and transport for us. The resort is little way from town, we liked this as it means you get to stay in a nice quiet place and also the walk to town is a beautiful walk through rice fields and it takes you right to the middle of ubud. If you're looking for a quiet place thats still very near to the lovely town Ubud, then bali bliss is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floza, Gérant at Sunset Hill, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sunset Hill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the pool studio - it was damp, mouldy and musty, and we had several frogs somehow find their way into the room. I guess that is what we get for choosing the cheapest option.

The setting of the resort is amazing, the infinity pool looking out onto the jungle covered valley is serene. At night time all of the frogs, bats and lizards come out in force. Staying amongst the village is nice too, and it is only a short stroll down into Ubud.

They advertise yoga, and there is a "yoga studio", however I didn't see any sign of it actually happening.

One thing to be wary of is the price. They price the rooms in euro's which is a bit strange, and offer no credit card payment. This meant we had to change our New Zealand dollars into Rupiah, to pay for a room that was priced in Euro's. Upon checkout, our stay ended up costing an additional 400,000IDR than we had anticipated due to currency conversion rates changing and the amount of conversions being made.

Despite the mouldy, frog-filled, and overpriced room it really was quite enjoyable and positive experience, so I award this resort an "Average" rating.

Room Tip: The pool studio was musty, mouldy, and we frequently had to catch frogs and kick them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameronbourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

best of both worlds.....secluded, quiet, beautiful and relaxing
20 min walk into town great restaurants and shopping
luv the bridges restaurant
staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly
defintely going back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petenjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located far away from the city center of Ubud, (about 30 min by car including a portion on a bumpty dirt road, or about 30 minutes by walk on a nice path on the hill top ). Really not convenient if you have children.
Nice scenery if you walk for 1 hour or so in the direction opposite to town (rice fields, village).
The hotel only serves breakfast and snacks (or delivery food - 1 hour waiting) so you need to find food somewhere else. Breakfast is OK (toasts were good).
Service was just... nonexistent. Staff was smiling but not helpful and very difficult to find most of the time.
Rooms are OK but maintenance is not great. Large beds were OK.
Broken chairs by the pools, cushions are really dirty. You would not want to sit on them. No towel provided for the swimming pool.
The ponds close the restaurant are full of mud and disgusting.
There seems to be so many better accommodation options in Ubud. You can find a similar setting (in the rice fields) and still closer to the city center.
Given the price, the value for money was very bad. It's OK to offer basic accommodation in a remote location with no service but then your price need to reflect that. So avoid for sure if you are going for a honeymoon or any occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic location. You get the best of both worlds. The location is relaxing and tranquil set out of town however it's only a 20 min walk into town along a paved path through the grass fields. If you don't want to walk it's only IDR 60,000 by taxi. The rooms were great and the staff lovely. Their english is limited but they will do their best to help you. They now have a bistro (very limited menu though) so you can eat in, order take away or stroll down the road to Karsa Kafe where you can dine in huts over a fish pond.
We only spent 3 nights there however would love to spend longer next time. My kids (11, 8 and 3yrs) loved it too.

Tip print out a map of the the hotel location as drivers have a hard time finding it. Or arrange with Kevin (hotel manager)to pick you up (about 250,000 IDR from the airport).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylou030303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked this property on our honeymoon. We had to leave 2 days early as they misrepresented the property online by saying they take visa. Their visa machine 'stopped working a few days ago' only stay here if you are willing to pay for your stay in cash. Also they continously unplugged the WiFi router forcing us to find staff to take the router back out to plug it in! It is a fair distance away from ubud center with no shuttles provided. Had to go in to town most nights for dinner as they only serve breakfast,which I have no complaints about. Its a nice location if you want peace and quite but it is very removed from everything. We are not a picky couple and are extremely well traveled throughout the world, this property did not work for us and we were so much happier upon finding another place to stay in ubud.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#96 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
2.6 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
2.0 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#50 of 198 in Ubud
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill

Property: Sunset Hill
Address: Jalan Bangkiang Sidem 88 Keliki | Tegallalang 80561 Gianyar, Bali Indonesia, Ubud 80581, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on top of the Campuhan Hill in the northern part of Ubud, right on the end of the popular Campuhan Ridge Walk with splendid view of the west Woss river valley, Sunset Hill Boutique Bed & Breakfast was designed as a restful retreat for the senses. Our property offers five independent villas, one suite and a smaller room, set in a lush tropical garden. The rooms and suite are generously furnished in clean contemporary style complemented with Balinese accents. They also provide modern amenities such as air-conditioning, private veranda, personal safe and mini bar. The main complex features an open-air bistro and breakfast area that offers the breathtaking view of the west Woss River valley, framed by the sacred and majestic Mount Batukaru. A multi-level water feature leads down to our 20-meter infinity pool, perfect place to enjoy the cool air, warm sun and the view. To complete the experience, a beautiful spa villa set amidst flowers and water provides a serene backdrop for traditional Balinese massage treatments. We are facing the best view of Woss Kawan river valley on the west side of Bukit Campuhan. Our friendly team is happy to assist should you stay with us or drop by for refreshments, a quick bite or a massage, when entering our small village of Bangkiang Sidem at the end of your hill trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing