We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity amongst the chaos”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Villa Madu!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Madu!
upper wading pool cascades to the lower pool Swimming pool and frog fountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to Villa Madu!
upper wading pool cascades to the lower pool
Swimming pool and frog fountain
Pool with cascades
Dining room; seating for 12-14
Reclaimed wooden table seats 10-12
Dining room antique hutch
Dining room
Ganesh statue looks over the koi pond
Entryway and Kitchen
Looking at the Main Villa from the Gazebo
Downstairs master suite
Private sitting area off the Downstairs Master Suite
Downstairs master bath overlooking the jungle
Private seating outside the Downstairs Master
Upstairs Master Bath
Villa Upstairs Master Bath
Media room features 47' flat screen, DVD and book library
Antique Javanese teak wood bungalows
Have your coffee on the veranda while listening to the breeze blow through the bamboo
Bungalow Jahe
Bungalow Jahe
North teak wood antique bungalow with bed and mosquito netting
North Bungalow Bath
Joged dancer in the garden
Indonesian Nasi Tumpeng Banquet
decorated for the dance
Entrance to Bungalows
Breakfast or massage hut perched on edge of ravine
Carved stone Barong fountain over koi pond
Villa Upstairs Master Bath
Daybed on the veranda of Little Vanilla Cottage
Villa living room looks out at the garden and over the ravine.
Little Vanilla Cottage Bedroom with antique bed and mosquito netting
South Cabin ikat covered twin beds can be joined to form a queen.
Dining room
Little Vanilla Cottage kitchenette
Little Vanilla Cottage antique canopy bed
Dining table and living area; view of the pool
Garden in front of bungalows overlooks the ravine.
Little Vanilla Cottage
Villa Master Bath
Vanilla Cottage with hand made iron and bead chandelier
Villa upstairs veranda overlooking garden and pool
View from upstairs at the Villa
Baby chandelier in the cabin.
Wedding tent
Organic napkin rings
The bridge decorated for a wedding
floral wedding decorations on the wooden bridge
Decorations for the party
Wedding tent and tables
Banquet in the yoga pavilion
decorations for the gamelan dance performance
gamelan orchestra and dance troupe performing at Villa Madu
yoga pavilion and lawn area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
terri322
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serenity amongst the chaos”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed as a group of 3 ladies. The location was the best, being a 10 - 20 minute walk to everything Ubud has to offer. The decor and layout was great,, very Balinese, with running fountains in pools, even in the downstairs loo! The pool was the best place to cool down after walking around the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including the lovely family that runs a restaurant and live at the front of the villa. The only downside were no airconditioning in upstairs bedrooms, some nights were quite hot; the 3rd bed upstairs is a day bed with a hard mattress and also there were no reading lights near the beds which made it impossible to read in bed at night. But overall we had a great 4 nights and would consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and secluded location but close to town
Liked least: No airconditioning and hard 3rd bed
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwokmun
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Balinese Wedding, Gorgeous Villa and Down to Earth Staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I have always wanted a Balinese wedding and we stumbled upon Villa Madu during our research. From the pictures on the website, it looks like a beautiful spot but it's a bit hard to gauge the layout of the property and the rooms. I corresponded with Adrienne over the past year and she very patiently answered all my questions.

When our group of 9 people arrived at the villa, we were simply blown away at how gorgeous this property is. I barely took pictures because they won't do this place justice. It is literally 5 minutes walk to the main road, and yet the villa is surrounded by lush green trees and nature. The main villa has two bedrooms, a large alcove and lots of living space, furnished with teak furnitures. There's two bungalows adjacent to the villa and if needed, there are also optional cottages that you can enquire about for really large groups. Not to mention, there are also gazebos and and little spots where you can have massages or afternoon teas.

While the property is stunning, it's the staff who made our stay unforgettable. We looked forward to the scrumptious breakfast everyday and Ibu Nurdi's sambal. Oh how we missed her cooking! The staff was always there attending to our every needs, even during the evening. Deepak helped us to organise an amazing Indian dinner at the villa and we ate in for dinner ever since.

For our wedding, they decorated the villa with palm leaves and marigold and made the BEST banquet I've ever had, complete with a nasi tumpeng feast, rindik music to set the mood and a Balinese dance. The staff even dressed up in Balinese costume and we were so happy they get to be part of our big day. We wanted an absolutely basic wedding surrounded by some frangipanis in the lush Bali outdoors and the villa surprised us with lovely mini frangipani centrepieces and a stunning flower arrangement in a local vase. We wished we could have brought it home with us to California.

We could not have been happier to stay at Villa Madu because it was truly the best stay I've ever had. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. Thank you and suksuma for a memorable wedding and holiday! We will be back to Bali very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nurdi's cooking, waking up to the sounds of cicadas.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyKevi...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Madu was amazing I went with 6 friends - girls week away.
It was quite, serene and totally relaxing and private, all the staff are amazing and very accommodating!! They even organised massages in our villa each day for us. Breakfast each day was awesome and Nudi is the best cook :-)
There as lots of stairs to some rooms but these were easily manageable.
Only draw back is only 1 bedroom is air-conditioned :-( other rooms had fans, I imagine in summer this would not be very pleasant although the pool was great and partly shaded, with a spa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, peace and quiet
Liked least: air-conditioning
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine W
2 reviews
“Beautiful Accommodation, Beautiful Staff!”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the main house, it was open and airy and all rooms had a stunning outlook, even the downstairs bathrooms you were at one with nature. I bought along my 20yr old son and his 2 friends and they found a few good night spots in Ubud and it wasn't too far for a driver to take them into Kuta. The gym was a few metres down road and a great, cheap café at end of driveway. What was best was the staff, especially Nurdi the cook, also a Mum, she made sure the boys were well fed no matter what time they got out of bed. All of the staff were always friendly and available, they made our time there a really great experience. Adrienne the owner leading up to our stay was wonderful, I made many changes and she was very supportive and accommodating. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Surrondings
Liked least: Walk into town not great, takes 10 minutes to get into good part.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolute HEAVEN”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were a group of 9 girlfriends on a birthday getaway. Madu was fantastic in everyway - from transfers, food, staff and accommodation. Proximity to town was fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly, accomodating and flexible. They were able to organise drumming lessons, scooters and massages to come to the villa and even organised a personalised birthday cake. They treated us like family, yet didn't invade the space so we felt like it was our house.The balinese banquet was truly magical. Adrienne was brilliant in providing information pre visit.
A MUST if you are thinking of experiencing Ubud. The most disappointing thing was leaving such an incredible spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the location
Liked least: Leaving there
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth N
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Nicest Place I've Ever Stayed”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I spent a wonderful week at Villa Madu as part of a long-awaited reunion with a group of old friends. Bali was something of a last-minute choice as a location and our organizer located Villa Madu after an extensive online search. None of us had ever been there before and we were absolutely thrilled with every detail of our stay. The Villa and cabins are kept spotless, each room is beautifully decorated and unique, the staff could not be more personable and helpful, the food is delicious and the location was ideal ... an easy walk into the center of Ubud. We loved the pool and the common "hang-out" area, massages were available at the villa, a very reasonably-priced laundry service did pickup/delivery and it was easy to organize day trips to other parts of the island. By the end of our visit, owner Adrienne felt like a friend. I will absolutely return to Villa Madu. I can't wait to introduce other friends to this magical place!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful staff.
Liked least: I loved everything.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillip201...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Private paradise”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Villa Madu was the highlight of our stay in Ubud. From the moment we walked into the stunning grounds we knew we would enjoy our stay here. Adrianne and her amazing staff were so attentive and helpful they couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable.
A short walk into Ubud, a few minutes walk to excellent restaurants.
Transport available for all day hire at reasonable cost, staff booked tickets to dancing in palace.
We had some evening meals at the villa which were better than some restaurants we ate at, Nurdi's cooking is superb. Breakfasts were always something to look forward to, varied and super generous.
Adrianne provided us with tons of information, where to eat what to see and answered my numerous emails promptly. Would stay here again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds, attentive staff and amazing food
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing