We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the stop”

Tegenungan Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Bali Zoo Day Tour and Swim at Waterfall
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Private Tour: Best of Bali
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Ubud Art and Culture Tour
Ranked #18 of 131 things to do in Ubud
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth the stop”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The waterfall is far away from the viewing spot, and the entire thing was a terrible brown colour when we visited. Our tour guide said it was because they were cutting rock out to make houses, which makes it very dirty. Not nice to look at, and the children target you when you step out of the car, and will not stop harassing you until you are back in the car, even once you refuse. They will guilt trip you saying they need money for food to survive, which is hard to believe when the girl pulled out her mobile phone to answer it, and I saw the other boy texting someone on his own mobile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    765
    410
    83
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just exhale”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped to view this waterfall, after a long drive, and just exhaled. The view was to die for, so very much Bali.

The drive down to the viewing area was through Balinese homes, no tourist traps.

There were children trying to sell bits and pieces, and we bought some things to help[ them out.

The rest from noisy Bali was worth it, and this is where I would like to stay next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jogaryluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take your swimsuit and go for a bath”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I agree with other reviewers: the scenery from the top of the hill is not exactly overwhelming, so this is most likely not the perfect destination for a bus tour.

But for the more adventurous: you can get really close to the waterfall and take a "shower" or a swim, which is really great fun. The path that goes down requires you to take some big steps. On the foothill there is a nice bathing place, with separated male and female baths where the water comes down the hill. But you can get much closer than that: you can actually approach the waterfall itself by taking a narrow path on the left side of the river. If you go closer, you will see that there are some ropes attached to the rock. Leave your shoes at the big stones, hold on tight to the ropes and make sure that you don't slip on the wet stones. You can get as close to the waterfall as you wish since the water on the left-hand-side is pretty shallow. I stopped maybe five meters beforehand because the water came down with quite a force. Perfect for a "shower" even from this distance. Alternatively, you can also take a bath as the farther side of the river has some not-so-shallow parts. I went in August, I realise though that the depth of the river might vary depending on the rainy/non-rainy season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Only costs 5,000 Rupiah”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At least the ticket is cheap. Might be impressive in the Autumn after the rains. I was there in July and there wasn't a lot of water. Didn't bother climbing down the steps. Stayed about 10 minutes.

Basically a waste of time. Recommend you do something else instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Place”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a quiet place to just chill and enjoy the breeze. The steps down are steep so the elderly may wanna just sit at the warung nearby and have a drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank helloasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tegenungan Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing