We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bembengan Ubud Cottage
Ranked #223 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. I think it was a little bit too expensive compared to what was offered. I really liked the fact that you could choose from a breakfast menu and they brought it to your porch. The rooms were kind of worn down, I was afraid the fan would fall down and the sink was leaking. I enjoyed the surroundings, nice garden, pool and good location. The staff were friendly.

Stayed april 2014, traveled solo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
24
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our first stay in Ubud, and even in Bali in general. We are both used to stay in international hotel chains, and decided to stay in a more intimate hotel this time as we wanted to discover a more local/cultural side of Bali than what we see in Kuta.

What we loved : All staff members were incredibly nice to us, from our arrival to our departure. They helped us chose a cycling tour, or advise us with what we could visit in Ubud and all direction. I do believe we were one of the only (or only ones!) guest staying there at that moment, because every time we had a question or needed anything, there was always someone available which was really appreciated.

As we work in Australia, we didn't even really had a look at the prices as it was a package, but well it was more than affordable!

The bed was comfortable, it was quite hot, but they had a ceiling fan AND air conditioning so that was perfect.

The place is not brand new, but it was pretty clean.

The hotel itself is situated at the end of the small alley starting from the street. The alley was dark, narrow so we actually thought it wasn't the good location. To find any place to eat at night, you might have to walk a bit, and a bit more if you want to have any choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlina_Bricourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel worked for us - there were days where it felt like we were the only guests and got really personal attention. Towels and chairs setup for us when we went for a swim and rooms cleaned daily. The room was really comfortable and I slept really well. Excellent breakfast with fresh juice, coffee, fruit salad and eggs. The location is not bad but for my next stay, I may consider somewhere closer to the shops/restaurants that I went to everyday. However, I would've missed the local ceremonies that I walked past on the way to town which was nice to experience. The long alleyway to reach the hotel didn't bother me too much but could be an issue for others. The manager was accommodating to reduce our nights stay due to flight plans although a bit resistant - I'm glad it worked out in the end.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place has a lot of downsides and on the whole I think there are much better options in Ubud to be found just by wandering around. This place is also expensive compared to surrounding places. All in all, stay somewhere else. We stayed a comparable place afterwards for $20 a night. The professional pictures are very misleading.

We pre-booked here to stay, but when we got there are room was dirty, the sink didn't work, there was a musty smell to the room and there were tons of bugs. They dealt with almost all of these issues and things turned up the next few days, or I'd be giving this place no stars, but you want your first impression on a vacation to be a positive one, especially if you chose the hotel for you and your wife.

Positives:
-Filling and good breakfast, though it lacks variety.
-Neat furnishings.
-Pool is actually pretty nice and has a cool fountain(with the exception of a few dead gnats, which isn't uncommon in most places).
-recommended a good bike tour.

Negatives:
-rooms not cleaned or prepped for guests.
-Down a dark alleyway (200 meters?) that really ruins the first impression.
-some of the owners speak good english but are only around in the mornings.
-locks on the doors were a joke. A padlock through two brass rings, and the brass rings can come off by bending them in your hands. That said, none of our stuff got stolen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

You approach the hotel from a very dark, poorly maintained road, quite a way out of the city centre. If you have never been to Ubud, few hotels are on the road front, but sometimes a fairway down very narrow lanes, perhaps 3 feet wide, which open up along their length to houses and hotels. In this case, it is a barely lit, very rough lane. I could not find the hotel, so had to ask at a house. It was the very last property in the lane, down a steep gully at the end.
The hotel itself is built vertically down the side of a river gorge. The pool in the photos, is on the bottom level and about 60 or 70 feet vertically from the stream below. The sides are hugely overgrown with bamboo which towers over the hotel, and the only view is the rather tatty side of the gorge opposite. It feels very enclosed. There is not much space, so you have to negotiate a narrow ledge around the pool.
The rooms are fine, the bathrooms new, breakfast very nice - if you want to spend your holiday in the dark. In Ubud particularly, there are hotels with open views of the rice terraces - right in the town centre, or beautifully spacious gardens if you want them.

It depends upon what you want - Ubud has something for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose what view you want and make a hotel decision from that. If the hotel does not show the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks, and overall it was lovely. It's a small family-run place, located away from the main road. It was very quiet and peaceful. The only noise is really from the roosters, which is a nice sound to wake up to in the morning. The room was very clean when I checked in, and they cleaned it every day. Each room also has a balcony with a table and two chairs, and a beautiful view of what's left of the rainforest. They also provide a thermos of hot water and cups, so you can make your own tea any time you like, and there was a large refrigerator in the room. The staff were all very helpful, but communication can be challenging, as they don't speak much English.

I gave the owner some suggestions for improvement, and he told me he would make some changes:
The towels smell very bad, like mildew. Fortunately, I had brought one of my own that I could use.
The breakfast is not served until 8am, which is a bit late if you are going to an 8am yoga class, or out on a sightseeing tour.
The pool needs to be cleaned a little more regularly.

Overall, a nice place to stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoibheann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Set above a lovely river gorge and surrounded by rainforest this hotel is a peaceful haven close to the center of Ubud. The rooms are clean and ample with pleasant views. The TV only offers one channel. The breakfast is ok if you like eggs for breakfast but the coffee is excellent. The brothers that run the hotel are really nice guys. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud View Bungalows
Ubud View Bungalows
#187 of 592 in Ubud
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Batu Empug Cottages
Batu Empug Cottages
#87 of 572 in Ubud
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#28 of 592 in Ubud
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tungeh Inn
Tungeh Inn
#163 of 592 in Ubud
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rona Accommodation
Rona Accommodation
#464 of 592 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bembengan Ubud Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bembengan Ubud Cottage

Property: Bembengan Ubud Cottage
Address: Gg. 2 Tebasaya Jl. Sukma, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bembengan Ubud Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique hotel in center of Ubud, surrounded by lush bamboo forest, with the sound of river close by. Can negotiate price for longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bembengan Ubud Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bembengan Ubud Cottage Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing