We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bembengan Ubud Cottage
Ranked #213 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Broome, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 Star”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I guess this depends upon travellers expectations if you will enjoy the stay. We arrived and were not too happy with the basic Bali style room, website notes that Cable TV is available and that the rooms have a secure safe - neither was true there was 1 TV channel & no safe... both my partner and I decided to stay at another hotel in Monkey Forrest Road which was fine. ..there were also noisy building works behind us. If you are after cheap and cheerful fine but if you were expecting 3 star, really this place barely meets requirements of 1 star Cottages if you wish to spend more time at your hotel. If you are a backpacker just looking for a basic bed and amenities go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
24
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a few days here last month. I was looking for a nice, affordable place within walking distance of Radiantly Alive yoga studio and the downtown area. The staff were sincerely very nice and very helpful when I need information or a ride into town. Since the property is adjacent to the stream and the small sliver of jungle that runs through parts of town, I found it a peaceful place for breakfast and relaxing on my veranda. My room was very clean, had a/c, and although you don't get a traditional Balinese bathroom and the only toiletries they provide is soap, I found it a very good value. I stayed on the top floor and loved the view and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reisenfreudige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013



Bembengan Ubud Cottage is not a cottage. It is a 3 story stone building. It is in a decent location in Ubud, but if your taxi driver does not know where it is, it is very easy to miss. There is a sign at the head of the alley leading to the property but it is facing opposite from the airport direction, so you must turn around to see it. The sign says 10 m. from the road.  It is at least 100 m. down a narrow, walled alley to the end, where there is a steep narrow stone staircase with no sign for the hotel, but the manager was there to greet us.  Fortunately, our room was on the first level, as the stairs to the other areas look treacherous. We had booked and prepaid for a suite.  There is no suite. It is an okay sized a/c room with fan, with large en suite bathroom.  There are no toiletries, just 2 small cakes of soap. There were exactly 2 towels provided, more available on request.  There is no bath mat.  Shower in tub is hot with good water pressure, but it is handheld.  There is no desk. There is no safety deposit box. There were no English speaking or international channels on the TV, but the manager was able to reprogram it to at least get CNN.  There is no kitchenette. There is not a separate bedroom and sitting area. The only chairs are on the balcony outside.  There are no slippers, no "welcome amenities", no washer/dryer. The pool is clean but tiny and filled with insects in the morning before it is skimmed.  

On the plus side, rooms are clean, bed is comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful, the jungle setting where the only sounds you hear are birds chirping and roosters crowing, is pleasant.  Breakfast is served from 8 - 10 a.m., but it may be possible to get coffee at 7:30 when staff appears. Breakfast is the same every day; "choices" are eggs or eggs.  It's about 10 minutes to walk to the center of Ubud.

This is sometimes billed as a 3 star accommodation, but 1 or maybe 2  star is more appropriate.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and sitting near the pool watching the wildlife climbing the trees above me was gorgeous.
We stayed as a family, and the staff were happy to put a mattress down for the children. This made the room very full, as it was not a very big room, but we were happy.
Access to the hotel is by walking down a gang (lane way), including a very steep ramp or stairs, and the hotel itself involves lots of stairs, so I definitely do not recommend it for anyone mobility challenged.
We didn't try the breakfasts, as there are other food options within walking distance.
I would recommend this place to couples looking for some peace. Although the staff were super friendly to our young children, the hotel itself was not designed in a child friendly way. Lots of stairs (without railings) and doors to the room slightly hard to secure for inquisitive children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzylooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Those who need to get away from the busy world, this is the place. It's serene and seems remote from the real world, although it's just 500 metres from the city centre of Ubud. The room is clean, comfy and just right for relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. In the night, you just hear the sound of the wind and night insects. The gentle ray of the morning sun will wake you up from your quality sleep. It's recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is at the end of a 200m lane with a river behind, so there is very little vehicle noise. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The main tourist centre of Ubud is about 1km away, an easy walk. If you want to rest, relax and take it easy this is a great place to stay. If you want to be constantly in the thick of things, it perhaps is not ideal.
Everything is clean, the showers have hot water, there is wifi, the pool is big enough to get cool in, the rooms have a/c, ceiling fans and mosquito nets.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. The location is not the best, but is in a walking distance to most things.
The room is typical bali style. The room and bathroom were clean. The towels were bad, so bring your own. The mattresses were not good, - they need new ones.
The breakfast was included, but we did not have any, because the kitchen was very dirty and full of ants. There was a pool, but we did not use it because is was dirty.
We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud View Bungalows
Ubud View Bungalows
#181 of 592 in Ubud
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Batu Empug Cottages
Batu Empug Cottages
#84 of 571 in Ubud
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#24 of 592 in Ubud
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tungeh Inn
Tungeh Inn
#150 of 592 in Ubud
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rona Accommodation
Rona Accommodation
#461 of 592 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bembengan Ubud Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bembengan Ubud Cottage

Property: Bembengan Ubud Cottage
Address: Gg. 2 Tebasaya Jl. Sukma, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bembengan Ubud Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique hotel in center of Ubud, surrounded by lush bamboo forest, with the sound of river close by. Can negotiate price for longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bembengan Ubud Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bembengan Ubud Cottage Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing