We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Munari Resort & Spa
Ranked #202 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great room, good breakfast (excellent cofee), but in long distance from downtown Ubud. But taxies are cheap (70.000 rupiah) from the city.
The rooms are very spacious: Large bed, large balcony etc.
Try the Mozaic restaurant nearby. Expensive and excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glavind25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear “Glavind25”,

Thank you for sharing your great staying experience. We are happy to have you as our guest here at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud, and glad to hear that you love the room, breakfast and our excellent coffee. We always provide the best ingredients to serve great taste of food and drinks to our guests. Our resort itself is near with famous Ubud restaurants with a short drive time. Thank you so much and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Munari last month. It's a small resort, quiet and clean.
I like the unique style of the interior inside the room, traditional but still modern. The room even has a small kitchen at the back, with balcony and bench to have relax at the back. We received honeymoon surprise : a chocolate heart shape cake and a pair of swan towel decorations on our bed...it's very cute :) he he he...
All of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Especially the restaurant staff, she helped us book a motorbike for us to get around Ubud.
We're happy to stay at Munari, and would suggest couples to stay there too...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulla Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear “Ulla Q”,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience while staying at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud. We are glad to know that you loved our interior Balinese room design, the honeymoon surprises, and our staff services. It was a pleasure that we can make you an unforgettable happy honeymoon with your lovely husband. Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud on your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really enjoy to stay at Munari Resort & Spa -Ubud
It was great and amazing resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room is clean and cozy, the pool was clean and tidy.
Munari Restaurant was amazing, foods are delicious and not expensive. If you want the best rib in Ubud just go to Nurish Restaurant and not so far from the resort.
They have spa too and the treatment make me satisfy.
Will surely recommended this resort to all of you who wants to stay at Ubud

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear “hnzz”,

We are happy to know that you really enjoyed your recent stay at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud. With the clean rooms, tidy pool, delicious foods at Munari Restaurant, and spa treatments at Munari Spa, all are provided just to make our guests feel comfort and make Munari as your home away home. Munari Spa with our skilled therapists offers organic ingredients and manufactured beauty products for your skin healthy. The spa itself completed with spa and sauna room facilities. Thank you very much for sharing your review with us, and hope to see you again at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were quite disappointed with this hotel given the price we paid. We stayed in 4 different hotels in Ubud over 11 days and this was our least favourite and most expensive. Firstly, I wasn't very happy that when I booked and paid the total fee through Asiarooms, ticking the need for extra bed for our 4 year old, I was asked for an additional US$25 per night on arrival extra for our child. This was not made very clear when booking. I'd also say the hotel itself is a bit further out of Ubud, and you can feel quite isolated if you don't have a car or motorbike. It is tightly fitted into a block and we felt there wasn't a lot of privacy and it felt quite closed-in. Our room backed on to reception and was below the Spa and it was quite noisy with phones ringing and voices of staff. The pool was lovely and clean, the room was nice but nothing wonderful given the price. The breakfast was average, with the exception of the pancake which was Really good. We didn't eat at,the,restaurant. We then went on to stay on Jalan Bisma where there are many hotels within close walking distance of central Ubud, with awesome views of rice fields, plenty of space and privacy and literally half the cost. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Nanya2013,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Munari Resort Ubud.
We do apologize if you don’t get a clear explanation upon booking.
Actually a child under 12 years old is free to share beds with parents. But for our policy, there will be additional charge for extra bed request. Munari Resort Ubud is located around 5 mins drive to central town of Ubud, and 15 mins drive to Monkey Forest Temple. And if you don’t want to use a car for transportation, free bicycles facility is ready to use during your stay (based on availability). Our rooms are designed with traditional Balinese architecture, which the rooms are located near to each other, but still concerned about guest’s privacy and comfort.
Thank you for loving our pancake, our restaurant is also special with its Asian food, especially for the Tenderloin Sambel Embe. We highly value your feedback and will liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised and I am committed to ensuring we resolve each point you have made.
We very much look forward to welcoming you on your future Bali vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Located only 5 min taxi from Ubud centre (shops, restaurants etc.) Munari offers a relaxing and charming atmosphere. staff is very friendly and helpful, clean, silent and quiet. Small swimming pool perfect to relax after a long day around Bali. Nice small SPA. Nice and relaxing the Balinese massage. The restaurant offers good quality food.Bedrooms are big and well-furnished. The only negative point (personal point of view) is the semi-open shower (shower with a wooden window with nice inlayworks which, however, made me fear that some strange insects might enter into the rooms from the small holes.
Overall rating is very good.

Room Tip: they are all nice. better the 1st floor than the ground floor overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear “Jahel66”,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great experience about Munari Resort and Spa Ubud to other travelers at Tripadvisor.com. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the relaxing and charming atmosphere of Ubud, also satisfied with the facilities, food, spa and staff services offered here at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. With strategic location, just only 5 minutes to the Ubud center by car, we also provide free bicycles for guests to use by request.
Regarding to the wooden window at the semi-open shower bathroom, actually it was purposely designed for good air circulation and to add more Balinese touch. Mosquito coils are burned every night in each room by our staff upon the turn down service. Sprays are also provided in room just in case you are worried about the insects.
Thank you so much for your review, and we all looking forward to welcoming you again in the future at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

the location of hotel is very quite - room is very spacious and very clean - people are very friendly and helpful , and breakfast are very good .
swimming pool is also nice.
there are a lot of restaurant around.
walking distance from center is 20mn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GIUNTA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Giunta G,

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. We are glad that you are happy with your stay, room, breakfast, our staff, and services. Swimming pool is located in center of the Resort area and each room designed specifically, all just to make Munari Resort & Spa as your home away home. Another good point offered is the Munari Resort & Spa strategic position to Ubud shopping center and some famous restaurants with various cuisines located nearby.
Thank you very much for your review and look forward to see you again on your future Bali holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for six nights and we enjoyed the experience overall. We had a few difficulties though.
Firstly we had booked through Booking.com several months earlier and we were informed by email twelve hours before flying out that the Hotel had cancelled the booking. We forwarded the email to the hotel with a note stating that as far as we were concerned we still had a booking. We received no reply from them immediately, which is unusual in hospitality, so we waited until we were at Denpasar airport. We rang and were informed that the booking was still there for us.
When we arrived we received the keys to Room 8, which is the room with two loungers at pool level. This was pleasant; however, this room is also below the Spa and immediately behind reception so there is constant conversation from the Spa employees and phone calls to reception. It is not a quiet room. The bed is comfortable.
The pool was great and we swam often. It was sparkling clean. We enjoyed the outdoors shower. We expected there would be mosquitoes in a tropical environment when it rains and it is simple enough to pack some Rid. We burned the mosquito coils that were provided.
The restaurant deserves its own review, but I will just say that the value in comparison to Indus and Palau Kelapa which are a short distance away is less than average. (I mention the two other restaurants as the restaurant is as expensive as Indus and not as good quality as Palau Kelapa, which is less than half the price.) We left early on two mornings and, although we were promised a breakfast box, each time, we did not receive one either day. No-one knew anything about it and there was no interest shown in the non delivery of what had been organised. The breakfasts we did eat were fine- one of the waitresses was friendly and did her best to assist us. However there was no consistency to the meals. I think there are just too many options for the number of people that eat there.
We organised a tour through the front desk as we wanted to go to Kintamani. Our driver was great and we had a comfortable car to ourselves. We also visited a Lewak Coffee Plantation etc and we paid $65 for a full day trip. We thought it was reasonable and our driver was excellent, informative and helpful. We arranged a separate trip another day and were astounded when we were questioned in a truly aggressive manner by one of the Hotel employees as to where we had gone and whether we had used the same driver. Another day we were questioned again as to whether we had used the driver. I believe that the customer has every right to expect privacy and pleasantness rather than aggression from Hotel staff. It did not seem to be the case at this Hotel, however.
We had a foot massage as part of our package, which was pleasant.

Room Tip: No 8 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear “Gabriel11”,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your review while staying at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. First of all we would like to apologize for your trouble with Booking.com reservation, as there were a technical problem in refer to your credit card details that made the system cancelled your reservation. We already sent our messages to Booking.com Customer Service. We do apologize for the delay of replying your e-mail as we received it late night, and Munari Reservation Team is only in charge daily until 11.00 PM.

The spacious Room 8 is located just in front of the swimming pool. We are happy that you loved the bed, the clean pool and the sun loungers. We also would like to apologize if you are disturbed with the phone rings from the reception and spa. We will do our efforts to minimize the phone ring and any other noise in the future.
We are also glad to know that you enjoyed your tour around Ubud area, and Luwak Coffee Plantation is one of famous tourist place to visit, where you may see the coffee making directly and enjoyed great taste for one of the expensive coffee in the world. Once again we would like to apologize for the mistake of undelivered breakfast box promised before, and our staff matter which disturbs your privacy. The staffs are committed to guarantee your trip safety and comfort, so they have to be aware for any changes of the trip made.

Thank you for appreciating the foot massages service. Our welcoming foot massage is purposely made by our skilled therapists, to relieve the fatigue after your long flight journey to Ubud. We highly value your feedback and will liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised and we are committed to ensuring we resolve each point you have made.

Once again, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#98 of 200 in Ubud
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Labak River Hotel
Labak River Hotel
#122 of 200 in Ubud
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#19 of 666 in Ubud
643 reviews
2 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munari Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Desa Lungsiakan | Kedewatan, Ubud - Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $18 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Munari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munari means half moon; a time that can bring about about magical and romantic feelings. Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is conveniently located to the famous touristic center area of Ubud, but still away in a quiet spot surrounded by beautiful rice fields.Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is located within 60 minutes drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport, and 5 minutes drive to central town of Ubud. The concept of this resort’s construction is to use recycled wood as the main building material, positioned on 1,300 aquare meters. This adds not only more character and gives one of Bali’s atmosphere that you might expect during your visit, but makes us a more “green design”. Our beautiful guest rooms are furnished with a perfect blend of quality furnishings and imaginative Balinese art. Each room is designed with a private and relaxing shower bathroom where you can refresh yourself after a busy, or not so busy day seeing the sights.With total 5-guest Superior room type blended with international standard facilities; Free Wi-fi broadband internet access, IDD telephone, Cable TV, Complimentary Tea/Coffee making facility, personal safety box, private mini bar and the spacious 2 unit-Deluxe Rooms and 1 unit of 2-Bedroom Suite are equipped with kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Munari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing