We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Munari Resort & Spa
Ranked #113 of 536 Ubud B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Out of town and pleasant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for six nights and we enjoyed the experience overall. We had a few difficulties though.
Firstly we had booked through Booking.com several months earlier and we were informed by email twelve hours before flying out that the Hotel had cancelled the booking. We forwarded the email to the hotel with a note stating that as far as we were concerned we still had a booking. We received no reply from them immediately, which is unusual in hospitality, so we waited until we were at Denpasar airport. We rang and were informed that the booking was still there for us.
When we arrived we received the keys to Room 8, which is the room with two loungers at pool level. This was pleasant; however, this room is also below the Spa and immediately behind reception so there is constant conversation from the Spa employees and phone calls to reception. It is not a quiet room. The bed is comfortable.
The pool was great and we swam often. It was sparkling clean. We enjoyed the outdoors shower. We expected there would be mosquitoes in a tropical environment when it rains and it is simple enough to pack some Rid. We burned the mosquito coils that were provided.
The restaurant deserves its own review, but I will just say that the value in comparison to Indus and Palau Kelapa which are a short distance away is less than average. (I mention the two other restaurants as the restaurant is as expensive as Indus and not as good quality as Palau Kelapa, which is less than half the price.) We left early on two mornings and, although we were promised a breakfast box, each time, we did not receive one either day. No-one knew anything about it and there was no interest shown in the non delivery of what had been organised. The breakfasts we did eat were fine- one of the waitresses was friendly and did her best to assist us. However there was no consistency to the meals. I think there are just too many options for the number of people that eat there.
We organised a tour through the front desk as we wanted to go to Kintamani. Our driver was great and we had a comfortable car to ourselves. We also visited a Lewak Coffee Plantation etc and we paid $65 for a full day trip. We thought it was reasonable and our driver was excellent, informative and helpful. We arranged a separate trip another day and were astounded when we were questioned in a truly aggressive manner by one of the Hotel employees as to where we had gone and whether we had used the same driver. Another day we were questioned again as to whether we had used the driver. I believe that the customer has every right to expect privacy and pleasantness rather than aggression from Hotel staff. It did not seem to be the case at this Hotel, however.
We had a foot massage as part of our package, which was pleasant.

Room Tip: No 8 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear “Gabriel11”,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your review while staying at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. First of all we would like to apologize for your trouble with Booking.com reservation, as there were a technical problem in refer to your credit card details that made the system cancelled your reservation. We already sent our messages to Booking.com Customer Service. We do apologize for the delay of replying your e-mail as we received it late night, and Munari Reservation Team is only in charge daily until 11.00 PM.

The spacious Room 8 is located just in front of the swimming pool. We are happy that you loved the bed, the clean pool and the sun loungers. We also would like to apologize if you are disturbed with the phone rings from the reception and spa. We will do our efforts to minimize the phone ring and any other noise in the future.
We are also glad to know that you enjoyed your tour around Ubud area, and Luwak Coffee Plantation is one of famous tourist place to visit, where you may see the coffee making directly and enjoyed great taste for one of the expensive coffee in the world. Once again we would like to apologize for the mistake of undelivered breakfast box promised before, and our staff matter which disturbs your privacy. The staffs are committed to guarantee your trip safety and comfort, so they have to be aware for any changes of the trip made.

Thank you for appreciating the foot massages service. Our welcoming foot massage is purposely made by our skilled therapists, to relieve the fatigue after your long flight journey to Ubud. We highly value your feedback and will liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised and we are committed to ensuring we resolve each point you have made.

Once again, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and had the family room. This turned out to be almost a villa. The rooms were big and well furnished. Kids had a room upstairs with own on suite and TV etc and were in heaven. 2 porches - one with large Balinese style 'sofa' where we sat most evenings. Also had outside cooking area in the porch. Free wifi worked fine when we were there.

Pool was nice and literally 4 feet from our door - again kids loved this and we could watch them while relaxing on the porch. Bathrooms are open to the outside, so a few small insects around. But nothing to write home about.

The resort has very small grounds however, and they have managed to cram in as much as they could into the space - so no 'grounds' to speak of except at the front - which is mainly parking. For us the accommodation more than made up for that.

Staff were generally good and helpful, although the reception staff were a little clueless about local attractions, and after asking a few times for information we gave up with them. Prices for tours etc also very expensive when compared with outside (as expected).

Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked every morning. Set menu but nicely done and the restaurant is a nice setting. Seemed a little quiet in the evenings though.

It is a little way from Ubud town - about a 40 minute walk. Most maps I looked at before going showed the resort in the wrong place, so double check if location important. There are lots of restaurants nearby including the famous Naughty Nuri's - which was busy most evenings.

Room Tip: The family accommodation was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Voight-Kampf,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your review with us. It was a pleasure to read how much you loved your recent stay with us and named Munari as a Fantastic Accommodation. Our Two Bedroom Suite is a family suitable accommodation, a great way to travel in style and give your family more space, while keeping everyone together. Actually Munari itself already located at Ubud, but not exact in the city center. The front ground is our parking lot, but next beside the parking area you may find Munari “white lounge” with library and business centre facility, a perfect place to sit and relax.

Lately, Management gave several trainings to our staffs, especially for manners, and knowledge about local attractions nearby. Hopefully we could fulfill the guests’ information needs. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our tasty selections of breakfast menu. The Munari Resort and Spa map coordinate are also already updated on the Google Map so the guests will not get any wrong information in the future. You may also check our new website for further location details.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and family back to Munari Resort and Spa Ubud on your next Bali holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the price you have to pay, I do not recommend staying here in Ubud.
For Balinese standards, service is shameful. We stayed for three nights in June and it was not great. I wouldn't say the rooms were bad but not superb. The light bulbs in the room kept blowing, we had to ask maintenance to change ours twice! And the hot water didn't work one evening for some reason. The pool was murky and green and so we did not manage to swim at all. The receptionist was far from helpful, her level of service was very put on.
The second day of our stay, a friend I was travelling with got locked in the bathroom. The door knob/lock had somehow malfunctioned and could not open. He was stuck for more than an hour. The worst part of it all was that the receptionist (and a few other staff) did not see the urgency of the matter at all. We were wasting money and precious time in Bali! They took their time to get a locksmith. Several maintenance guys came to help but were not willing to do much because they didn't want to risk ruining the door. I mean, come on, seriously? Anyhow, my friend decided to break himself out of the door anyway because it was taking too long (God knows how long the locksmith would have taken). After all that, they were not even sure if they wanted to switch rooms for us. We insisted. Anyway, as an apology for the door incident, we got one fruit juice each. A sincere verbal apology would've better but oh well a fruit juice it is. The grounds manager (I think - I'm just assuming because she's the one who called the boss of the hotel) was snobby and took the whole incident very lightly saying things like "let's just call the locksmith and finish with it" (I understand Indonesian). She didn't even come over to say hello when it happened. And there were inconsistencies with what they offered. One morning we're allowed to have two types of eggs with our breakfast and another morning we're not allowed (although it says so on the menu)? Never mind, small matter. Food was lousy. Anyway, I must say there were a few staff who went out of their way for us, one girl at the restaurant and another young maintenance boy. They were very nice and accommodating. The location of the hotel was so-so, it's located on the main street in Ubud but even so it is a good 10-15 minute bike ride to the main town area. Overall, considering the price you have to pay and the number of other options available in Ubud, don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly-gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear “jilly-gator”,
Thank you for sharing your review. Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience which you had during your stay at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. Regret that we cannot change your room as the other room already booked for another guest. For your information, we have changed the whole set for broken key at your room and do a whole checkup for all the door keys. Regarding the various breakfast, all menus are explained well with inclusions detail inside the menu list. An additional charge will be added for any request more than mentioned on menu. We sincerely appreciate the feedback outlined on your review and we are committed to liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised with. Once again, thank you for sharing your review, and we hope to welcome you at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is outside Ubud town which is not bad as center is really busy and polluted. It takes roughly 20 mins to town, 30 mins back to hotel as this way is uphill. Do not pay more than 30k for taxi one way.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bed really comfortable. What we did not like is that bathroom is open, so that showering in the evenings after a long hiking day will attract mosquitos. Also the courtains are very bright, so that you wake up quite early. The pool outside is small but nice for a refreshment, unfortunately no place to lay down and relax.
Breakfast is excellent with big offering, but rest of personal we found quite incompetent, especially when asking for tours. We finally decided to book a rice terrace and coffee farm tour, absolute rip off. Go to town and find other alternatives.
In summary, overall the hotel is not bad, but because of these annoying small details we would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Stefdani,
Thank you for your review. Actually Munari is only 5 minutes drive to Ubud centre. But on high season or local holiday season, the main roads are crowded and jammed, so it will make you longer to reach the city center. We are pleased to offer our guests to use the free bicycle facility (based on availability) so you don’t have to worry about the traffic and saves more time. Glad to know that you loved your rooms. Our open air bathroom is purposely designed to add more Balinese character, and the curtains are complement part for a comfort and homey feeling. At moment we have two sun loungers in front of the pool which the guests can use. We do apologize for the incompetent information provided regarding the tours offered. Lately the Management has done some skill training for all staff, also for nearby activities details. Hopefully that Munari Resort & Spa Ubud could accommodate for your next holiday stay in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel was slightly below expectation for the price we paid. The hotel was a bit difficult to find especially at night as the sign was so small, and partly lighted.
The most disappointment was the wifi services, its not connectable in the rooms as advertised.

Nevertheless, the staff are friendly & helpful with things around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rolandcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Roland Cheng,
Thank you for your sharing your experience while staying with us. We are still on progress to make bigger Munari Resort & Spa Ubud front sign with better lighting so it will help guests easier to find us. The Wi-Fi services are available around Resort area, lobby, even inside the rooms. Please do contact our Front Office staff in charge and they will be pleased to help you setting your device. For your information, Munari Bali promotes special rates for upcoming periods. Please visit our official website and click on special offer page. Best regards from all the staff at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me and my husband loved this hotel. The location is perfect since is neither to close or to far from center Ubud.
The rooms are spacious and with great balcony with nice view to rice fields.
The staff is extremely friendly and will try to accommodate you at all cost.
The breakfast is good. You have plenty choices and the portions are enough. Wish more coffee were unlimited though.:)
They have small details with their guest that make you feel special, like welcome grape juice, wet cold towel and 15 min massage. At night they would come to your room and they will close the curtains, turn on the lights (so you don't have to look for the lights)and make your bed ready to sleep. A great touch!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “Melisa3”,

Thank you for your great review to Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. We are very pleased to know how much you and your husband loved our resort, the room, staff service, breakfast, and the welcoming experience. The nice overlooking pool and rice field view from 2nd floor rooms are specially made to allow our valued guests enjoy the Ubud atmosphere, feel relaxed and being pampered at our resort. Also glad to know that our welcome and turn down services makes you both feel special. Thank you very much for recommending other travelers to stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you back at our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. Nice and quiet and away from the down town area, which for us was a nice walk . The staff and management went out of their way to make stay a pleasant one. A special THANKS to Peter for being so helpful . We would recommend staying here when holidaying in Ubud

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “Lyle S”,

We thank you for your great review, and it was a pleasure to meet and had a nice conversation with you at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay, our staff service, and our good location with your lovely wife. It is our first aim to make our guests feel comfortable and having a memorable stay in our Resort. Please be assured that your most encouraging comments will be shared with our entire team. Once again, we thank you for your recommendation and look very much forward to welcoming you both back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#104 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#17 of 536 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Labak River Hotel
Labak River Hotel
#139 of 536 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beji Ubud Resort
Beji Ubud Resort
#34 of 536 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ani's Villas
Ani's Villas
#91 of 536 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munari Resort & Spa

Property: Munari Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Desa Lungsiakan | Kedewatan, Ubud - Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Munari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munari means half moon; a time that can bring about about magical and romantic feelings. Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is conveniently located to the famous touristic center area of Ubud, but still away in a quiet spot surrounded by beautiful rice fields.Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is located within 60 minutes drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport, and 5 minutes drive to central town of Ubud. The concept of this resort’s construction is to use recycled wood as the main building material, positioned on 1,300 aquare meters. This adds not only more character and gives one of Bali’s atmosphere that you might expect during your visit, but makes us a more “green design”. Our beautiful guest rooms are furnished with a perfect blend of quality furnishings and imaginative Balinese art. Each room is designed with a private and relaxing shower bathroom where you can refresh yourself after a busy, or not so busy day seeing the sights.With total 5-guest Superior room type blended with international standard facilities; Free Wi-fi broadband internet access, IDD telephone, Cable TV, Complimentary Tea/Coffee making facility, personal safety box, private mini bar and the spacious 2 unit-Deluxe Rooms and 1 unit of 2-Bedroom Suite are equipped with kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Munari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing