We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Munari Resort & Spa
Ranked #145 of 527 Ubud B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the price you have to pay, I do not recommend staying here in Ubud.
For Balinese standards, service is shameful. We stayed for three nights in June and it was not great. I wouldn't say the rooms were bad but not superb. The light bulbs in the room kept blowing, we had to ask maintenance to change ours twice! And the hot water didn't work one evening for some reason. The pool was murky and green and so we did not manage to swim at all. The receptionist was far from helpful, her level of service was very put on.
The second day of our stay, a friend I was travelling with got locked in the bathroom. The door knob/lock had somehow malfunctioned and could not open. He was stuck for more than an hour. The worst part of it all was that the receptionist (and a few other staff) did not see the urgency of the matter at all. We were wasting money and precious time in Bali! They took their time to get a locksmith. Several maintenance guys came to help but were not willing to do much because they didn't want to risk ruining the door. I mean, come on, seriously? Anyhow, my friend decided to break himself out of the door anyway because it was taking too long (God knows how long the locksmith would have taken). After all that, they were not even sure if they wanted to switch rooms for us. We insisted. Anyway, as an apology for the door incident, we got one fruit juice each. A sincere verbal apology would've better but oh well a fruit juice it is. The grounds manager (I think - I'm just assuming because she's the one who called the boss of the hotel) was snobby and took the whole incident very lightly saying things like "let's just call the locksmith and finish with it" (I understand Indonesian). She didn't even come over to say hello when it happened. And there were inconsistencies with what they offered. One morning we're allowed to have two types of eggs with our breakfast and another morning we're not allowed (although it says so on the menu)? Never mind, small matter. Food was lousy. Anyway, I must say there were a few staff who went out of their way for us, one girl at the restaurant and another young maintenance boy. They were very nice and accommodating. The location of the hotel was so-so, it's located on the main street in Ubud but even so it is a good 10-15 minute bike ride to the main town area. Overall, considering the price you have to pay and the number of other options available in Ubud, don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly-gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear “jilly-gator”,
Thank you for sharing your review. Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience which you had during your stay at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. Regret that we cannot change your room as the other room already booked for another guest. For your information, we have changed the whole set for broken key at your room and do a whole checkup for all the door keys. Regarding the various breakfast, all menus are explained well with inclusions detail inside the menu list. An additional charge will be added for any request more than mentioned on menu. We sincerely appreciate the feedback outlined on your review and we are committed to liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised with. Once again, thank you for sharing your review, and we hope to welcome you at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is outside Ubud town which is not bad as center is really busy and polluted. It takes roughly 20 mins to town, 30 mins back to hotel as this way is uphill. Do not pay more than 30k for taxi one way.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bed really comfortable. What we did not like is that bathroom is open, so that showering in the evenings after a long hiking day will attract mosquitos. Also the courtains are very bright, so that you wake up quite early. The pool outside is small but nice for a refreshment, unfortunately no place to lay down and relax.
Breakfast is excellent with big offering, but rest of personal we found quite incompetent, especially when asking for tours. We finally decided to book a rice terrace and coffee farm tour, absolute rip off. Go to town and find other alternatives.
In summary, overall the hotel is not bad, but because of these annoying small details we would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Stefdani,
Thank you for your review. Actually Munari is only 5 minutes drive to Ubud centre. But on high season or local holiday season, the main roads are crowded and jammed, so it will make you longer to reach the city center. We are pleased to offer our guests to use the free bicycle facility (based on availability) so you don’t have to worry about the traffic and saves more time. Glad to know that you loved your rooms. Our open air bathroom is purposely designed to add more Balinese character, and the curtains are complement part for a comfort and homey feeling. At moment we have two sun loungers in front of the pool which the guests can use. We do apologize for the incompetent information provided regarding the tours offered. Lately the Management has done some skill training for all staff, also for nearby activities details. Hopefully that Munari Resort & Spa Ubud could accommodate for your next holiday stay in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel was slightly below expectation for the price we paid. The hotel was a bit difficult to find especially at night as the sign was so small, and partly lighted.
The most disappointment was the wifi services, its not connectable in the rooms as advertised.

Nevertheless, the staff are friendly & helpful with things around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rolandcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Roland Cheng,
Thank you for your sharing your experience while staying with us. We are still on progress to make bigger Munari Resort & Spa Ubud front sign with better lighting so it will help guests easier to find us. The Wi-Fi services are available around Resort area, lobby, even inside the rooms. Please do contact our Front Office staff in charge and they will be pleased to help you setting your device. For your information, Munari Bali promotes special rates for upcoming periods. Please visit our official website and click on special offer page. Best regards from all the staff at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Munari Resort & Spa Ubud soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me and my husband loved this hotel. The location is perfect since is neither to close or to far from center Ubud.
The rooms are spacious and with great balcony with nice view to rice fields.
The staff is extremely friendly and will try to accommodate you at all cost.
The breakfast is good. You have plenty choices and the portions are enough. Wish more coffee were unlimited though.:)
They have small details with their guest that make you feel special, like welcome grape juice, wet cold towel and 15 min massage. At night they would come to your room and they will close the curtains, turn on the lights (so you don't have to look for the lights)and make your bed ready to sleep. A great touch!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “Melisa3”,

Thank you for your great review to Munari Resort & Spa Ubud. We are very pleased to know how much you and your husband loved our resort, the room, staff service, breakfast, and the welcoming experience. The nice overlooking pool and rice field view from 2nd floor rooms are specially made to allow our valued guests enjoy the Ubud atmosphere, feel relaxed and being pampered at our resort. Also glad to know that our welcome and turn down services makes you both feel special. Thank you very much for recommending other travelers to stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you back at our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. Nice and quiet and away from the down town area, which for us was a nice walk . The staff and management went out of their way to make stay a pleasant one. A special THANKS to Peter for being so helpful . We would recommend staying here when holidaying in Ubud

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “Lyle S”,

We thank you for your great review, and it was a pleasure to meet and had a nice conversation with you at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay, our staff service, and our good location with your lovely wife. It is our first aim to make our guests feel comfortable and having a memorable stay in our Resort. Please be assured that your most encouraging comments will be shared with our entire team. Once again, we thank you for your recommendation and look very much forward to welcoming you both back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I came back from Bali yesterday and one of the 3 hotels I stayed at was this one. A bit of a walk from Central Ubud, however, less noise/traffic because of it.

When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised by it. Very clean and each is like a little condo w/ its own patio. The service is very friendly and welcoming. But the safe didn't work. they got us a new one but it wasn't bolted down so there was no point in using it since it could just be taken away. However, though I do not advise this, this place (and Bali in general) is very safe. We didn't leave too much stuff in the room for fearing we would get our stuff stolen but nothing ever happened (here or at any of the other hotels).

Their restaurant is good but the menu (breakfast) is a little limited. It was okay for us since were only there a few days but I could imagine customers wanting variety if they stayed longer. But again, for us, it was fine. Their Balinese pancake is very good. I, also, liked the French breakfast. We had vouchers for each day we were there so breakfast was free ! My bf loved the chicken porridge and ordered that every day. Their dinner menu is a bit bigger and they have good vegetarian options. they also do room service in case you want to just eat on the porch instead. I didn't see a lot of people go into the restaurant to it---most ppl from what i saw ordered room service. this might be how Bali is in general since it seemed to be typical from the places we ate at but the restaurant takes a while getting food out as well as taking your order.

The hotel has a nice, clean pool. I swam in it almost every day.
Massages are cheap and if you are like me and dont like to expose yourself to ppl, they leave the room for you to get undressed and under the sheet (unlike the 2nd hotel i stayed at). I'm not sure if that's typical procedure when getting massages (here or in America) but I liked it.

They have bikes you can ride for free but they are not very good. they aren't falling apart but they made me a little nervous but still rideable. just old.


There are a few nearby restaurants that are good. The bbq place about a minute or so away was always busy. My bf is a big coffee drinker and for the time we were there, he enjoyed Kopi Kats down the street the best.

I would recommend this place. it's quieter compared to other parts of Ubud (you still hear motorbikes, frogs, and roosters but i dont think that can be avoided in Bali, just lessened) and safe with good service and clean rooms. A bit of a walk to central Ubud but I enjoyed the walk.

Room Tip: keep doors closed. lizards like to perch on the walls. esp at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mon_petitchou86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “alittlegnat”,

Thank you for choosing Munari Resort and Spa Ubud as your holiday accommodation at Ubud. On behalf of our entire team, we are glad to know that you do really like the clean room, friendly service, clean pool and massage services. Please don’t worry about the safety while staying on our Resort. We have 24/7 security guard and each staff are committed to take care for guests and their belongings. Thank you also for the comment about our breakfast. Lately we have improved the variety of breakfast menu: such as Healthy breakfast, some varieties of Omelet cooked. Our Chef Raka and team should be very happy to know that you loved their servings.

The bicycles are available on request, and our staff always take care of its maintenance, and it is still good enough to ride around Ubud. Thank you for recommending Munari, and it is one of our good point, that when guests stay here they can still feel the nature, hear frogs and rooster sound. Make you feel like home away home. We all at Munari Resort and Spa Ubud look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We had an upstairs room with a very nice and private balcony with pool view. The room was very good, as was the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. Wifi worked well and staff is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was tasteful, served outside the restaurant. We didn't have dinner in there so can't say anything about that. From the hotel it is a 20-25 minutes walk to the city center, but there a great restaurants and spas nearby if you do mind the distance. We didn't walk back to the hotel at night because the sidewalks are in bad condition. Walls are a bit thin, we could hear the neighbours tv. Pool towels are provided as well as umbrellas. This hotel is also a very good starting point if you want to walk the Campuan Ridge Trail in clockwise direction. We started at 5.30 am and were back in the hotel after a few hours and had our lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Director of PSB Hospitality at Munari Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear “Marleen1974”,

Thank you for taking your valued time to share this great review about Munari Resort and Spa Ubud. We are very delighted to know that you had a very pleasant stay at our Resort. Thank you for loving the clean room, nice view from 2nd floor room’s balcony, Wi-fi internet service, breakfast, and great location. The breakfast itself can be served inside the restaurant, or at the open part of Munari restaurant.

For your information, we are planning to do some room upgrading and renovating, to prevent the neighbor hear each other between walls. Happy to know you really enjoyed the stay and local attractions near our Resort. Campuhan Ridge Walk is one of the famous trekking trail at Ubud, and there are still many famous local attractions such as rafting, elephant riding, etc that should you try on your next Ubud visit. Once again, thank you for your high recommendation about Munari Resort and Spa Ubud, and we look forward to welcoming you back at our Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#110 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#16 of 527 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Labak River Hotel
Labak River Hotel
#149 of 527 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beji Ubud Resort
Beji Ubud Resort
#35 of 527 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ani's Villas
Ani's Villas
#79 of 527 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munari Resort & Spa

Property: Munari Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Desa Lungsiakan | Kedewatan, Ubud - Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 527 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Munari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munari means half moon; a time that can bring about about magical and romantic feelings. Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is conveniently located to the famous touristic center area of Ubud, but still away in a quiet spot surrounded by beautiful rice fields.Munari Resort & Spa Ubud is located within 60 minutes drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport, and 5 minutes drive to central town of Ubud. The concept of this resort’s construction is to use recycled wood as the main building material, positioned on 1,300 aquare meters. This adds not only more character and gives one of Bali’s atmosphere that you might expect during your visit, but makes us a more “green design”. Our beautiful guest rooms are furnished with a perfect blend of quality furnishings and imaginative Balinese art. Each room is designed with a private and relaxing shower bathroom where you can refresh yourself after a busy, or not so busy day seeing the sights.With total 5-guest Superior room type blended with international standard facilities; Free Wi-fi broadband internet access, IDD telephone, Cable TV, Complimentary Tea/Coffee making facility, personal safety box, private mini bar and the spacious 2 unit-Deluxe Rooms and 1 unit of 2-Bedroom Suite are equipped with kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing