We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homestay - great place to relax”
Review of Manuaba Inn

Manuaba Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manuaba Inn
Ranked #371 of 638 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a a few days here - perfect spot - quiet with delightful gardens, clean, good breakfast, comfy porch couch - and a charming lady who runs the place. The older cottages are inexpensive and perfactly comfortable.. and the newer bungalows up market and swish. No pool.. but hey.. the ambience is great and it is conveniently located while being off the main drag so very peaceful. If you want super hotel standard this is not it.. but as a good friendly and reasonably proced homestay you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage down the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazar_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I feel bad writing a negative review, but I owe it to other travellers. Forget this place, move on. Demand more the same $.

This place just plain fell short for me because the owners didn't care enough to prepare it properly. It wasn't clean at all.
I stayed here SOLELY because of one positive review given by another TripAdvisor reviewer, something about it being one of the last true homestay gems in Ubud. Right.
In the proprietors defense, I did arrive unannounced due to an extreme travel situation (broken ferry from lombok and a shuttle that also broke down) that prevented me from being able to reserve in advance, but it shouldn't matter, a vacant room is a vacant room, they were open for business.

The basic rule of accommodation, regardless of budget, is simple cleanliness – this place failed.

I arrived at about 9:45pm. I asked if they had a vacancy, they said yes. I was taken through the property to a large basic room. The room was opened up and the proprietor quickly rolled up the duvet/blanket on the bed to take it away but my eye caught large black specks all over the duvet. I asked what it was but the language barrier clouded the answer. She gestured to the thatched ceiling, something about something falling from the ceiling. I didn't know: was it dead cockroaches, rat 'debris' (edited because tripadvisor won't allow the proper word), I still don't know. Feeling uncomfortable, I inspected the newly exposed bed thoroughly but it seemed reasonably OK (looking for signs of bedbugs) and it was late. All I could think about was what would be falling on my in the middle of the night?

I reluctantly accepted because of the late hour and stayed, paying 200,000 rupiah ($20). After she left, I went to the bathroom and there were cobwebs everywhere, the sink/mirror was not clean, the toilet borderline (cleanish but not cleaned). No toilet paper and no soap. Honestly, it would have taken someone five minutes to prepare the room and it would have passed the test. It was like the room hadn't been touched in weeks. My impression was they just didn't care.

I just wanted a shower so I had to walk 10 minutes down a dark alley to a mini mart to buy toilet paper and soap, nice way to start.

I planned to be in Ubud for a week so I checked out in the morning and shopped around. I found all kinds of places that were much nicer for the same $, and many that were cheaper. Being low season, the options were endless, everyone had a room. After getting the lay of the land, the value was clearly below par.

The location isn't great, it's 15minutes walking to key locations.

All the reviews I had read said to get off Monkey Forest Road. I found some awesome places off the alleyways from Monkey Forest Road, dead quiet, convenient to anything/everything, great value.

In summary, the owners need to care enough to just CLEAN the place to make it suitable. Spend the 30 cents on a roll of toilet paper and and dime for a puck of soap. I can't possibly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCoastOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Because Ubud has become such a popular destination in the last few years there are lots of hotels making false claims about their distance from central Ubud or claiming they are "in Ubud" when they are only "near" Ubud. (a major hike or a car & driver ride every time you want to go somewhere). The good hotels in central Ubud are so busy that their prices just keep going up up & up.

This little hotel is REALLY in central Ubud and it's a serious bargain like we used to see years ago. I have rated it 5 stars because of its incredible value for the money, its ideal location and its elements of real charm. But it's a bit hidden and they apparently know nothing about promotion. I suggest walking in because you are able to bargain. You'll be able to find it if you know the name and get yourself to Jl Sukma.

If you want fancy or "Western Standard" this place is not for you. If you want a taste of the "real Bali"- meaning the real Balinese who are not part of the slick tourism industry, and you want QUIET- that's VERY hard to find in deafening Ubud these days- this is your place!

This is a type of home-stay, but many of those are just too funky to endure. Still, it's on the property where a family lives, and you will see their beautiful family temple, their daily life and still have your privacy.

Each bungalow of the few they have is different. Some have a jungle gorge view. (About 3 gorges run right through Ubud.) Its literally a ten minute walk from the very busiest corner in central Ubud, but its part of central Ubud- Jalan Sukma has many restaurants and 2 spots with live music.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the jungle gorge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ontheroadJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey_Glazunov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.1 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
1 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuaba Inn

Address: Jalan Sukma Tebasaya, Ubud 80365, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $16 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manuaba Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Manuaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuaba Inn Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing