We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #79 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic bliss”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Amazing hotel , amazing staff great pool, good value for money . Been to many hotels and this is one of the best . Breakfast good . Massage and spa nice and rooms very clean . The beds are great . Only downside is the strength of the Internet by the pool otherwise heaven on earth

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willpbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
78
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for four nights in December 2012 at the recommendation of a friend. I need to buy her a big drink to say 'thank you' as this place is heavenly. There IS a reception desk and staff were waiting to welcome me when I arrived. Nothing has been too much trouble: easy, gentle service delivered with a smile. Perfect. I made two separate bookings to extend my stay which resulted in two different style rooms; both were immaculately clean, tastefully furnished and with very comfortable beds. The second one was next to the pool with a verandah, perfect for an early morning swim or a nap in the afternoon. Breakfast is included and had been delicious every day. The staff are fantastic; I hurt my ankle trekking Mount Batur and they have really looked after me.
This has proved the perfect spot from which to explore Ubud and the surrounding area. I am reluctant to leave, it's been bliss!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone...ten minutes walk to Monkey Forest down the hill, about the same to the market and Water Temple on the other side.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The pictures for this place do not do it justice...it is beautiful!! Beyond that the staff is super courteous and very helpful. Breakfast and a massage were included in our stay! Markets and so much are just walking distance, could not have picked a better place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pl2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great place close to many nice restaurants & walking distance to the monkey forest. The pool was absolutely beautiful & we spent a lot of time in there! The staff were helpful & friendly. We found it a little strange on our arrival to discover there's no reception!! We arrived & were seated at the restaurant at the front & given a welcome drink & told that they would call somebody to take us to our room. These "room boys" sleep in various places on the grounds of the hotel & are always there if you need anything. We thought this was strange (when you compare to what you're use to ie. to a normal hotel) but didn't pose any problem for us!!

The hotel is only fairly new & from my understanding it is run by the family who live there too. They are still building more rooms to the front of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again! It is very quiet, friendly & we had a relaxing time there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillabet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After abandoning the next door Ubud Terrace, we stumbled onto this jewel. Its like staying in a hindu temple. Staff and office appear disorganized, but it all works seamlessly. The rooms are spacious and uber clean and the swimming pool is to die for. Nice views, very quiet, and in a great location. Breakfast in the morning is ample. Well worth the extra dollars, Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 3 days in pondok Pundi! A wonderful place, quiet, although on the busy Monkey forest street. Wonderful new,room and the pool in front of the room. The best pool we had during our holiday in Indonesia. But a few things were strange. As we arrived we dind,t see a reception, no person who is responsible. Only, young girls with baby on there Brest looking at us, where they guests? We still don,t think so, perhaps family, so we had to search for someone, or scream! Couldn't,t find anyone. Later we noticed there were 3 very nice, polite and helpful boys.although only 7 rooms we didn,t see the owner! Then the breakfast was little bit strange on the first day there were only 2 little pieces baguette the next day there was normal toast bred. But no ham and cheese. so on 2 little pieces baguette you have to eat scrambled eggs and ham and cheese. Then a horrible coffee toebroek! Other coffee like cappuccino you had to pay extra.
It's better they would make. Little buffet, it's. nice restaurant in which you get 15% discount as. Hotel guest. They told us at our last morning. It's better to tell this at the day of arrival. You don,t now who you have to reach in case of emergency during the evening or night. If this normal things would be better the quest would have a better feeling!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Pondok Pundi for a total of 5 nights and overall, we had a wonderful experience.
It is centrally located, and while it is on the busy Monkey Forest road, the rooms are set far back so the road noise was never an issue. The setting is magical; we were in room 301, a corner room with it's own balcony with an amazing view of the pool down below, and a glimpse of the rice fields. The intricate wood work framing the windows and the door was quite impressive. The queen bed was comfortable. It has a flat screen TV (oddly mounted above the doorway), A/C, small refrigerator, electric kettle for complimentary coffee and tea, free WiFi with a strong signal in the room.
A few minor quirks:
1. every night, a member of the staff would knock at our door to ask us to complete a breakfast selection form. The hotel's full service restaurant (called Icip Icip) where breakfast is served just opened a few weeks ago. It was really unclear why we needed to complete the breakfast form every night when could have easily placed our order when we show up at the restaurant.

2. While everyone in the staff was quite friendly, most speak very little English and communication was sometimes a challenge. There was no "reception desk" per se. The only person who had good command of English was Wayan, who really tried hard to be helpful. One time we tried to make an outside call from the telephone in our room. We could not figure out the correct prefix number to dial in order to make the call. We dialed zero for assistance. The person who answered clearly could not understand what we were asking so he simply hung up. The hotel is in the midst of expansion, adding 4 more rooms plus a spa. I just hope they devote more attention to the customer service side of the business.

Despite the (minor) quirks, I would still highly recommend Pondok Pundi as a place to stay in Ubud. It has a great deal of charm, excellent location and overall great value for the price.

Room Tip: While we enjoyed staying at room 301, I think room 201, also with its own private balcony , provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#104 of 196 in Ubud
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#103 of 196 in Ubud
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#65 of 575 in Ubud
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#14 of 557 in Ubud
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#22 of 575 in Ubud
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#61 of 575 in Ubud
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Property: Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing