We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant stay in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #79 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Pleasant stay in Ubud”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Pondok Pundi for a total of 5 nights and overall, we had a wonderful experience.
It is centrally located, and while it is on the busy Monkey Forest road, the rooms are set far back so the road noise was never an issue. The setting is magical; we were in room 301, a corner room with it's own balcony with an amazing view of the pool down below, and a glimpse of the rice fields. The intricate wood work framing the windows and the door was quite impressive. The queen bed was comfortable. It has a flat screen TV (oddly mounted above the doorway), A/C, small refrigerator, electric kettle for complimentary coffee and tea, free WiFi with a strong signal in the room.
A few minor quirks:
1. every night, a member of the staff would knock at our door to ask us to complete a breakfast selection form. The hotel's full service restaurant (called Icip Icip) where breakfast is served just opened a few weeks ago. It was really unclear why we needed to complete the breakfast form every night when could have easily placed our order when we show up at the restaurant.

2. While everyone in the staff was quite friendly, most speak very little English and communication was sometimes a challenge. There was no "reception desk" per se. The only person who had good command of English was Wayan, who really tried hard to be helpful. One time we tried to make an outside call from the telephone in our room. We could not figure out the correct prefix number to dial in order to make the call. We dialed zero for assistance. The person who answered clearly could not understand what we were asking so he simply hung up. The hotel is in the midst of expansion, adding 4 more rooms plus a spa. I just hope they devote more attention to the customer service side of the business.

Despite the (minor) quirks, I would still highly recommend Pondok Pundi as a place to stay in Ubud. It has a great deal of charm, excellent location and overall great value for the price.

Room Tip: While we enjoyed staying at room 301, I think room 201, also with its own private balcony , provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
78
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is nice in a lovely setting, with a view and a pool overlooking the tropical forest. The room was nice and clean.
The hotel however is quite noisy, we were woken either by neighbours or by the staff cleaning rooms almost every day...
If you order breakfast to your room please note it will come at least 30 minutes after the time you actually asked for it to come the previous night which is annoying when you have activities planned during the day...
Good location on the main street!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've stayed in ubud two times now and this one was fantastic. You feel like you are staying in a balinese temple (the hotel is on a temple complex). Very serene setting with the back of the hotel up against a private hill. There is a little River that runs in the ravine just at the back right next to the beautiful swimming pool. The staff there are gracious and soo soo nice. The hotel is right next to monkey forest amidst a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel is brand new but feels historic and they were adding on more rooms and a restaurant as we were there. I will definitely check there first for availability when u go back to ubud.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pondok Pundi is absolutly beautiful, very balinese, decorations everywhere- in a fantastic blend with the sorrunding nature. Whenever you wake up in the morning you her All kind of birds, animals and palmtrees wispering at you. Your breakfeast is served at your Big balcony in front of your room. It is up to you what time it is has to be served. The pool is a bit cold, but yet refreshing. The resort is in the middel of everything in Ubud, but still very private setting behind the street (Monkey forrest Road). We stayed 2 adults and 2 children age 5 and 8 in a spacious room with wiew to the pool, great!!!! We had an ekstra bed in the room, but no problem as the room is . The bathroom is a bit dark, but no problem finding the toilet. There is a tub and that is the only showering in there, so you have to stand up in the tub for just a quick shower- but no problem. The kids love hot tubs! Very kind and great service. Overall notning to complain about. Very private feeling and i guess the prices are a bit high for rooms in the touristic areas in Bali.
We payed about 1000 Dkk.pr.Night incl. Breakfeast and ekstra bed for 4 people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201, the room with the biggest balcony in the intire resort, and also the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuglen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Because the hotel is under construction, entering the hotel (or rather, a Balinese home of sorts) is a bit of a strange experience -- a temple-like entrance; you can't easily tell who the staff members are; there is no front desk. The people who do serve you are exceptionally nice, however. The breakfast is served to your room, which may be a bit awkward depending on how many chairs and tables are nearby, or to an unfinished restaurant. Unfortunately, we found a screw (!) in our tomato one morning, which spoiled the otherwise decent quality of the food. The rooms are good and clean, but the bathroom poses a problem. There is no barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. There is also no vent. Ultimately, this bathroom is probably the wettest I've ever had the displeasure of using. Other than that, the bed is good, the mosquitoes restrained, the pool is rarely used, and the Wifi works well. The best feature by far is the location, right on Monkey Forest road in the heart of town. It's worth it for that alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this hotel according to the reviews on tripadvisor:) I had a great time there and I would love to be back there again once the construction of the restaurant and hotel lobby is fully finished. Eventhough there is no restaurant inside the hotel, but our breakfast were served on time every morning with super friendly staff, Ketut, who works 24/7 and took good care of us from collected our luggages, booked the excursions, served us food to cleaned our room.You don't have to worry at all about food coz the whole areas are full of great restaurants which you can try out new things every meal. I have to say that I'm very impressed with the architecture and the exterior of the hotel. It's very beautiful and well-functioned. We were staying in room 301 so we had the best view of Monkey forest and super fresh breeze along with our private balcony which noone would walk pass. If you happened to be in room 302 we were the one who kept walking pass and unintentionally disturbed you. The only thing which annoyed me a lot was the loud music all night long from Ubud street and the neighbours who were practicing local music from dawn to midnight. It's seriously too loud. The construction area is a little too messy.

Room Tip: We almost asked for room 101 since I read from trip advisor that it's a private pool. If you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubaiGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Let me begin this review by stating that the front of this hotel (and hence the actual reception area) is still being built, so don't judge this book by its cover.

This hotel was an excellent choice in the heart of Ubud. First, the staff are very friendly, and I mean that in a genuine fashion. They help with anything they can, and aren't trying to push tours etc on you. For example, we were advised to take a tour from somewhere across the street since it was cheaper than the rate the hotel was able to offer.

The breakfast each morning was fabulous (american or balinese). The rooms are very big, and actually consist of a bedroom and I guess something of a sunroom, which we mainly used for breakfast in the morning. The beds are comfy, everything is clean, modern, and well-cared for. The grounds feel like you're living in a beautiful temple, and the pool is gorgeous and fun to swim in.

Locationwise, you're right on Monkey forest road, which means the monkey forest is less than 5 mins walk down the hill (watch out, I almost got pee-ed on by a monkey on a branch above me! do take care not to get scratched or bitten, there's apparently a rabies problem going around with stray dogs in Bali, I don't know if it's affected the monkeys but I personally wouldn't allow the monkeys to climb all over me or my kids as many people were doing). And the Ubud Palace is about 15 mins walk up the hill, where you can catch some great dance performances at night. The Legong dance we saw there was nice, but after that the Barong seemed very similar. We heard the Kecak is good, but didn't manage to catch it.

All in all, we weren't disappointed in this hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AntigenBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#104 of 196 in Ubud
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#103 of 196 in Ubud
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#65 of 575 in Ubud
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#14 of 557 in Ubud
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#22 of 575 in Ubud
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#61 of 575 in Ubud
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Property: Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing