We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahyu Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wahyu Bungalow
Ranked #375 of 512 Ubud B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very bucolic little compound with just 5 rooms. We stayed in one of the little bungalows. Very nice jungle feel to the grounds. Pool is small, but great for a dip to cool off on a hot day.

Didn't ever see anyone eat in the restaurant, but that's OK because it is right in the middle of everything. You can eat anywhere. The room was spacious, had very hot water and plenty of water pressure. The AC worked fine. The room was very sparsely furnished and the lighting was very poor.

One of the best parts about it was the manager. He was extremely helpful in all regards and found a very good deal on the trip to Gili Trawangan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wahyu Bungalows are next to the football field in Ubud. You are well looked after by Wayan who cooks you a great breakfast. It is set in a family compound with a swimming pool and beautiful gardens next door to the library and learning centre, close to lots of restaurants and a 3 minute walk to Ubud market. You can hear the gamelan music from the performance centre as you sit on your verandah in the evening. Regular room was about US$25, the new honeymoon room was about US$35 a night including breakfast. Basic amenities (hot shower) but very spacious room, comfy bed and ceiling fan. There is also a restaurant in the compound with helpful staff, yummy reasonably priced food. We've been back three times. My impression is that Wayan has lots of repeat customers.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Wayan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed here twice and will return again next week...but everytime I tried to place a review it was rejected as it did not have a placement on Trip Advisor! How happy I am I can finally review my favourite place...though now risk too many people discovering this hidden gem, probably encouraging a price rise...oh well!!
Wayan the manager is friendly and genuine, the lovely girls in the restaurant are always smiling and helpful! The rooms are spacious...the pool quiet and clean...location is PERFECT!! Across the soccer field from Monkey Forest Road. A short stagger from Delicat, XL Bar...and MORE!
Now -- it won't be to everyone's taste! The rooms were not cleaned daily, and my towels were not changed unless I asked...but that was fine! No refrigerator in the room or air conditioning -- but a lovely ceiling fan (I just got a glass of ice from the restaurant for my wine). The plumbing was a bit leaky...like most budget places I've stayed in Bali. Breakfast was simple and usually delivered to your room. Many posh hotels have sumptuous buffet brekkies...you won't find that here! Toast or pancake & fruit with tea/coffee...absolutely adequate for me!
This is a budget establishment...no frills...simple Bali hospitality. I have stayed at Puri Sariswati and Champlung Sari in Ubud previously, and visited several other hotels that all had far superior facilities...yet I keep heading back to Wahyu!

Room Tip: I love a poolside room...but all rooms look pretty good to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieDenmarkWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

After arriving back in Ubud exhausted, I wanted somewhere central and cheap to be able to chill out and explore local area. I managed to get a double room here for 200,000 rupiah per night. The room was spacious and light with a balcony overlooking the pool. Staff were friendly, breakfast was great,(banana pancake/plate of fruit) and the pool was a welcome treat. Only downside was room was not particularly clean and bathroom looked dirty and dated, however I always travel with a cloth and spray and the handheld shower did the trick so wasn't really an issue. It's in a great location, nice to see the school kids playing on the football field which is right on monkey forest road, 5mins walk down road to monkey forest, close to market, evening entertainment, lots of nice shops on dewi sita street,found a great guide for trekking and visiting temples etc.called Ketut Sudiantara who also owns Klambi shop, check out his website for local contact details, really friendly, knowledgeable and cheaper than any other dodgy offers I got offered around there! I hope to return this year with the family, the pool and gardens make this a really safe place to stay with kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1zeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#168 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amoya Inn
Amoya Inn
#52 of 512 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warung Kacu Guest House
Warung Kacu Guest House
#282 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#110 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#29 of 512 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bembengan Ubud Cottage
Bembengan Ubud Cottage
#330 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wahyu Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wahyu Bungalow

Property: Wahyu Bungalow
Address: Jl. Dewi Sita | (East of Ubud Soccer Field), Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wahyu Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wahyu Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing