We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, Excellent food! Highly recommend!”
Review of The Chillout Lounge - CLOSED

The Chillout Lounge
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stopped in the Chillout for a bight to eat whilst exploring the gorgeous town of Ubud. I was magnetically drawn to the beautiful garden and friendly demeanour of the exterior and was pleasantly rewarded with an experience second to none. I started with one of the burgers, which after sampling elsewhere in Bali was relieved to discover was a proper burger. Generously portioned and delectable! The staff were very friendly and chatty and made me feel very comfortable. After I finished my meal I ordered another bintang from Lloyd the owner and he recommended his granny's pancakes, which although are not of the image or texture one would normally conjure when imagining were incredible! Lloyd assured me this is a tried and tested recipe passed down to him from his Scottish granny, and believe me they certainly pass the test! The relaxed atmosphere is enveloping, several bintangs and a few araks later I had realised I had been there all day, chatting away with Lloyd and the lovely staff, before I knew it there were guitars and eventually a jam session, wonderful people and an exciting yet soul soothing atmosphere. Made a great deal of new friends that day and I sincerely hope to return to this little slice of paradise on my next visit to Ubud! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sharkymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I fell in love with The Chillout Lounge when I came straight from the airport and fell asleep in their beautiful serine gardens which are a welcome break from the manic streets of Ubud! The 1st birthday party was such an epic night complete with live late night music jam sessions! The food is great too and a really nice mix of Veggie options :) you HAVE to try Grannies Pancakes - they are too good!! Chill out is definitely my favourite place in Ubud for chilled out drinks with friends, relaxing tunes and pancakes ;) xXx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We both went for the burger after reading rave reviews about it and it was a lovely burger. Great taste even though I had to eat it with a knife and fork due to its size and the consistency of the burger. We also had the pancakes which the restaurant claim are fast becoming somewhat famous in Ubud but they weren't that amazing - just ok really, not a flat pancake or crepe but more like a flat doughnut.

The staff were very laid back - to the point that they could be perceived by some as being a little rude but they weren't I'm sure; just a little different to the attentive service that is normal in Bali.

Overall we were satisfied as the burger was very good and it was reasonable value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd P, Owner at The Chillout Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize on behalf of my staff for the poor lack of service you experienced whilst here. I'm glad you enjoyed our burger, I created that myself after discovering that nowhere else does a good burger in town. Our pancakes are becoming famous for sure, perhaps they were not done correctly as we have a new cook at the moment who is still being trained. They are supposed to be crispy on the outside and gooey on the inside. These are from my Scottish Grandmother's recipe and are supposed to be quite different from regular pancakes.

We are currently undergoing a whole new training program to provide a better quality of service here and consistency in our foods. I hope your experience was still enjoyable and one day you can come back and see the difference.

Kind Regards,
Lloyd
The Chillout Lounge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Highly recommend The Chillout Lounge. Set with comfy couches, great atmosphere and delicious food. Live acoustic music with amazing Indonesian food. A beautiful place to be and eat.:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Katt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd P, Owner at The Chillout Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad you had such a great time here and we hope to see you again soon. =)

Kind Regards,
Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I love Chillout Lounge, I have a wonderful time everytime I go! Great live music, yummy food, and the ambiance reflects the name... VERY CHILL.

I absolutely recommend it to anyone that visits Ubud!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MillySherratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd P, Owner at The Chillout Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

"Best Restaurant Ever!"

Thank you so much, I may have to stick that quote on a sign out the front! Music every Saturday, more to come soon =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing