We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great value peaceful retreat”
Review of Ubud Dedari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ranked #38 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a great value peaceful retreat”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Friendly and efficient staff, convenient and reliable airport pickup and delivery, great breakfasts and generally good quality room service food. Rooms were a great size, with a huge super duper king size bed, good aircon and the usual other amenities such as TV, barfridge etc. Clean bottled water was provided daily at very low cost. We had absolutely no trouble with mosquitos even though we went during the wet season. Despite the rather rundown appearance of the villages on the approach journey, the hotel is a lovely contrast at the end of a quiet laneway. The location is beautiful and secluded, with lovely grounds and a view from the very pleasant plunge pool over jungle and a river canyon. Paradise! An important point is that the villas are located about 8kms outside the main Ubud centre, and there are no normal quality restaurants or bars nearby. A free daily shuttle to Ubud is available at 10am returning 2.30pm, but for all other times, taxis are the usual mode of transport unless you are fit and/or brave and hire a bike or motorbike. Cost of a taxi to Ubud is about AUD5 one way and this can be put on your room account if the villa staff do the driving. The villa will also arrange whole or part day car and driver for ranging further afield (about AUD60 for a full day) and any package tours that you choose. Thoroughly recommend full day trip to volcano, hot springs and paddy fields. There are a couple of small, very basic stores for some essentials in the village nearby and on one occasion, we plucked up the courage to have a meal at one of the very cheap roadside cafes (Warung) on the main road a shortish walk from the villas. One highlight was attending a procession (part of one of the many local religious festivals). It was great to see the crowds of locals all gathering to participate, with drums and gamelin and cymbals. If we came again, we would probably be more adventurous about exploring the local village and its people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    44
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
129
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As Ubud is becoming more and more commericalised daily traffic jams are the norm. Therefore this quaint little hotel is a bit like an oasis from the chaos and noise. The hotel only has 7 rooms and we stayed in room 1, which is the nearest to the reception. The staff in the hotel is friendly and always smiling. As the hotel is small there is never a crowd by the pool and sometimes I was the only one there. We ordered room service 3 times, although the food choices are limited the prices are reasonable with good portion size. They also helped us with booking tours and transport. If you want to be in the hustle and bustle of central Ubud then this is not the best choice due to its proximity to the centre. But if you are looking for some peace and quiet away from the crowd then you wouldn't be able to find better value.

Room Tip: Go for room 1 as the wifi connection is the strongest here and you are shielded from other patrons w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great place to stay. The location is not Ubud but Dedari so Ubud centre is not in a walking distance for everyone. On the other hand you have the sounds of nature including water falling over the edge of the pool around you once you are there. Elephant Cave is very close. You can walk a narrow path down to the river directly from your villa. On all three mornings our breakfast arrived 5 to 20 minutes late so you better bear this in mind if you are in a tight schedule.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RViidalepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The location is very good, about 10 minutes by car from Ubud center. They have a free shuttle that goes into town in the morning and brings you back in the afternoon. They will also take you in or back at any time for only 50,000 IDR, which was 5 USD at the time of our visit. The local restaurants will call them for you and they will come get you fairly quickly. Or hail a taxi from the street, but be prepared to bargain them down to 50,000 IDR.

The location is close to the ancient and beautiful Elephant Cave Temple, which is a short walk through the rain forest from the hotel grounds. The hotel is in the middle of a beautiful grove offering a peaceful and attractive view. The service is friendly and very attentive. The food is good. The banana pancakes are great and might be the best breakfast choice. The rooms are well maintained and clean. There is a room safe and a flat-screen TV. The bed is large and comfortable. The rooms are separate little bungalows and thus very private and quiet. The hotel is very well designed, very well run, and sure to please.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 645GeorgeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in Villa 7, which was very private and secluded.

The views and atmosphere were beautiful. The highlight was waking up and having breakfast on the balcony with nature completely surrounding you.

We really enjoyed the infinity pool that over looked the rainforest.

The staff was always helpful and friendly in particular Gustav, who always had a smile on his face. Nothing was too difficult and getting into the central part of Ubud was easy.

Dedari villas is the perfect place to chill out and unwind.

I recommend a visit to the Yoga Barn, which is about 10 minutes from Dedari.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthtraveller9_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After a 3 1/2 hr plane trip and a two hour taxi trip at night, we were welcomed by Poernomo with a drink and shown to our Villa by the pool. My wife said it was purely magical" We asked about dining and were shown the room service menu. A simple menu -prepared to perfection. Who needs a dining room when you can soak up the wonderful atmosphere from your balcony with a drink and great food. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff.
We can only echo the majority of positive comments made by other travellers. Dedari Villas would be a major reason to revisit Bali again. Like other reviewers, we would prefer to keep Dedari Villas to ourselves.

Room Tip: If you are not used to steep stairways, suggest you do not choose Villas 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westerner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights when we first got to Bali.

On arrival we were greeted by the Villas manager and given juice and a friendly smile. Cases taken to our villa. We had villa 3. It has a great view over the valley and to the pool from the terrace. Villa was clean and well presented. Great fox tel, English channels, National Geographic etc.

Outside shower and Toilet was something different but it was good.

Pool is awesome overlooking the sunset. As there is only 7 Villas the pool is always empty.

We ate at the villa every night and every morning. Great food and reasonably priced too for room service.

We also organized in room massage for 2 days through the reception. Massage was the best we had in Bali, although the pedicure and manicure was not as good as Spas elsewhere for cheaper.

As the Villas are in local villages it is 15 mins out of Ubud. Free shuttle van into the center of Ubud every morning and back at 2:30pm. We would just get a driver (about 50,000) to take us back in the late arvo.

We will be back!

Phil and Tara

Room Tip: Villas 2,3,4,5 have the best view of pool and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.5 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 542 in Ubud
148 reviews
4.0 mi away
Graha Moding Villas
Graha Moding Villas
#35 of 542 in Ubud
258 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beji Ubud Resort
Beji Ubud Resort
#37 of 542 in Ubud
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dedari Kriyamaha Villa Ubud
2.1 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#40 of 542 in Ubud
76 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Dedari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Dedari Villas

Property: Ubud Dedari Villas
Address: Banjar Lebah | Bedulu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ubud Dedari Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten minute ride from Ubud town centre, Ubud Dedari Villas is located on the edge of the jungled Petanu River valley in Banjar Lebah in the traditional village of Bedulu. Perfect for a relaxing stay in a rich natural environment, the villa surrounds offer a taste of authentic Balinese life and are within walking distance of the famous Elephant Cave and Yeh Puluh Reliefs. Ten villas with valley views clustered around a perimeter overflow swimming pool above the Petanu River, Ubud Dedari Villas are perfect for a rejuvenating break from busy city life. A haven for birdwatchers and nature lovers, forest life abounds at Ubud Dedari. From birdsong filled mornings to the evening insect symphony, you'll have the chance to interact with Bali's rich natural environment from the comfort of your villa's verandah. Friendly geckos may even occasionally be found in your room - a portent of good luck to come! If you're looking for a relaxing getaway far from the hustle and bustle of city life, but handy to the attractions of the cultural heart of Bali, Ubud Dedari Villas is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Dedari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Dedari Villas Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing