We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely family homestay.”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #101 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed here with my family last year for 5 days, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the included breakfast very nice.the family that run it are brilliant, arranging various tours, and very helpful.my two young children loved it here,will come here again if visiting ubud.

Room Tip: book in advance only have about 8 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Erindors,
Thank you for your clear and helpful review on our homestay.
Since you stayed with us (February 2012) we have grown from 4 rooms to 6 rooms (from March 2012). The end of 2012 we have also renovated the ceilings in the upstairs rooms for a better sound isolation, providing more privacy to our guests. We enjoyed your stay at Jangkrik very much and hope that you and your children will come again this year. My daughters are looking forward meeting your kids again.
Looking forward to meet you soon.

Made, Kadek, Nita, Komang and Wayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in three upstairs rooms. The rooms were fine with nice furniture, but my bathroom light never worked despite reporting it several times. The room above the family home was extremely hot during the day - choose one in the adjacent building. Lovely big balcony relieves the heat a little, with some overlooking a volcano.

Rooms weren't cleaned once during our stay which was a little odd.

Family was lovely and friendly and very helpful, and it was very interesting staying in a busy Balinese compound

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyenyedzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last month and we loved it. The room was beautiful and there was an awesome view from the balcony. The place is very conveniently placed to get around town, the Yoga Barn and Monkey Temple are both just a few minutes walk away. The family was extremely friendly and helpful in organizing tours and letting us know what to do around town. They also had the cutest puppy on the planet that we got to play with. Breakfast was over the top and delicious, it was so nice to be able to eat a really good meal right there on our balcony.

The place is definitely fairly simple with an Indonesian style bathroom and no extra amenities in the room but it's very affordable and the family vibe there just makes this place one of a kind.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms will have less noise, be warned that they are doing construction right now so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wendybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am happy that I stayed for 10 days at this homestay. I was able to save some money and take several arts and yoga classes while having a great place to base myself from. The owners and children are very friendly and helpful. I felt welcome the moment I arrived. My room was perfect! I had a large and comfortable bed, a private bathroom, and a balcony where my breakfast was served every morning. The owner helped to make sure that my stay was exactly what I wanted. She arranged my cycling, cooking, and batik courses for me, as well as my rides to and from the airport.This is a great location if you want to be within walking distance from the Yoga Barn as well as the great shopping district with the small and local shops.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Joanna,
Thank you for being our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Like you we have all through the year guests that stay for a longer period to follow Yoga classes at the very near and famous Yoga Barn. We think we have found a perfect mix between comfort, luxury and the Balinese family feeling and our guests really appreciate this.
Like you mentioned in your review we are in contact with all kinds of companies for cooking classes, bicycle and scooter rental, rafting on the river, bicycle tours from Kintamani downhill and even ferries to Gili Islands. We regard that as part of a complete service package we try to offer to our customers and here again we try to improve. So expect more in this area in the future.
We hope you will come back soon again.

Made, Kadek, Nita, Komang and Wayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This homestay is really lovely!
We had our own private room with a bathroom in Indonesian style.
Thron whole room was very clean and neatly made up. We had our own balcony on which the breakfast was served every morning. The food was yummy - it was banana toast or pancakes with fresh fruit and hot water for tea or coffee.

The WiFi connection in the room was great and the city center was only a short walk away.

We did not have any Problems with bugs at all, despite of the open window at night.

Additionaly the whole family was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The rooms were clean and pretty basic. It's situated in a family compound on one of the main roads, but the animal noises aren't too bad, and it's far enough back from the road that you don't get any noises from the street. It's within walking distance of the main centre, Monkey Forest and the supermarket. The owners are really friendly and very helpful. Might pay to book ahead as they don't have many rooms. It doesn't have a pool, but we found one nearby that we could use for 10.000 Rp a day. We booked a couple of tours through them and it seemed to be the same or cheaper than others who booked through a travel agent. Stayed in late Nov 2012 in a double room with a fan for 150.000 Rp per night for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lana315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Lets list up pros and cons:

Cons:
- its a 20 min walk (relaxed) to the palace/ main area of ubud
- somewhat pricey
- couldnt chose what for breakfast

Pros:
- even though it is a little walk outside the main area. It is quiter here and there are some lovely restaurants around
- clean (!)
- nice staff and owners

Overall a good stay to a somewhat reasonable price.
I'd go again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiinaJuliia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 640 in Ubud
277 reviews
1 mi away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#13 of 640 in Ubud
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duana's Homestay
Duana's Homestay
#110 of 640 in Ubud
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $12 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing