We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #83 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was in Jangkirik for 6 nights. I liked the atmosphere and the service was excellent for the price you pay. I agree with GulliverOrange on the sound issue as you could hear any movement of your neighbour. I hope the owners find a solution for it. Other than that it is a place to be with friendly people who treat you like a family. They are always there if you need anything and most helpful.
I got to say I will go there again as the advantages are great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Hamid,

We really appreciate your review and those of other customers. It helps us improve our service, even though in general most customers are very happy to stay with us. In general most of them appreciate being part of a family and not be an anonymous number in a big hotel. We do our best to give you that homely feeling and at the same time the maximum of luxury for the price we ask for our services. We think we offer great value for money and everybody who has been with us agrees to that.
But of course there is always a point that can be improved and one that we feel is very important is the issue of noise travelling from one room to the other. This is caused by the lack of isolation above the ceilings of the rooms, and this is only the case in the 4 upstairs rooms.
I am glad to announce that we are working on a solution for that and that we will apply the solution to this noise in November of this year. At this moment we are not able to do that because all rooms are occupied every day. In November it will be quieter and then we can work on 2 rooms at the time.
We will take out part of the ceiling and install noise cancelling material above the ceiling, thus stopping the noise from travelling from one room to the next. We expect this to take about 1 week per 2 rooms.
After completion you can be assured that you have all the privacy you want in each room.
We thank all our guests for booking with us this year and we hope you will come back again in an even better and improved Jangkrik Homestay in the near future.

Looking forward to meet you again,
Made Suarta and Kadek Rusni and children and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
60
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I have mixed opinions of this place after we stayed here two nights.  There is no doubt that the rooms are very clean and well maintained, and the family is very friendly. The room rate is good value too. However, it was the noise from the next door room which is what let this place down for me. The rooms are connected across the roof space and so there is absolutely no noise insulation - we could literally here every word and movement from the next door couple very clearly - it felt like being in a dorm with partitions. So if you have vocal neighbours (like we did) or have a low tolerance for noise, well, forget a peaceful night's sleep.
I hate to say this but if I was visiting Ubud again I wouldn't consider staying here purely due to the noise issue. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Gulliver,

We really appreciate your review and those of other customers. It helps us improve our service, even though in general most customers are very happy to stay with us and most of them appreciate being part of a family and not being an anonymous number in a big hotel. We do our best to give you that homely feeling and at the same time the maximum of luxury for the price we ask for our services. We think we offer great value for money and everybody who has been with us agrees to that.
But of course there is always a point that can be improved and one that we feel is very important is the issue of noise travelling from one room to the other. This is caused by the lack of isolation above the ceilings of the rooms, and this is only the case in the 4 upstairs rooms.
I am glad to announce that we are working on a solution for that and that we will apply the solution to this noise in November of this year. At this moment we are not able to do that because all rooms are occupied every day. In November it will be quieter and then we can work on 2 rooms at the time.
We will take out part of the ceiling and install noise cancelling material above the ceiling, thus stopping the noise from travelling from one room to the next. We expect this to take about 1 week per 2 rooms.
After completion you can be assured that you have all the privacy you want in each room.
We thank all our guests for booking with us this year and we hope you will come back again in an even better and improved Jangkrik Homestay in the near future. Of course we cannot stop the roosters of crowing in the morning, but then again this you will find all over Bali.

Looking forward to meet you again,
Made Suarta and Kadek Rusni and children and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place is great, not just for the room or the location (which are both good), but for the people who run it. They are truly a wonderful, friendly family who are so welcoming and helpful, and will go out of their way to help you or provide you with anything you need during your stay. It really is a pleasure to meet such genuinely nice people. They even have two playful cats who lap up any attention you want to give them!

The location is perfect. Very close to the monkey road and within walking distance to anything and everything you will need in Ubud.

The room itself was absolutely fine, if basic. There are no real ammenities here which is reflected in the very reasonable price, but it has everything you need including an en suite shower/toilet and is spotlessly clean. We loved the carved wooden doors too! We had an upstairs room with a good sized balcony overlooking the family compound and the city beyond, and it was nice to be able to sit out on the balcony on a balmy evening with a couple of drinks or eating your breakfast. The breakfasts too are AMAZING, especially given the price!!!! The banana pancakes are amongst the best I have tasted anywhere, and are freshly prepared for you and brought up to your balcony table at whatever time you decide to get up. I would add however as a piece of constructive criticism that it may be a good idea to cover up the exposed vents in the wall with an insect screen at the very least, or better yet seal it up completely with proper glass, as mosquitos are a problem here and they let in any and all noise on the balconies.

As other reviews have mentioned, light sleepers may have a problem. It CAN be quite noisy with the thin walls, but this is as much a problem made by inconsiderate guests as it is with the rooms themselves. We stayed there a week, and had one neighbour who was very quiet and considerate, but a few who were not. (and for reference to some people out there it is NOT acceptable to talk very loudly and drunkenly on SKYPE on your damnable I pads until midnight on the communal balcony!!)

Made can arrange tours for you at an extremely reasonable price too. He has a wealth of knowlege about the island and is fantastic for suggesting things to do/itineraries, but is also very adaptable if you want to tailor them to suit your own needs. He also isn't obtrusive, giving you as much information as you want on the places you visit, but allowing you to explore them yourself at your own leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelHuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff/family are so helpful and go out of their way to make your stay what you want it to be!
They also helped us with travel and trips during our stay in Ubud which was very useful!
I would definatly recommend staying there and if I went back to Ubud would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spent 3d/2n at the Jangkrik Homestay in Ubud middle of July. Made and Kadek made me feel right at home. They treat you as a member of their family. Since I was travelling solo, the feeling was very welcome. They go out of their way to provide what you need. The room is very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast too. Tea was provided but it would be good to have coffee too. Also, it would be good if we can buy bottled water from them too in case it's late and you can't buy outside. But these are quite minor things. But if you're a light sleeper and gets easily awakened by cocks crowing and dogs barking, you might need to reconsider finding a different place. Otherwise, it's the perfect homestay. Location is quite great too.

For the tours, I rented a car and got Dewa for my driver. I highly recommend him. Very nice and helpful! Definitely recommending Jangkrik and hope to be able to come back and stay longer in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anliz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely people - great location to the monkey temple and shops.
We also did a bike ride through all the rice paddy's, excellent for all ages!
The Home-stay owners were so friendly and helpful - we couldn't have asked for more!
Beautiful rooms with en-suite, one of my favourite places in Bali!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanWheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Jangkrik homestay in Ubud. The room was very clean and comfortable, and breakfast simple and a good size. Made and his wife were very welcoming and helped to suggest things we might like to do in and around Ubud during our stay.
The only negative with our stay which had quite a large impact on our time in Ubud was the length of booking not being recorded correctly which resulted in us having to move accommodation for our last night in Ubud. We originally booked for 3 nights then extended for another 2. We checked this twice with both Made and his wife telling them the day and date we would be checking out. It was only until 7pm on our second to last night when they asked where we were going the next day that we realised they hadn't booked us in and by that time they didn't have a room available. They were very apologetic, and there was nothing they could have done at that point. Just make sure you double and triple check your length of stay, other than that a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
#66 of 555 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duana's Homestay
Duana's Homestay
#79 of 555 in Ubud
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewi Antara Homestay
Dewi Antara Homestay
#80 of 555 in Ubud
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
#104 of 541 in Ubud
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#24 of 555 in Ubud
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#14 of 555 in Ubud
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Property: Jangkrik Homestay
Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing