We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homestay in Ubud”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #91 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great homestay in Ubud”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

An Excellent homestay at Ubud.

The owner and his family are wonderful, gentle and kind persons.
Service is excellent, rooms clean and silent.

I travelled in Bali for a month and it was the most fine and cool place that I visited.
The owner and his family are very friendly and are happy to give you all the tips to taste the real balinese life.

If you want balinese hospitality at its best and a relaxing comfortable stay, this is the place for you (I think we will go back to Bali just to return here!).

Gregorio

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregorio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
60
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was one of the first guests of Jangkrik Homestay in Ubud, shortly after they opened in June 2011. I can only say go there because you get so much value for money and the family of Kadek and Made make you feel like you are one of the family. They will do anything for you day and night and always friendly. Made and Kadek speak good English and their daughter Nita and Wayan also, little Komang gets better all the time. For me a good bed (mattress) and clean room and bathroom are very important and that is what you will get. This was my third year in Bali (Ubud) and I have stayed in many guesthouses, but this is my favorite for all times. Ubud is the place to be in Bali and then there can only be one choice to stay and that's Jangkrik Homestay. When I was there they had only 2 rooms, now they have 6 and they are all beautiful and clean. Be wise, book there, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: You must also try the warm meals that Kadek is offering on order. They are great value for money; ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnsHendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed for two weeks at Made and Karek's homestay. The room was spotless, the wifi was fast, and they made me feel completely at home. If I needed advice, or to borrow a sarong for visiting a temple, they always helped me. A very pleasant stay in a family compound that is centrally located right on Hanoman St. Only one note of caution: the walls between rooms conduct sound easily so you'll hear your neighbours if they are noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
David thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor, these reviews help us really to get new business. My family also appreciated your stay in our guesthouse and we consider you a friend and a good customer.
If you know any other people who have stayed in Jangkrik and did not write a review yet, would you please ask them to do so. Every review counts in our ranking and it helps other prospects to make a good decision for us.

See you soon, anyway the next time you go to Bali.

Made, Kadek, Nita, Wayan and Komang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at this lovely homestay for 4 days in December and had a great time. Clean rooms, very nice family, accomodating, good breakfast all at a very affordable price.
Wifi works great, all in all best budget accomodations i found in Ubud.

Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling on a budget.

thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank al w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Al,

Thank you for staying with us and recommending our homestay so well on Trip Advisor. The reviews that our customers post on this site are of great importance for our business. They help other prospects to make a good decision and your recommendation will certainly help them to choose for Jangkrik Homestay.

Thank you and hoop to see you soon again,

Made, Kadek, Wayan, Nita and Komang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

In a place like Ubud where there are hundreds of options for tourists, it can be hard to determine where to find the best facilities at the best rates. I'm a research student who was going to be living in Ubud for two months. I booked Jangkrik Homestay for a week and loved it so much, I stayed the whole time I was in Ubud! Made, Kadek and their three children became my family for that time, and I can't recommend staying here enough. Because I was going to be there so long, I got a wonderful discount (worked out to the equivalent of $11 US per night!) Most of all, the family goes above and beyond in making sure you're comfortable. In a place consumed by a booming tourist industry, sometimes it's hard to feel like you're not just a customer, but with Made and Kadek you feel like much more! They drove me to an international clinic when I was sick, took me to cultural performances and invited me to their neighborhood parties.

As for practical matters, the rooms are very comfortable and private, there is good wi fi, Kadek will bring you breakfast whenever you wake up in the morning, and it's a great central location for exploring Ubud. It's a pretty new facility (four new rooms were just added last October), so everything is very clean and in wonderful condition. (This is also why there aren't very many reviews of it yet!)

I would highly recommend staying at Jangkrik Homestay, I was entirely comfortable there and can't imagine anyone wouldn't be!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NellABJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Nell,

We certainly enjoyed your stay at Jangkrik just as much. You are a wonderful person and we got to know each other very well in the good times and the bad times. Now we have 6 rooms ready, 4 upstairs and 2 downstairs and all the noise that you had to endure sometimes, when they were building rooms 3 and 4, is now in the past.
We hope to enjoy your company again this year and I am sure that you will like what you see.

Thank you for your very positive review, this is really helping our business. If you know other people who have stayed with us and they did not post a review here yet, please ask them to do so. This is very important for us.

Thank you and see you soon again in Ubud.

Made, Kadek, Wayan, Nita and Komang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#22 of 592 in Ubud
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewi Antara Homestay
Dewi Antara Homestay
#87 of 592 in Ubud
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
#111 of 571 in Ubud
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#11 of 592 in Ubud
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Umah Anila
Umah Anila
#47 of 592 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sudiana House
Sudiana House
#15 of 592 in Ubud
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Property: Jangkrik Homestay
Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing