We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #12 of 656 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great little place. Staff are brilliant, from the local staff to the lovely French owner. We wanted fresh, tasty, local food and got all that and more. We're on Honeymoon so have been eating in nice and expensive (for Bali!) restaurants but a lot of these places are finicky and hyped. This meal was as good as any (better actually) and a fraction of the price. Menu is small but we knew we wanted something Asian and fresh. We got a rice and noodle version of a similar curry - both we're gorgeous. Creme caramel for dessert to top it off. With a glass of wine and a large beer it was in and around €14. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,186
    549
    143
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ubud meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Make sure you make reservations because this place is TINY and super booked all the time! If I recall correctly it was only about 8 tables or so for the whole restaurant. The menu was on a chalkboard which we LOVED because to us that meant they were only using fresh/ seasonal ingredients. The food was DELICIOUS and with a shared appetizer, 2 mains, dessert and drinks the bill was still close to 20-30 usd!!! Staff was very warm welcoming and helpful, really a must do if staying in Ubud and able to get a reservation! Once we ate here we considered eating here for all of our remaining nights but we were too late with booking! : ( Will definitely come back if we make our way over to Bali again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njlcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bah humbug”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After hearing enthusiastic talk about this restaurant my friend and I duly booked a table for last night. I am not sure what people's expectations are for this restaurant but we both thought that the chicken had been stewed rather than wokked leading to a very unsatisfactory texture in a just passable sauce which included beans. The accompanying eggplant was very unappetising
and the rice was just rice. Better meals are available in many warungs in Bali and this effort was certainly less than a suburban Chinese restaurant in Melbourne. It's amazing how people can be bedazzled by hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food with lovely flavours and a very warm and friendly welcome. would love to return! The food was very inexpensive but was really delicious. The French owner and her team made everyone of her guests feel special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I still think about the meals I had...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited twice during our week-long stay in Ubud and they were the best meals we had. I recommend making reservations because seating is limited and the secret is out that the food is delicious. The owners were such a lovely couple, very friendly to guests. Portions and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing