We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“MUST MAKE A BOOKING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #11 of 648 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MUST MAKE A BOOKING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very popular little place owned by a French lady. Food divine, very clean and very friendly. Would have like a bit more selection for main meals. So popular that people who didnt make a booking had to be turned away although they really make am effort to fit you in if they can. Prices are very reasonable. ENJOY

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beck720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,115
    532
    131
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best advice one can give, go for lunch. Dinner seems to be fully booked constantly, days in advance, and even lunch will be tough to get in on sundays or tuesdays(as they were closed on mondays, I guess). The menu is small, while I had a coconut fish curry from their fixed menu, which was good, my girlfriend's ginger chicken, from the daily specials, was the best food we had while in Indonesia. Their drinks were better than the normal Balinese standard, which is saying something, but to top it off, their deserts were also phenomenal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“UBUD MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Couldn't fault. Outstanding tasty food and service.
If you can appreciate good food you will love Melting wok.
Must book as this place is always full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“agree with the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I can't add much to the reviews already submitted for this little restaurant, except to stress that you will need a booking unless you are very lucky.
The night we ate there the very charming hostess/owner turned away so many people, and even the following night was booked out. We were initially surprised by the small menu, (which does make ordering easy I have to admit), but the food was great and the desserts - we tried four different ones and no one wanted to share - were wonderful.
Very friendly staff, just disappointed that we left it until our last night in Ubud to eat there or we would have gone back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked as we couldn't get in the night before. Greeted by Cindy who was a great host. Small menu but ordered from specials and were not disappointed. Food was wonderful and very inexpensive. Squeezed in dessert as we were told it was worth it and it was! Will definitely go and back and recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing