We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #15 of 713 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had the evenings special, shrimp curry. It was for sure not any shrimp curry. The flavours were excellently balanced and it was just delicious! For dessert I had the crème caramel with coconut milk and it was also amazing. I don't know if I've ever eaten so slow. Did not want it to end. Guess where I'm eating tonight... :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Naemi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,484
    636
    160
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Thanks to many TA contributors we truly enjoyed a lovely, inexpensive meal at this tiny French/Balinese warung. We were fortunate to get a reservation the same day that we arrived in Ubud & we were welcomed by owner Geraldine upon our arrival for dinner. The dinner specials are presented on a blackboard & you certainly can't go wrong with any of the entrées. Every table was occupied & many people were turned away without a prior reservation. Very casual atmosphere, but the deliciously prepared food speaks for itself. Definitely one of the best meals of our trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jogee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went on a Sunday afternoon, at about 3pm. So there was no need for a reservation for that timing, we got a table easily. Luckily we went on that day because the restaurant won't be opened for the next few days.

I like the decor of the restaurant, traditional Balinese decor.

The menu was written on a blackboard. Menu was very small but not unexpected as many has mentioned many times. My husband got the day's special which was chicken with basil, mushrooms and rice. I got the noodles in curry without milk. The noodles are actually more similar to kway teow (flat rice noodles). The curry was actually not curry, in my opinion, as it resembles more like chicken stock. Or if you are familiar with Malay food, its more like the soup for Mee Soto. So I wasn't very impressed with the noodles that I had. It was nice, but not impressive.

The rice with chicken basil and mushrooms, on the other hand, was very nice. It was similar to minced chicken with basil cooked the Thai way. It was very tasty.

I was really expecting more given that it was so high rated on Tripadvisor. I suppose for Caucasians, the food would be really good. But for Asians who have had tried the food in the region, it was not all that distinctive and impressive.

But I'll still recommend this place as the overall vibe is good. The owner and staff were very friendly and service was good. So its worth a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lovecartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place gets rave reviews but we were really disappointed!

My girlfriend and I are big time foodies and both felt the food was really bland. The scary part is that she ordered the signature dish (noodle curry) which is something they always have on their menu, actually it's pretty much the only thing they have on their menu as they offer various spins (rice, noodles, meat, tofu, etc). It was by far the blandest curry we've ever had! It couldn't have been a bad night as you can't miss something that you do day in day out for years. It was lacking salt, acid, sweetness and heat. It was also too greasy, and tasting more like a chicken soup with turmeric than a curry. We've had thousand of curries all over the world and we even make it at home, we had never had one that lacked taste like this one did.

My dish, chicken wrapped in banana leaves and fried, was good but nothing special, we had much better food in small authentic warungs throughout the country.

On the positive side the deserts were very good and looked even better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is great food!! I like the open layout. You get your food really fast and it is always good. The wine is good here too and not over priced:))))

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing