We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sanctuary in the heart of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Ranked #22 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A sanctuary in the heart of Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have consistently seen good review for the Komaneka chain of hotels and I thought that it would be nice to try out staying in the heart of Ubud for a change. The good news is that the Komaneka's reputation is well deserved, and the staff and truly warm and attentive. They really try to add the personal touch to your visit, and I felt they were genuine.

The rooms are spacious and have all the expected amenities. The have a library of videos and music which is served through Apple TV. There could be a wider selection but it was a pretty nice touch.

And it is central which is good and bad. The good is that it is easy to get the sights in Ubud, the bad is that you get approached by touts every time you walk out the door.

The spa is good and reasonably priced.

I really like Komaneka, but the next time, I would choose a branch that was a little bit more out of the centre.

Room Tip: They have tea in the afternoon with cakes for free. And to watch the free movies on Apple TV, choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngiap_Heng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    128
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
227
585
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet but central stay in Ubud with top quality service then Rasa Sayang ticks all the boxes. Tucked away on the main street close to many restaurants and variety of shops and entertainment Rasa Sayang was a wonderful stay for my wife and I. One of 4 Komaneka properties in Ubud we were able to visit and use all of the other venues with staff providing transport. Staff very obliging and helpful. Will be back as soon as we are able. Very clean, quite and spacious. Stayed in and around Ubud many times, can't believe it took so long to find this great spot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

A lovely hotel in a central location. The rooms are comfortable
and spacious with a pretty outdoor space. Lovely pool area
surrounded by swaying palms. Good breakfast and great staff.
We didn't try the restaurant there were so many restaurants
to choose from outside the hotel. My only criticism is slamming doors
that happened all day with Huge bangs.
The hotel was very quiet at night so that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quanti
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel does exceed expectations. Small stupid things like having umbrellas right outside the door just made it pleasant. I believe I had one of the basic rooms and it was still huge. The terrace did not have a view but it was gorgeous and relaxing in and of itself. The bathroom had a separate tub and rain shower. Turn-down service brought robes and slippers; my friend and I laughed and threw them on like little girls for no reason. The restaurant staff was absolutely amazing. Food is one of my favorite things so when you make it an overly pleasant experience, I may fall in love with you. I fell in love. Breakfast and high tea are included with the price of the hotel stay and were both consistently delicious. The servers would suggest thing we didn't even know about! We also ordered room service: again, effortlessly wonderful at a great price.

It is also located perfectly in Ubud. I was able to walk down the main street to shop, eat at restaurants, and get a great massage. Although centrally located, it is set back from the main road so it was very quiet. The on-site spa is a bit more expensive than anywhere else I saw in Bali; but make a trip up there anyway because I found the view to be breathtaking. The Daisy Spa across from Circle K was great. The 4-hand massage with 2 masseuses at once made my knees weak (all for around USD 15 for 90 minutes!!)

I just finished writing a review of a Sandals in Jamaica. The Komaneka should give lessons on being 100% better at a quarter of the price (even counting how cheap Bali is overall). I've never stayed at a Ritz but my friend was a manager and said Rasa Sayang could give them a run for their money! Not enough good ways to describe this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a basic room that was very large. I don't believe there's a bad room in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are staying in Ubud and want to be in a good location for where it's all happening on monkey forest road then you don't want to go past this place.

We stayed here as a family with our 3 kids and loved Komaneka. It's 5 star quality, rooms are really nice, the food was nice but what really made it was all of the staff continually go out of their way to have superior personable customer service compared to most other places in Bali. In recent times we've seen some of the Balinese go from having a lot of gratitude to now quite regularly seeming arrogant or disheartened by tourists but here it was like the Bali of 5-10 years ago where we genuinely felt appreciated as their customer. Agung was fantastic to deal with who helped us when we first were looking to stay there by showing us room options and giving us a great deal.

Other things worth mentioning are that there are other Komaneka's in Ubud which you can access at any time to use their pools, gyms, day spa's and even restaurants like if your breakfast is included so we went to Komaneka Bisma a few times and loved it too. Bisma has the best pool and is only 5-10 minutes away either walking or by car! (You can cut through another hotel to get there..) They also offer their staff to drop you off in their cars at no extra charge when you want to go anywhere local which is really handy.

Like most places in Bali we'd love to see Komaneka embrace transitioning from using plastic water bottles as an option in the rooms to only glass bottles to help decrease the big plastic waste issues in Bali.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend had the perfect stay. The hotel is beautiful situated in the jungle of Ubud. The hotel exists of multiple bunglows build between lushious green. Our bungalow was very, very big, with a big nice comfy bed. The bathroom was sunk into the floor, with an outdoor shower!

At arrival we got a nice cocktail and in the room there was fresh fruit.

There are two pools. A bigger one with a poolbar and enough sunbeds and a smaller infinitypool with a fantastic view from the jungle! In the evening there i a guy walking around the property to catch snakes!

Staff is very friendly and will do everything to make all your wishes come true! You can tell they take pride and pleasure in their work.

All in all a perfect stay! We only stayed for one night but could've stayed there a month!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rasa Sayang for 5 nights over New Year's Eve and loved it. Whilst this review concentrates on this property, it also mentions the two other Komanekas in Ubud.
4 things set the hotel apart
1. The staff are outstanding. They really enjoy their jobs, and go out of their way to make your stay totally satisfying
2. The great location. Whilst only 50 metres off Monkey Forest Road, you could be miles away- never heard a sound from the street
3. The rooms. We stayed in a roof top villa(one of two) which gave you an enormous living room, big bedroom with really comfortable bed, large e suite/dressing room, a large spa room with an enormous spa, inside & outside showers, and a private courtyard with sun lounges
4. The link with the other Komaneka properties. You have full reciprocal rights with two other fabulous and quite different properties -- you can have your free breakfasts there, spend the day in the pool there and so on, all with free transport to and fro. Means you get three properties for the price of one.

Comparing the sites, Rasa Sayang is best for the street life- in the middle of the shops, restaurants, markets and so on. Tanggayada is about 15 minutes out of town in a beautiful valley- it is the quietest property, and well suited to honeymooners or those after total relaxation. Bismarck is in between- the biggest and newest, it has a fabulous valley and rice paddy setting, and is about 5 minutes by town by hotel shuttle.
All are great- we'll be back, and probably do a few days at each

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#27 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Property: Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
#18 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang Another oasis in the heart of Ubud, located in major city, a simply chic resort offers the most contemporary stylish accommodation to help you enjoy your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing