We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Ranked #16 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I must say that when we first arrived in Ubud coming from Lovina we were disappointed by the crowds of tourists. After one night at the Komaneka, we totally changed our mind. The staff are nothing short of amazing. They cater to your every need and make sure that you are taken care of in every way. Some things not to miss at the Komaneka: definitely go to breakfast and eat Indonesian (the food is wonderful); it may seem odd, given the number of restaurants in the area, but eat dinner at the restaurant at least once and eat Indonesian (the food is great and the atmosphere is very relaxing); get a message (the staff are great and the massage experience is one of the best I've had); go to afternoon tea (the food is always interesting and you get another chance to have Kopi Bali); take the staff up on their offer to take you to one or more of the local performances.
We have continued our trip to destinations through Thailand and Vietnam and frankly we have lamented the whole way that none of the places we have stayed have even come close to measuring up to Komaneka in terms of the the rooms, the staff, the overall experience and the great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBonesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    115
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
208
541
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the greeting is the pleasant, authentic, warm and gentle full-service-with-a-smile perfection, as you are presented with clear instruction, a comfy open-air seat at reception and a welcome drink and cold towel. Because we arrived a little early we were happy to wait for our room so made our first venture to the open-air restaurant with a great breeze which overlooks the infinity pool (looks like a big lagoon!) overlooking the jungle below. Simply magic! The music playing was soft enough to be a beautiful local compliment to the scenery before us. When our room was ready, we were also pleased to find how spacious it was, with a balcony facing some greenery and in the bathroom, a large shower as well as bathtub and separate toilet area.

All of the staff was professional and super-helpful/friendly. We also enjoyed spa treatments at the Spa on the scenic upper floor, and found the prices reasonable and the spa staff/therapists seemed knowledgeable. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. From the moment I initiated contacted with the komaneka group, the service was fantastic. My husband and I stayed in a roof top villa, they were superb, excellent design, fit out and furnishings. We have stayed in several villas in Bali, and this has to be one of the best. Even though we were staying in a hotel, they were very private. The location is good despite being off a busy road, we didn't hear any traffic and the views make you feel as though you're in the countryside. We asked to see a standard room and these were large and again beautifully appointed. The staff were lovely without being intrusive, we think they all knew our names within thirty minutes after our arrival! We will stay here on our next trip. Not sure if I should share this review as I don't want it to get too popular and busy!

Room Tip: The roof top villas are very private. They consist of a private terrace with outdoor shower, lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candicelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The customer service is amazing. My friend was ill and the staff could not have been more caring, hospitable and helpful. They rang often (but not too often) to see how she was doing, drove me to the Pharmacy to pick up medications, offered to call in the Doctor, sent up cups of herbal tea and fruit platters - it was like the whole hotel knew she was ill and was genuinely concerned.

The hotel is beautiful, located perfectly in Ubud - you can get to everything easily by foot - anywhere that you can't get to the staff will offer to drive you for a small fee. The food is great, the turn down service is amazing (they give you pyjamas - awesome!), the whole establishment is cared for and so well maintained. SUPER CLEAN, which is fantastic - I am a little bit of a neat freak and seriously could not fault the hygiene standards of this place.

If you are looking for a romantic hotel this is also for you, with a few little surprises thrown in for couples. The rooms are superb and the bathrooms are fantastic.

Highly recommended - I'll be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmlbnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was great. The afternoon tea and breakfast was of a very good standard. The room was big and lovely. The location on Jl Monkey Forest was great. We really loved Ubud and would stay much longer next time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This wonderful gem is located right on Jl Monkey Forest, at the heart of Ubud. Lots of local places to eat and shop at, right at the end of its driveway or within walking distance (otherwise rent a bike to ride around Ubud or use the hotel shuttle car). And the nature reserve Monkey Forest is just down the road, so the area is luscious and green.

Yet, the design of the hotel is such that the rooms are built away from the bustle of the road, so you can still enjoy the serenity and beauty of Ubud. The rooms at Komaneka are spacious and luxurious and for the price we paid, I thought it was good value and worth it considering some of the über high-end resorts and villas around Ubud that cost an arm and a leg. It makes for a romantic getaway or if you're just looking for some calm.

But the best part of our stay was the staff. They remember your names. They helped us make local calls and other travel-related enquiries. They remember any requests that you made during your stay. And they are not just friendly, they are sincere, the epitome of Balinese hospitality and the reason why I love this place and return visit after visit.

Will definitely recommend this place to friends and can't wait to return myself.

Room Tip: The rooms stretch out in a row away from the reception area. I guess the further in your room is, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Komaneka at Rasa Sayang to the moment we left there, my husband and I had a very positive experience. We were fortunate to have stayed at the very private Rooftop Garden Villa. It was very spacious, clean, stylish and modern. There were fresh flowers in the room every day and on our arrival there were fresh rose petals and frangipani flowers on our bed in the shape of a heart. The room was serviced everyday to a standard of a first day arrival. I was pleasantly surprised one day at the poolside by being presented with a fresh and delicious birthday cake with my name on it!! We found all the staff to be very pleasant and obliging, we had initial problem with the Apple TV, but the problem was rectified in a timely manner. We have travelled extensively around the world and in particular in South East Asia, we always stay at top end hotels and I can honestly say that the level of service, attention to detail and genuine wish to please we received from the staff at The Komaneka at Rasa Sayang was second to none. The hotel is very well located on Monkey Forest Road, many quality shops and restaurants/cafes within easy walking distance. Reception staff arranged a reservation and a car (free of charge) to take us to and from The Bridges restaurant, which we can also recommend. We enjoyed a meal, and on several occasions drinks at Three Monkeys, almost opposite Komaneka. We would definitely return to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang without any hesitation and would certainly recommend staying at The Rooftop Garden Villa. Thank you to the management and wonderful staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The Rooftop Garden Villa is very private, spacious and stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sirpa491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
1.6 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Property: Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang Another oasis in the heart of Ubud, located in major city, a simply chic resort offers the most contemporary stylish accommodation to help you enjoy your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing