We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique Hotel with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Ranked #33 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

In the heart of Ubud commercial district, yet very quiet and tranquil. Spacious modern rooms. Very tastefully done with attention to the smallest details. A nice spa with a great surrounding. Small, but very open and clean restaurant. The one thing that separates this hotel is their outstanding service by ANY standards. The warmest and the most helpful staff- will bend backwards to make you feel at home (One can request breakfast in the room for no charge).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchnTkkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have stayed a few times in Bali when I have travelled by myself or with a friend to do yoga/spa retreats. This time however I brought my 3 teenage children so decided to stay somewhere different. The Komaneka Monkey Forest resort was recommended to me by a friend. On arrival at Monkey Forest, we were offered the opportunity to upgrade to the newer resort, the Komaneka Rasa Sayang. I preferred the Monkey Forest architecture and the view from the room on to the rice paddies, but as I was travelling with my teenage children the the larger rooms at the Rasa Sayang suited us better. So we happily moved.

The reception we received at the Rasa Sayang was fantastic, and we were made to feel very welcome.

Rooms - We were able to choose our rooms on either the first or second floor. We chose the lower floor. The rooms were just beautiful especially the big bathrooms. I loved everything about it - large bath, large shower, separate toilet, double basin and dressing area. The room also was lovely with modern decor including a gorgeous decorative bevelled mirror. The pool area was totally AMAZING. We went to the pool in the late afternoon after everyone had gone but the staff were very quick to prepare lounges and towels for us. Our rooms were adjoining and were connected by a door between our outdoor gardens.

Food - Breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed the freshness of breakfast and the fact that we did not have to serve ourselves food that may have been prepared hours earlier and had been sitting in the warmer. Our food was hot, fresh and very very tasty. The children really enjoyed all of the breakfast items. The staff who served us were lovely, especially Pradnyana who read our order back to us each time to make sure it was correct and he always served us with a smile. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the resort.

Spa - We were given a free Balinese massage as part of our package. It was lovely, the massage was very well done, my therapist was very good and asked if the pressure was good.

Staff - all the staff from the maintenance workers and guy polishing the floor in the breakfast area to the drivers and front desk staff, ALWAYS stopped what they were doing and said hello when we walked past. Every time we returned to the resort the front desk staff always said 'welcome home' which was just such a lovely way to be greeted. It did feel like home. The staff learned our names, always asked where we had been and did we enjoy it ? They appeared to be genuinely interested in what we had done. All the staff were lovely but 3 in particular had that little bit of extra personality which allowed us to immediately feel that they were our friends. These were Nity, Kadek and Beni. Just 10/10 ! Please tell them how special their kind service and friendliness meant to us.

Drivers - the drivers were always on time, cars were clean and smelled nice. They were great.

This Resort is not really suitable for small children and as such we loved being away from noisy young children. It's quiet, personal and classy. Next year I will come agin to Ubud (without my children) and might stay at the Bisma next time to do some yoga. In any event, I will only ever stay now at a Komaneka Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda44499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Although booked into 'Monkey Forest' we accidentally drove straight into their new resort 'Rasa Sayang' just a hop, skip and jump away. Once shown a room there was no turning back for 'hubby'. The pristine accommodation won me. Yes, 'Monkey Forest' may have been more 'Bali' but comfort ruled the week. 
Strength of this hotel is also its location. Restaurants, shops all just down the drive but once you're bored with that, return to sanctuary (no noise, and yes, you could be anywhere, even back in your home country). Our habit was to go straight to the pool to wash off 'the street'. 
We ventured out much of the day and eve and just returned to relax. Food in the hotel is high standard but with all to offer in Ubud you gotta get out and about.
Grande Finale - the staff. Started to feel like family after a week. Will be a sad farewell tomorrow :(. Minta Dori from "Mr Nigel"

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Location is amazing and the staff can't do enough for you. A friend and I stayed for two nights and I cannot say enough good things about it! The complimentary yoga class was awesome and the massage at the spa was blissful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

lovely hotel right in the heart of ubud - walking distance to markets and rests.
the staff at this hotel and all the komaneka hotels are very special balinese people, nothing is too much trouble and the attention to detail is superb. They seem to be very happy to belong to the komaneka team, and have wonderful energy. We spent a few days here and cant wait to return, the pool area is beautiful.

Room Tip: all rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 8 nights in mid November. This hotel ticks all the boxes. The location is excellent- close to the main street but far enough away to escape the traffic and noise. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent with plenty of breakfast choices .We also ate several lunches by the pool and again the food was tasty, well presented and reasonably priced.Whilst there we visited all the Komaneka hotels in order to plan our next stay.All are unique and beautiful and the standards across the group appear to be consistent.Perhaps the greatest assets of all the Komaneka resorts are the staff and the attention to detail. All staff were friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. The effort that is made to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible is exemplary.We also had the pleasure of using the spa facilities. The price was reasonable compared to prices in Australia.The difference is that a massage outside of the hotel is just a massage. The Komaneka provided an experience. It was worth every extra cent.Kudos to the management and staff for providing the perfect getaway experience for us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband picked Komeneka from trip advisor and I mut admit I was very skeptical. When we got to Komeneka Minkey Forest they were doing a lot of construction do they offered us to move to Rasa Sayang. Facility was completed in August and even though the compound is small the rooms are amazing and the facility amazing. We were upgraded to the Villa for a couple of nights which was a great treat as we stayed at the same resort for two weeks. It's in the heart of Ubud and which mean u can walk anywhere in the city, no need for cabs or moppeds.
The staff definitely makes Rasa Sayang what it is. Very professional, friendly and caring! Am a traveler and I have never encountered such great staff. Just unbelievable. Breakfast is served from 7-11am so sleepy heads like us always had more than enough time, and we enjoyed the afternoon tea. Beautiful pool although small.
It's a bit pricy but if u don't mind paying it is totally worth every penny to experience the place. There are 3 Komeneka's in Ubud and the staff is willing to drive u to the other ones to spend the day. The staff will also take u sightseeing anytime on private tours.
Only advice is if ur going trekking bring your own water and food and a jacket as it gets pretty cold and windy on the mountains, and wear
sneakers or hiking shoes. The hotel uses outside guides who don't bring food or water for the trip.
I have never posted any comments abouty travels but I know Komeneka Rasa Sayang is a place worth bragging about.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freepassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 199 in Ubud
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
812 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
786 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Rasa Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Rasa Sayang

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $120 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Rasa Sayang 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang Another oasis in the heart of Ubud, located in major city, a simply chic resort offers the most contemporary stylish accommodation to help you enjoy your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Komaneka at Rasa Sayang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Rasa Sayang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing