We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It depends ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kampung Ubud Villa
Ranked #148 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed August 9, 2012

What you think about Kampung will very depend on what you are after … we stayed for 5 days which was really 2 days to long…
Physical Accommodation: There are three Villas situated in a small village (Kampung) about 15 mins away from Ubud. Kampung is a real working village and situated right beside the villas which does mean the roosters (of which there are many) are right into it from about 5.30 (very loud) ..so this could be a pro or a con depending on what you are look for. There is little to do around the Villa itself
Myself and family (wife, and 2 kids ) stayed in the Nirwana Villa see video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUay_HPizq4 , quite nice clean villas although the kitchen is pretty average , no utensils and really pretty dirty. The Villa has quite a large clean private pool which is unheated but pretty good
Food: Breakfast is provide but pretty basic and limited in options , pancakes were quite good …but no real coffee (which you must be able to fix !!! ) There is no café or food options close by ..basically you have to go Ubud … even though its only 15 mins that becomes a pretty painful trip after a while

Overall : we paid 200USD a night (definitely wouldn’t pay anymore)… if I went back to Ubud I would almost certainly stay in Ubud rather than out here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZenStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at KUB for 2 nights from 05 june to 07 June 2012 and were amazed at the beauty of the place - the villas were luxurious and the outdoor bathrooms were lovely.
Our hosts were very welcoming and my 15 year old daughter and I got to borrow the bikes(which were in very good condition) and go for a cycle in the countryside surrounding the Villas
We stayed in the Nirwana villa and having our own very special pool and lovely outer living areas was great .
The shuttle bus to the village of Ubud was a great idea and our drivers were always on time to pick us up .. all in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLBennett050664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 10, 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at the Villas for my honeymoon last weekend. The villas are very pretty and definitely private. The shuttle that they have to Ubud center is definitely a plus and they will pretty much drop you off anywhere you want them too. The staff is also very friendly.

My main issue with the place was the cleanliness. We stayed in a 2 room villa, and being a villa we knew the issues there would be with the mosquitos and other insects, however, there really is no 100% closed off part to the main downstairs room section and we found insects (spiders, mosquitos, ants) everywhere, so much so that we didn't feel comfortable sleeping in the downstairs villa. We decided to stay in the upstairs villa which was more closed off then the downstairs (although the slatted windows did not have screens on them), however, the upstairs room villa must not have been cleaned since the prior guest. We found toiletries from the previous person there, a bag of old chips in the drawer and an unflushed toilet (which smelt horrible). Not to mention that I had left my toothbrush out in the downstairs bathroom and went to get it the next morning and it was covered in ants!!! ...We had hoped that maybe they hadn't prepared our room as they should have prior to our arrival and that housekeeping would clean it the next day but it wasn't, since apparently their housekeeping service only consists of making the bed and checking the bathroom is stocked (the floors weren't cleaned or swept, the garbages weren't emptied etc). We stayed in a villa prior to this one and there was no where near the insect problem that this place had. I feel that if they cleaned the place as it should be, on a daily basis there wouldn't be such an issue with the bugs. We wanted to tell the management before we left but the only person on duty at the time did not speak english well and we didn't bother to pursue it.
Another issue which some people may want to take into account. This place is in a rural area, and right next to homes and farms. I am a pretty sound sleeper but both my husband and I were constantly woken up by the sound of roosters (not 1, not 2, but at least 4 or 5) crowing in harmony every morning.

In the end, it was a beautiful, relatively inexpensive place to stay and we stayed for only 2 nights. Had I paid full price i would have been livid, and I definitely would not have been able to stomach more then 2 days there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nessa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent two nights in this very pretty enclave of villas. The property is very pretty. Albeit, unmarked and difficult to find. It is located in an area of local homes and a neighboring resort. The dogs barked almost all night for both nights that we were there. Finally, when we thought that maybe there was an opportunity to sleep, the roosters began their morning wakeup calls. The neighbors also burn their trash, daily. The rate we paid was 262.USD per night. Breakfast was bland and cold. It took multiple requests to get brewed coffee instead of instant, and when I asked for cream, the powdered creamer was pointed out to me.
The rooms are nicely furnished. The baths look good, but do not function well. The stone tub leaked, and the hot water ran out before it was filled. There was also a scummy substance floating in the bathwater. The upstairs shower (#3) doors did not close properly, so when the jets in the shower were on, water spewed onto the bathroom floor. There was also soap scum evident in the shower.
The pool is attractive and clean. (not heated) The outside shower next to the pool is a nice touch The landscaping looks good, However, the stepping stones are too widely spaced, leaving all of us continually stepping on sharp landscaping stones. The steps to go up to the second room are not spaced for ease of use.
The beds are well appointed and the shuttle convenient. The staff are very nice. Also, there is an ayi/nanny suite with a squat toilet which is not mentioned in their ad.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinashenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked 5 nights at this resort in may 2012 in a 2 bedroom / 4 persons villa (Nirwana villa) using booking.com
We had a special rate 1300$ for 5 nights inculding the transfer from the airport to the hotel.
When we arrivee at 11:20 pm at the airport we where greeted by two lovelly staf memebers of the resort. Trip time to the hotel from the airport was a bit less than 1:30

The resort is just paradisiac. It's in the middle a a little country side town near ubud (15 min drive from ubud city center (free shuttle to there)). The place is really peacefull.

Our villa was huge and beautifully decorated. Each room is in fact a villa that has a separeted dressing room and semi-open air bathroom with a huge amazing bath. The garden with the huge swimming pool is in the middle of the villa's ground. This pool is just perfect with a connected whirlpool (not lots of jets but very convenient to relax in the water). You have also a full outside kitchen and an outside dinning/living room.

If you want to be near Ubud avoiding the crowd of the city center and enjoy the county side this place is exactly What you need.

There is some free bycicle available to visit the magnificient surounding (rice field, villages). The bicycle where like new. It's really a great way to discover Bali and meet people.

The staff is lovely and really helpfull, they helped us to book our trips, driver,....

The breakfast is very good. We took the Balinese one (fried rice or noodle with fried egg and vegetables, fresh fruit plate, juice and coffee). It is served at in your villa at your desired time by the friendly staff members.

We really don't have anything negative to say about this resort.

It was exactly what we wanted:

- a peacefull place not too far from ubud
- a huge swimming pool
- a huge bathroom with a huge bath
- a very good and huge bed
- bycicles to discover the surrounding
- smilling and helping staff
- good price/quality offer

We would for sure come back here

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochlaurentprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 10, 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent our first week of our honeymoon at Kampung Villas and it was a very private , beautiful place to stay . The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the free shuttle service made up for the distance away from Ubud centre ( around 10 mins drive from the villa ) . I would highly recommend this to honeymooners or a family wanting there privacy - breakfast was great everymorning and served at whatever time you like and a very comfortable bed we would definitely return .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DermoPurvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 10, 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The villa we stayed in was very spacious. The service quality was beyond expectations. Free shuttle service to ubud more than made up for the distance from ubud central. Found the management very accommodating. I would highly recommend this place for travelers who love their privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi16b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 10, 2017

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.4 mi away
Ubud Raya Resort
Ubud Raya Resort
#84 of 599 in Ubud
169 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ashoka Tree Resort Ubud
2.5 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#45 of 599 in Ubud
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Tegalalang
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Nirvana Bali
Villa Nirvana Bali
#68 of 599 in Ubud
173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ubud Padi Villas
Ubud Padi Villas
#27 of 599 in Ubud
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kampung Ubud Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kampung Ubud Villa

Address: Jl. Raya Sayan, Br Sindu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly D'Bulakan Kampung Villa Ubud)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $68 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kampung Ubud Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kampung Ubud Villa is charming property inspired by the traditional elegance of a Balinese village. It features a collection of just 10 private villas surrounded by the tropical beauty of nature. Each villa is a private sanctuary cocooned within the walls of a lush garden compound complete with a swimming pool and essential lifestyle facilities. Hospitality at The Kampung Ubud Villa is warm and personal. It is staffed by a friendly team who are on hand to take care of all needs in a timely manner. Supporting facilities at the property include a small restaurant that serves a flavourful menu of international cuisine. Nurturing body and beauty treatments are also available for rejuvenating spa indulgence. The Kampung Ubud Villa is located within the picture sque village of Sayan, a semi-rural area known for its timeless landscape that shelters the Ayung River. This peaceful hamlet is just a10 minute drive from central Ubud, which is the pulse of Balinese art and culture. The property is approximately 70 minutes by car from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Guest accommodation at The Kampung Ubud Villa extends to a collection of 10 private units.Each spaciously-appointed villa is encompassed within a walled garden and celebrates the essence of tropical living. The overall design blends Balinese architecture with high-end finishes and modern elements for a look that harmonizes with the surrounding environment. Every bedroom is a sanctuary for personal renewal featuring an en-suite bathroom with anoutdoor shower and separate bathtub. An open-sided dining pavilion comes equipped with asmart kitchenette for the easy preparation of light refreshments. The swimming pool is arefreshing body of crystal clear water that lends itself to hours of relaxation. One Bedroom Villa: The One Bedroom Villa anticipates the needs of honeymooners or couples looking to unwind and recharge. It is the perfect spot to temporarily forget about the outside world and focus on spending quality time together. Two Bedroom Villa (2-storey unit): For families or friends, this Two Bedroom Villa is suitable option that represents affordable luxury. The ground floor master bedroom ensures total privacy, while the second bedroom is located upstairs and overlooks the pool and garden. Two Bedroom Villa (single storey unit): This delightful Two Bedroom Villa option is ideal for parents with children or anyone with mobility issues. It is nestled within a tropical garden for added privacy and comes with modern comforts and conveniences to enrich overall quality of stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Kampung Ubud Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kampung Ubud Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing