We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Retreat in Bali”
Review of Villa Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Gaia
Ranked #69 of 572 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical Retreat in Bali”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Villa Gaia is one of those exceptional experiences that gives you a sense of awe and tranquility mixed with the excitement that is always flowing there. Staying here is a real treat. Not only do you get an amazing room with great amenities but you never know what Spiritual Super Star is going to come walking through the door pull up a chair and chat you up with a cup of ginger tea. It 's the kind of place where community and visitors both can mix and grow together in very profound ways. It's more than a great retreat center, much more than a rental space, it's simply magic!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstair master if you want space and a great view, the garden suit if you want charm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Villa Gaia is a wonderful place to go to for retreats, holidays or events. The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful and I love that they care about things like recycling, salt water in the pool and glass straws.
The location is just a mere 5 minutes from the centre from Ubud, yet it is peaceful and quiet. The staff are also always friendly and happy to help with any of your needs.
Would recommend Villa Gaia to anyone to relax and recharge!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Villa Gaia provides a beautiful platform to be in the Ubud area. I have used it numerous times as a retreat center in Bali. The staff are gracious and helpful, the food is sumptuous and healthy, the setting is serene, casual and accommodating, and the overall ambience is of a gracious good-natured home in Ubud. I have only good things to say, and will return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremiahabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Blessed to have had the opportunity to stay at Gaia Retreat Center multiple times and what an amazing venue and exquisite setting for deep, healing work and quiet contemplation. Gaia Retreat Center is not an ordinary retreat center due to the level of awareness and consciousness of the wonderful owner, Glen and the exquisite surroundings of Gaia. It's quite magical and what is taking place there is ever expanding and evolving from crystal healing, kirtan as well as heart luminaries from all walks of life sharing their gifts in various forms. I loved to walk through it's magic doors and down the gorgeous, curving cobbled path under the canopy of flowers and into this soaring, spacious and serene open air venue or float in the salt water pool at night under the stars watching the fireflies at play in the rice fields. The staff are so sweet and helpful and also unintrusive if you are needing silence and contemplation. Slept so peacefully as it's supremely quiet at night. In the morning you can have a far infrared sauna, rebounding, yoga as the sun rises over the rice field, delicious herbal tea and maybe a green juice to start your day. I stayed in 4 different rooms during my various times at Villa Gaia and all had their own unique charm. Thank you Villa Gaia for the magic and the beautiful space you offer and I look forward to my next divine visit.

Room Tip: Love the upstairs room with the wooden terrace for yoga in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakinilor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My beloved and I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Gaia for a significant amount of time, and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with kindness from the very courteous and friendly staff. They were truly accommodating, and helped us out whenever we were in need. We really appreciated the focus of Villa Gaia being an eco-friendly retreat center: from the glass straws to the recycling bins to the salt water swimming pool. The location of Villa Gaia was great for us - just a 5 minute ride from central Ubud. It was really quiet at night, and this was the perfect antidote to a busy day in Ubud. We would definitely stay here again and again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjtamlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

What an exquisite place this wonderful villa is. Villa Gaia has a lovely salt water pool (rather than the smelly chlorine of so many hotels) and has an eco-friendly approach due to a very conscious owner which is a breath of fresh air for a health conscious traveller like me! The beautiful open living space with lush tropical gardens is truly a taste of paradise and it's superbly located to get into the centre of Ubud in 5 minutes. Would highly recommend this place either as a place to stay or as a venue to hire for retreats or workshops. Thank you Glenn for opening your beautiful space for the enjoyment of others for relaxation, healing and recuperation.

Room Tip: Any are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently attended the closing dinner and festivities of an event hosted at Villa Gaia. The ambiance was exquisite and the setting perfect for the occasion. The buffet dinner spread was first class as well as the staff and hosts. Thank you Villa Gaia for the great experience.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the rooms and thus cant comment on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonvank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
1.9 mi away
Om Ham Retreat Centre
Om Ham Retreat Centre
#45 of 572 in Ubud
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#40 of 572 in Ubud
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ubud Sari Health Resort
Ubud Sari Health Resort
#134 of 196 in Ubud
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Umajati Retreat
Umajati Retreat
#32 of 572 in Ubud
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaia

Property: Villa Gaia
Address: Jl Sriwedari no 5, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Gaia Retreat Center)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 572 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gaia is a magnificent open-architecture, Balinese-Modern-style home just minutes from Ubud - the artistic and cultural heart of Bali. Overlooking spectacular views of beautiful terraced rice-fields and palm trees, stands a fabulous retreat center home featuring luxurious open spaces. The marble and teak Bali Villa has 8 bedrooms, 9 bathrooms, full Western-standard kitchen, dining room, large screen TV room, full staff and beautiful infinity pool with decks galore and views to awe and soothe the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gaia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing