We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July's Tour and the hotel in general”
Review of Puri Alam Dewata

Puri Alam Dewata
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Alam Dewata
Ranked #367 of 536 Ubud B&B and Inns
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“July's Tour and the hotel in general”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff was exceptional. We were the only people staying in the hotel the first day and July Jumpink, a member of staff looked after everything for us. He took us on a tour around the various tourist destinations the first day lasting 6 hours. The tour was very reasonably priced and cheaper than bus tours advertised in Ubud. July drove us around in a very comfortable air conditioned mini van. July took us to Goa Gajah, Holy Water Springs, a volcano, a rice paddy, a coffee plantation and monkey forest. Throughout the tour he gave us an in depth explanation of Balinese life and culture and guided us around the tourist sites explaining all the features in detail. As opposed to other tour guides July's tour wasn't merely a recital word for word which he repeats on every tour but it was tailored to what we wanted to know. Definitely a 10/10 tour which I'd recommend to everybody.

On the second day he brought us on a tour to his village. This started with a spectacular walk through the rice paddys, a truly unforgettable experience. He then took his to his house where he introduced us to his family and showed us around his house, a traditional Balinese house. He gave us a demonstration of his family's wood carving. We bought a small owl which I insisted he carve his name into to commerorate this truly wonderful experience. He then painted mine and my girlfriend's name onto the owl. He then took us on a walk around his village showing us various noteworthy buildings and places.

The actual hotel was in a great location. Close to Goa Gajah in a very peaceful location among the rice paddys. The balcony looks out into a tropical rainforest location with a river gently bubbling outside the window. The room was very comfortable and clean. Every evening July asked us what we'd like for breakfast the next morning and what time we'd like it. A very nice change from the usual "breakfast will be between 7 and 10".

Once again I would recommend this hotel and July's tour to anybody and everybody. Truly an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel and I enjoyed my stay there through July Jumpink boy who works there!
It will make your stay an unforgettable moment, it is really helpful and will be ready to guide you in the city!
He took us to his village is a short walk through the rice and it was really rewarding to meet local people. His family is very welcoming and very friendly.

If you are looking for a nice hotel to explore the city in a Balinese stay in this hotel and July will be here to help you and make you discover many beautiful things!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K-Kwette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

me and my friend stayed over 8 nights in the place, very friendly people, the owner is a very nice friendly man. July Jumpink (from the villa) was our tour guide and he made sure we had a comfortable stay over our stay. If anyone is looking for a nice, quiet and comfortable stay in Bali, I'd recommend this place. Thanks to the lovely people from Puri Alam Dewata, Ubud....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

*Please note I stayed here in February 2012 but posted this review in the wrong place as Trip Advisor had not yet added the hotel.
I once again want to emphasize that these people were very friendly and tried to accommodate our requests as best they could.

Hotel, Puri Alam Dewata, in Ubud is a budget hotel that we booked on Agoda. Photos looked lovely but we quickly learned that a photo doesn't tell it all!

Our first room was so full of mold that we refused to even go into it.

We were there for an unfortunate 5 nights! Not once did they come into our room to clean the bathroom or floors or give us clean towels - we finally asked. The breakfast was included but every morning they got our order wrong. The shower was a mere dribble out of the shower head & the floor was dirty so I wore my sandals.

They followed us around asking what we wanted to do, etc. to the point I started feeling like I was being stalked - sometimes we would sneak in to avoid them, only to get a knock on our door to ask us.

Now having said this I need to shine some stars on this place as the owners were very kind people. I believe they are new to the hotel game so not sure of what to do. Their helper was kind enough to take us on a walk to his village through the rice paddys which was lovely and made for a great day.

Bottom line is they have a lot of work to do on the hotel rooms (all 4 of them) and they need to learn how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Rona Accommodation
Rona Accommodation
#430 of 536 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nyoman Badri Homestay
Nyoman Badri Homestay
#445 of 536 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#115 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Alam Dewata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Alam Dewata

Property: Puri Alam Dewata
Address: Jl. Raya Goa Gajah 10, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Puri Alam Dewata 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built near traditional farming activities, located 5 minutes east of Ubud. The nature and characteristic of the valley make the air around PAD always fresh, very suitable for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Alam Dewata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Alam Dewata Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing