We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Tropical Oasis”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Charming Tropical Oasis”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for a week at Puri Sunia. The grounds of the resort are small but beautifully designed. Great care was taken to preserve existing trees and so the whole layout looks charming.

We stayed in a pool villa which is definitely worth spending a little extra on if you can. The outdoor bath tub is amazing and the setting with garden and gazebo so private that you can totally relax. The construction workers and furniture makers of Bali are artists and every detail is so beautifully looked after and well made, that it is a pleasure to the eye.

During our stay construction work was going on next to the resort. Whilst everything was done to keep the noise down, it did disturb us sometimes. However, we nevertheless decided to stay at the resort most of the time enjoying our private pool instead of doing tours.

The entire staff at Puri Sunia is exceptionally friendly and attentive. In trying their best to make your stay there unforgettable, they go above and beyond.

In our opinion food would deserve a Michelin star. We did not have a single dish which disappointed and also breakfast was fantastic. We also enjoyed the free afternoon tea with different Balinese delicacies offered every day.

Around Puri Sunia are beautiful rice paddies and villages which can easily be explored by foot or with a (complementary) guide.

For two days we rented a scooter and went to see the nearby Tegalalang rice terraces and White Heron (bird) village.
Ubud can be reached by Puri Sunia’s free hourly shuttle service which is convenient.

Complementary yoga class every morning at 7 o'clock in the beautifully set spa center is a good start to a very relaxing day. Massages are good and the spa (bath)rooms are spectacular.

Overall we would highly recommend Puri Sunia resort.

Room Tip: Puri Sunia's pool villas are fantastic, beautiful and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    194
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
180
588
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud central but with a free shuttle bus on the hour, this is a beautiful serene place you can't help falling in love with. The rooms are top notch and the service the same. I would recommend anyone to go here and I would love to return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

4 days in paradise! The staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful! Rooms are beautiful and well equiped! There is an attention to detail everywhere!
Food is really good!
Shuttles every hour to ubud!
We ll try to come back! It was a wonderful stay!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boucle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Very romantic and peaceful resort! Huge bed I have ever seen so far, very comfortable though. Staffs there are friendly and polite...and they all remember your names. Food was excellent too.
Our stay was short but memorable...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xmbizwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was my second visit to Puri Sunia. It was just as wonderful on this occasion as it was 2 years ago. The resort is so peaceful & the staff go out of their way to speak to you every time you see someone and are extremely helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
My daughter and I did a cooking class at the resort whilst we were there. The food we helped make was superb & the class was very informative. We can't wait to give the recipes a try again once we return home.
On my previous visit I had a Villa & on this occasion a deluxe room. Of corse the Villa was better but had no problems with the deluxe room.
I would still highly recommend this resort to anyone that wants a nice peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it was a real joy. yes, it is further out of Ubud, but the shuttle bus is good and is always on time. it drops you at the market, which is very convenient. to be honest - I loved that it was a bit out. Ubud has changed since I was there last 8 years ago.... and not really for the better. It is one souvenir shop after the other,... but at Puri Sunia you find a piece of real Bali.

Tips we enjoyed as well as our 4 year old son:
make offering baskets with one of the staff at 10 am - my son really liked that
go for one of the complementary guided walks. The lady was very friendly and explained different things
have a room on the top so you have a better view
enjoy the well selected breakfast
take the torch from the room and go an evening expedition with your child,.. you will find frogs and alike
during the day walk around the hotel,... we did small "expeditions" around the hotel and found pigs, dogs, chicken, spiders, coffee plans, dragon flies, rice field and many more - my boy loved it (and that would not be possible in Ubud town)

please note that there are two constructions - one for the kitchen and one for some additional rooms,... on our last day there was maybe some more noise, but the rest a bit of hammering.

We did notice that the room and the AC had a bit of small wear and tear,.. i also was woken up by roosters every morning,... at 6 am :-( But I guess that is how it is to live on the country side and with rooster fighting being one of the favorite hobbies of the locals :-) but that was all the negative stuff I can say. The best part was the service. The staff is so friendly,... no matter at the restaurant, reception, spa or gardeners.

Thanks guys for the nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchguy_in_Allgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This boutique hotel has everything to offer. The staff cannot do enough to please you. The free shuttle to town is always on time and they will organize further transport if needed. I did the cooking class and it was worth every penny. I can only say if you like a certain drink and you have more than 4 pre- order with the staff. They can organize the mixes and drinks ahead of your arrival. The yoga class is free and the 15 minute complimentory foot massage is wonderful

Room Tip: Higher floor is lighter and less passing foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 196 in Ubud
752 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#35 of 196 in Ubud
629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing