We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puri Sunia Resort
Nearby Hotels
$275
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$285
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$618
$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$635
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$612
$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveler rating
836
212
37
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
212
37
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourrice paddiescinnamon toastmorning yogacomplimentary activitiesfree shuttlelocal villagealways on timepool villaubud centreafternoon teadeluxe roomminute driveregular shuttleshuttle servicecooking classbalinese massage
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a 3-nights pleasant stay in this small, quiet resort. Resort was about 10-15 mins drive to the Ubud Centre.

Absolutely appreciate the service of staff, especially Darma and Shri. Both of them were extremely helpful with our multiple requests (calling to book external spas, transportation, advise on restaurants, checking out on cats, lizards etc etc...)

We were back at about 9.55pm one night and needed to fill out tummies. Eventhough the restaurant was closing at 10pm, the staff were smiley and served our dinners till half-past 10.

Villa had a private pool which can be heated on request. The pool takes about an hour to be fully heated. Absolutely loved the pool. We had requested the pool to be heated by 8am for a refreshing morning dip before day-tour and by 10pm, for a splash before sleep daily. We could enjoy the view of the moon and the stars while soaking in the warm waters. Isn't this superb?!!

Tip: Try not to consume food within the villas to prevent the attack of ants....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_am_mazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We really happy that you enjoyed your staying with us. Also we will share it to Darma and Sri. We sure that they will glad to hear that. However we do apologize since many ants came into the villa area. We realized our surrounding is garden, bush and small tropical forest which easier become their nest, while the weather was rain. We are keeping to control them with natural and environment friendly ways. We wish able to get the best way to minimize them in future. We also thank you for your kind understanding for this situation and wish able to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is just absolutely wonderful. We stayed in two rooms in 2012 May (one was a regular room & the other had a heater outdoor jacuzzi). The outdoor room was fantastic as it had a small stream that flowed through it. The staff were so kind that they would switch on the heater for the jacuzzi even late at night. The jacuzzi was simply bliss

We were picked up from Bali airport in the middle of the night and we arrived early morning. The rooms were really large and the two rooms could easily accommodate 5 adults and 2 young children. The staff were very nice and my wife enjoyed the morning Yoga classes very much.

However, this is a small niche 4* hotel. You cannot expect multiple restaurants, library & gourmet food. Also, I am not sure if the staff can offer a concierge service. We planned our tours based on tripadvisor and guidebooks. For all practical purposes, this hotel will work very well for most people who want a nice comfortable base in Ubud that is reasonably luxurious

Room Tip: Choose the room with an outdoor jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are really happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us on that time, specially our yoga class. It will be challenge to maintain all of the products and services as well our efforts to improve them for better in future. And wishes able to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After a hectic week in Singapore & KL we landed in Ubud. We stayed with Puri Sunia Resort for 5 nights of which 4 were in Deluxe room & 1 in Pool Villa.

Some facts on the hotel:
- Puri Sunia is a small hotel with 19 rooms. Its just 10-15 minutes outside Ubud but away from the hustle of Jl Monkey Forest road where most hotels are located.
- The hourly shuttle service is efficient - we used it only once for pickup from Ubud palace, but I was impressed that the driver immediately organised for another taxi when he realised there were more guests to fit in Hotel vehicle.
- Rooms are huge. Three of us stayed in one room and still the room was pretty big
- Toilets are specious too...like a small room. Each toilet has Sunken Bath & if you stay in Pool Villa you get a bath tub and private but large open area for bathroom
- The menu for lunch/dinner is rotated....choice of food is limited but the food is tasty. They do offer bread and for dinner free tasting of an appetiser. Breakfast has variety of Continental/American/Indonesian & Puri Sunia b/f
- Yoga room & massage facility is available but we didn't use the same in hotel. There is a common swimming pool just behind reception area. Don't expect too many 'resort' facilities.

What we liked:
- smiling faces of the staff & will greet you everytime.....it seems genuine and very pleasing
- rooms are excellent for the price. After looking at the Pool Villa we decided to splurge and upgraded to it for our last night by paying difference
- Pool Villa provides privacy. It has a small pool 4.5 ft deep.. we as family enjoyed it immensely
- well designed rooms and comfortable large beds with canopy. There was some mis-communication and at the time of check in we were told that there were two single beds & an extra bed for our teenaged daughter but they immediately changed the arrangement to suit our need and joined the two beds to make a real big bed which was big enough for 3 of us and we hardly used the third extra bed.
- Mr. Eka - he is full of energy and explained the room details to us when we moved in Deluxe room & again when moved in Pool Villa
- complimentary water bottles made of glass, which I have not come across in any other hotels but this simple makes a very big sense in avoiding plastic usage
- walk in paddy field twice a week with Julie. This includes visit to local village and walking through paddy fields. Be ready to get sweaty and possibly your shoes could get wet. This is very good.
- wash basin made out of stone - real cool
- excellent & courteous staff

what could have been better:
- more Balinese or Indonesian dishes - after few days it can be repetative
- although the rooms/bathrooms are clean in some places the corners could have been cleaner

Could be best suited for
- primarily couples and families as well
- if you want to stay in peace and willing to spend extra 20 minutes to travel to Ubud for meals/entertainment

We will highly recommend this small resort.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are great but if your budget permits go for Pool Villa
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Paresh Dalvi, Om Swastiastu! We would like to thank you for your review and compliments to us. Our pleasure was able to serve you with our best and we glad to know that you have enjoyed our products and services. We do hope that we could do more to upgrade our room setting up and facilities within few months. Also we will share all of your comments to our staff especially Eka and we will look forward to welcoming you return to our peaceful home-Puri Sunia Resort. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wonderful experience from start to finish. Three day stay as part of 10 day first time holiday to Bali.

We arrived on delayed flights and therefore way after midnight and a full 17 hour journey after only coming from Brisbane. All we wanted to do was start our holiday and get into our room, as I we drove further in the dark down smaller roads had we the energy we would have been more worried.

Puri Sunia is a hidden gem. Bright and immaculately clean and gently furnished in wood the reception staff were up waiting for us with there hands pressed together and wonderfully warm smiles. We had a chilled glass of juice and a sandwich ready and waiting as they anticipated our being hungry on arriving so late. A quick non-intrusive introduction to our lovely cooled and spacious suite, an if you need anything please don't hesitate to call and we were hooked.

Hotel is nestled among the rice fields along 10 minutes of Balinese roads from Ubud, the free hourly transport to town takes you past local temples and shrines and proper local homes and businesses. I felt like I was seeing the real deal in this new country.

Quaint but modern and comfortable with wonderfully friendly staff, a good cocktail list and tasty menu, lovely pool and airy pavilion looking over the canape during the twice daily free yoga. Do yourself a favor and take the Balinese cooking class with the bright array of fresh ingredients and smells, personal tuition form the head chef and a guided tour of the local food market to open your eyes to sourcing the vital ingredients. Have dinner one evening when the local kids come along and put in a huge effort to give you a traditional dance show.

We stayed 3 nights before moving on and feel like we saw the real Bali before going and hitting the beach.

You should stay here.

Room Tip: Suites are upstairs with balcony, airy and light, more like one large room with bathroom and four poster bed
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear David, Om Swatiastu! We would like to thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy that our resort now became your favorite place while spending your first time in Bali. We really glad you enjoyed our products and service, including shuttle, cooking lesson, culture program by barong dance by the kids from our local village. We wish we will be able to maintain all of them to welcome and serve you back at our peaceful home. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Puri Sunia Pool Villa in October 2013. We have been stunned by the the place which is real heaven on earth. The Resort Manager Mr. Dewa and his team really make you feel at home. Service is very personal, dedicated and friendly. Resort is situated in the countryside 10 minutes drive from Central Ubud. Shuttle drives you to the city center every hour from 8am until 22.30pm.

Room Tip: Private Pool Villas are amazing !
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadrien B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Hadrien, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. We do really appreciated it. We and all team committed to do our best to make all our customer will get the best of our products and services to experience the real Balinese culture and life. We wish we could have the next chance to welcome and serve you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews