We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a 3-nights pleasant stay in this small, quiet resort. Resort was about 10-15 mins drive to the Ubud Centre.

Absolutely appreciate the service of staff, especially Darma and Shri. Both of them were extremely helpful with our multiple requests (calling to book external spas, transportation, advise on restaurants, checking out on cats, lizards etc etc...)

We were back at about 9.55pm one night and needed to fill out tummies. Eventhough the restaurant was closing at 10pm, the staff were smiley and served our dinners till half-past 10.

Villa had a private pool which can be heated on request. The pool takes about an hour to be fully heated. Absolutely loved the pool. We had requested the pool to be heated by 8am for a refreshing morning dip before day-tour and by 10pm, for a splash before sleep daily. We could enjoy the view of the moon and the stars while soaking in the warm waters. Isn't this superb?!!

Tip: Try not to consume food within the villas to prevent the attack of ants....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_am_mazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We really happy that you enjoyed your staying with us. Also we will share it to Darma and Sri. We sure that they will glad to hear that. However we do apologize since many ants came into the villa area. We realized our surrounding is garden, bush and small tropical forest which easier become their nest, while the weather was rain. We are keeping to control them with natural and environment friendly ways. We wish able to get the best way to minimize them in future. We also thank you for your kind understanding for this situation and wish able to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
171
576
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is just absolutely wonderful. We stayed in two rooms in 2012 May (one was a regular room & the other had a heater outdoor jacuzzi). The outdoor room was fantastic as it had a small stream that flowed through it. The staff were so kind that they would switch on the heater for the jacuzzi even late at night. The jacuzzi was simply bliss

We were picked up from Bali airport in the middle of the night and we arrived early morning. The rooms were really large and the two rooms could easily accommodate 5 adults and 2 young children. The staff were very nice and my wife enjoyed the morning Yoga classes very much.

However, this is a small niche 4* hotel. You cannot expect multiple restaurants, library & gourmet food. Also, I am not sure if the staff can offer a concierge service. We planned our tours based on tripadvisor and guidebooks. For all practical purposes, this hotel will work very well for most people who want a nice comfortable base in Ubud that is reasonably luxurious

Room Tip: Choose the room with an outdoor jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are really happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us on that time, specially our yoga class. It will be challenge to maintain all of the products and services as well our efforts to improve them for better in future. And wishes able to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After a hectic week in Singapore & KL we landed in Ubud. We stayed with Puri Sunia Resort for 5 nights of which 4 were in Deluxe room & 1 in Pool Villa.

Some facts on the hotel:
- Puri Sunia is a small hotel with 19 rooms. Its just 10-15 minutes outside Ubud but away from the hustle of Jl Monkey Forest road where most hotels are located.
- The hourly shuttle service is efficient - we used it only once for pickup from Ubud palace, but I was impressed that the driver immediately organised for another taxi when he realised there were more guests to fit in Hotel vehicle.
- Rooms are huge. Three of us stayed in one room and still the room was pretty big
- Toilets are specious too...like a small room. Each toilet has Sunken Bath & if you stay in Pool Villa you get a bath tub and private but large open area for bathroom
- The menu for lunch/dinner is rotated....choice of food is limited but the food is tasty. They do offer bread and for dinner free tasting of an appetiser. Breakfast has variety of Continental/American/Indonesian & Puri Sunia b/f
- Yoga room & massage facility is available but we didn't use the same in hotel. There is a common swimming pool just behind reception area. Don't expect too many 'resort' facilities.

What we liked:
- smiling faces of the staff & will greet you everytime.....it seems genuine and very pleasing
- rooms are excellent for the price. After looking at the Pool Villa we decided to splurge and upgraded to it for our last night by paying difference
- Pool Villa provides privacy. It has a small pool 4.5 ft deep.. we as family enjoyed it immensely
- well designed rooms and comfortable large beds with canopy. There was some mis-communication and at the time of check in we were told that there were two single beds & an extra bed for our teenaged daughter but they immediately changed the arrangement to suit our need and joined the two beds to make a real big bed which was big enough for 3 of us and we hardly used the third extra bed.
- Mr. Eka - he is full of energy and explained the room details to us when we moved in Deluxe room & again when moved in Pool Villa
- complimentary water bottles made of glass, which I have not come across in any other hotels but this simple makes a very big sense in avoiding plastic usage
- walk in paddy field twice a week with Julie. This includes visit to local village and walking through paddy fields. Be ready to get sweaty and possibly your shoes could get wet. This is very good.
- wash basin made out of stone - real cool
- excellent & courteous staff

what could have been better:
- more Balinese or Indonesian dishes - after few days it can be repetative
- although the rooms/bathrooms are clean in some places the corners could have been cleaner

Could be best suited for
- primarily couples and families as well
- if you want to stay in peace and willing to spend extra 20 minutes to travel to Ubud for meals/entertainment

We will highly recommend this small resort.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are great but if your budget permits go for Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Paresh Dalvi, Om Swastiastu! We would like to thank you for your review and compliments to us. Our pleasure was able to serve you with our best and we glad to know that you have enjoyed our products and services. We do hope that we could do more to upgrade our room setting up and facilities within few months. Also we will share all of your comments to our staff especially Eka and we will look forward to welcoming you return to our peaceful home-Puri Sunia Resort. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wonderful experience from start to finish. Three day stay as part of 10 day first time holiday to Bali.

We arrived on delayed flights and therefore way after midnight and a full 17 hour journey after only coming from Brisbane. All we wanted to do was start our holiday and get into our room, as I we drove further in the dark down smaller roads had we the energy we would have been more worried.

Puri Sunia is a hidden gem. Bright and immaculately clean and gently furnished in wood the reception staff were up waiting for us with there hands pressed together and wonderfully warm smiles. We had a chilled glass of juice and a sandwich ready and waiting as they anticipated our being hungry on arriving so late. A quick non-intrusive introduction to our lovely cooled and spacious suite, an if you need anything please don't hesitate to call and we were hooked.

Hotel is nestled among the rice fields along 10 minutes of Balinese roads from Ubud, the free hourly transport to town takes you past local temples and shrines and proper local homes and businesses. I felt like I was seeing the real deal in this new country.

Quaint but modern and comfortable with wonderfully friendly staff, a good cocktail list and tasty menu, lovely pool and airy pavilion looking over the canape during the twice daily free yoga. Do yourself a favor and take the Balinese cooking class with the bright array of fresh ingredients and smells, personal tuition form the head chef and a guided tour of the local food market to open your eyes to sourcing the vital ingredients. Have dinner one evening when the local kids come along and put in a huge effort to give you a traditional dance show.

We stayed 3 nights before moving on and feel like we saw the real Bali before going and hitting the beach.

You should stay here.

Room Tip: Suites are upstairs with balcony, airy and light, more like one large room with bathroom and four po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear David, Om Swatiastu! We would like to thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy that our resort now became your favorite place while spending your first time in Bali. We really glad you enjoyed our products and service, including shuttle, cooking lesson, culture program by barong dance by the kids from our local village. We wish we will be able to maintain all of them to welcome and serve you back at our peaceful home. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Puri Sunia Pool Villa in October 2013. We have been stunned by the the place which is real heaven on earth. The Resort Manager Mr. Dewa and his team really make you feel at home. Service is very personal, dedicated and friendly. Resort is situated in the countryside 10 minutes drive from Central Ubud. Shuttle drives you to the city center every hour from 8am until 22.30pm.

Room Tip: Private Pool Villas are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadrien B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Hadrien, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. We do really appreciated it. We and all team committed to do our best to make all our customer will get the best of our products and services to experience the real Balinese culture and life. We wish we could have the next chance to welcome and serve you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just got back from 4 lovely nights at Puri Sunia. Excellent stay, staff very friendly and accomodating.
Just an example of the detail: We arrived late, at 10 PM, and staff had prepped courtesy sandwiches for us delivered to the room. NICE!

We had a Villa, very big with an outdoor dining setting, and bathroom connecting to pool, especially helpful when you need to shower your toddler after some pool fun.

Hotel can provide drivers for tours at reasonable price, which is great when you cant do an 8 or 9 hour pre-packaged tour.

Great breakfast service included.

We will come back here to stay, next time in Bali.

Room Tip: If you have a Villa, make sure you heat up the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclausen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Clausen & family, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review and compliments. We trust that we just arrived at home safely after spending few days at our resort. We are happy able to deliver the best we could, and now our resort now became your favorite place in Bali. We committed to maintain them to welcome you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great place. So relaxing and the staff are fantastic. Free bus's into ubud but the food in puri sunia is class.
Did the bali baik bike tour... Well worth it. Only a few hours but you get a great feel of what bali has to offer.
Food in ubud.... Nomads and oops on Main Street good and v cheap

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maevepatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Patricia, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review. We glad to hear that you enjoyed your time during you stayed at our resort, also sightseeing and trip to Ubud & surrounding and found variety of excellent foods. We committed to maintain all of our best. We do hope able to welcome and serve you again at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#31 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing