We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best!”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Puri Sunia Resort is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. Everything was perfect! I am a picky traveler and we've stayed in different kind of hotels all over the world, but this one exceeded our expectations. There are many small details about this hotel, that make this hotel special and different from the others.

I want to apologize for not writing sooner, as I promised to the front desk manager. We stayed in Puri Sunia in February 2013.

We stayed in this hotel for only 5 nights, but wished it had been longer.
Right on the arrival we were welcomed with wet towels and welcome drinks to freshen up. We were upgraded to an upper suit.

The suit was spacious and very tastefully decorated with a bungalow type roof. Bathroom is all in natural stone with nice details. Very romantic stone bath and bath foam was provided as well. Always perfectly clean. Umbrellas outside the room doors are a thoughtful touch, as you never know when it might rain on Bali.

The food is delicious both during the dinner and during the breakfast. The breakfast is as in many Bali hotels a la carte. But the choice was great, food delicious and we never went hungry. Indonesian breakfast and coffee were great. An afternoon tea and cakes free of charge really came as a surprise. We were told to always ask for bottled water if we run out of it, as they will always provide it free of charge. Very thoughtful!

The hotel is not big, 18 rooms and suits and some 6 or 8 bungalows, if I am not mistaken. This is a part where I worried that this would be a minus, rather than a plus. Sometimes small hotels are not well run. But no need to worry here. Being small and set in an idyllic scenery of rice paddies and rainforest, this is a perfect romantic and relaxing get away. It truly felt as a honeymoon for us, as we celebrated our 12th anniversary. Birds singing, water running....

Pool area is very pleasant, towels provided.

For me the mind-opener was the yoga classes organised twice a day. I was participating in morning classes at 7am. There is nothing better than practicing yoga among tropical greenery with birds singing, mild morning sun shining and breeze refreshing. The teacher would always bring bottled water to all participants. I practice yoga ever since I've returned from Bali and it has become a part of my everyday life, thanks to Puri Sunia.

After breakfast there is also an option to go on a running tour around the nearby village and rice paddies. Twice a week there is a walking tour instead. We took the walking tour and it was amazing! The same yoga teacher walked us around her village, shared with us their traditions, habits and history. We had a chance to get a fresh coco to drink among the rice paddies. And again, the guide took water from the hotel for each one of us.

The hotel is set outside Ubud, but it provides regular transfers to and from Ubud. We didn't use this service, cause we had a car, but thought that this really adds the value to the hotel service.

These were hotel services provided free of charge, but they were ready to organize any tour you like around the island.

Balinese are religious and always make gifts to good and bad gods. We found it very touching that the hotel stuff thought of their guests as well in pursuit of pleasing gods. Every morning we were finding a gift to gods under our windshield wipers to keep us safe on the road.

We are active travelers and on the day of our anniversary we stayed exploring until late, just as usual. We were greatly surprised that when we arrived closer to midnight to the hotel, the hotel stuff waited for us and asked not to go to sleep straight ahead. Turned out that in 5 minutes they appeared by the door with a heart-shaped anniversary cake. They were obviously waiting for us all day! Amazing how they keep in mind all the information you share with them during the stay, and try hard to surprise you even more.

Overall, this hotel is what it is thanks to amazing people that work here. They make you feel like dear guests at all time. Thank you very much and keep up with great job!

We would come back in a heartbeat!
With best regards from Anastasia and Pedro

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Anastassia, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. We do appreciate all of them and happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us, enjoyed our products and services. We trust all of Puri Sunia's team committed to maintain them for welcoming you again in near future at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    194
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
180
588
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from 5 nights at the delightful 19 room Puri Sunia Resort - Set amongst natural rainforest and rice paddies, the calming sound of running water throughout the grounds and around the pool area was particularly peaceful and relaxing. The staff were outstanding – friendly, smiling, warm and courteous and genuinely concerned with making our time at the resort as enjoyable as possible. The resort is 15 mins out of Ubud but a very efficient and effective system of shuttle transport allows reliable access to and from Ubud centre. Our room was on the ground floor and away from the road, pool and restaurant and was very comfortable, quiet (especially when no one was above us) and well serviced. Initial concerns with a musty room smell and the thinness of the curtains were promptly and effectively dealt with. Breakfast and daily afternoon teas were a highlight, although all the meals and drinks we had were fresh and tasty and presented with care. The complimentary yoga sessions in the spacious upstairs area were inspiring as classes were held to the sounds of the natural environment (a stream, bush, birds, and frogs) as the open and covered space had no walls. The complimentary guided village and rice paddy walk was excellent and insightful. Special celebrations and a lovely cake for my husband’s birthday were a thoughtful touch. We will return!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Barbara, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our thank you for your review. And we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoyed our products and services. We sure that all of our staff committed to maintain them to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful holidays in a very good atmosphere. The hotel is situated within rice fields and approx. 4 km from Ubud. We had a well-organised transfer from the hotel to Ubud. Breakfast was excellent, especially the indonesian assortment (you can choose between continental, american or indonesian breakfast). High quality dinner which exceeds our expectations. Exceptionally, very nice and service oriented staff with heart and big smile. The room was very large and clean. I absolutely would like to emphasize the unforgettable balinese massage. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: We would recommend the suites on the first floor. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Iris, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your genuine review on trip advisor. We loved to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us, especially our foods and massage. We will share it to staff member and sure we all are very keen to welcome you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thank you my family and i just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in UBUD and everything was great. Breakfast was beautiful , restaurant was high standard and tasty, the staff were highly attentive and friendly. The rooms were modern and lovely. I highly recommend the morning walk in rice fields. Great value for 2 hours and very peaceful. Wifi was a little slow in room but was provided throughout the hotel. The resort is 15 minutes drive into town but the Puri Sunia provides a car every hour to pick up and drop off. Overall lovely relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Villas are beautiful or request top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Megan, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy to know you enjoyed our products and services during your staying with us, also our rice paddy walking program. But we are sorry when we got wifi problem by shortage of its cable power. We fixed it and do hope it was back to normal again. We wish able to welcome you back at our peaceful home in future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the best experience I've had thus far.
I was impressed by the warmth and genuine hospitality of the staff. From the time we received our welcome drink to the time we finished our meal the staff were constantly concerned about how the food was and if we enjoyed it.
All the staff were very friendly and will take the time and effort to strike a conversation with you. They were very genuine and concerned.
I loved the private villa with the gazebo and plunge pool. Clean and tastefully done.
I commend the team for the surprise they threw in for us. We were celebrating a special occasion and the room was decorated with flower petals and the bathtub was filled with flowers. Thanks for the cake too!
Overall I will not hesitate to recommend this place and will come back if this hospitality and service continues.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Anne, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. we commit to do our effort to solve the ant problem in our garden by keeping our sustainability green program. We also will concern to train well our students in their communication skill. We do hope will be able to welcome you return at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Positive :
I was upgraded in a private villa with private tiny pool. The bedroom and bathroom were very nicely decorated. Nice hot shower outdoor. Very nice television too. Friendly staff. Breakfast (tasty) in bedroom with no additional charge.

Negative :
There were suddenly hundreds of unexpected tiny antz in my bedroom, eating the wooden floor but not only: they came in my bed and were apparently also carnivore !! And even though the staff thoroughly apologised and sprayed the room, I felt itchy all night long. Many things were not included, such as a simple drop off in Ubud to my next hotel, they wanted to charge me 100,000 IDR (roughly 10 US$). For 200 US$ per night, I found it really greedy. Also after my breakfast I asked for an additional coffee which was then charged to me by a girl who did not understand me when I told her that they should have mentioned to me before serving, that the extra coffee would be at additional charge. Later on I explained it to the manager who canceled the bill, though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Anne, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. we commit to do our effort to solve the ant problem in our garden by keeping our sustainability green program. We also will concern to train well our students in their communication skill. We do hope will be able to welcome you return at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Puri Sunia is a small, intimate resort set in a hollow amongst rice terraces in the rural area north of Ubud. We had an upstairs room which was spacious and airy with a huge comfortable bed. The breakfasts offered plenty of choice and the Balinese coffee was the perfect way to start each day, very strong and very dark, just how coffee should be! But don't worry, other more regular types of coffee are available!

Our week at Puri Sunia was peaceful and restful, the perfect antidote to our stressful city lives. However, what really made our week long stay at Puri Sunia so pleasant was the warmth and friendliness of the staff, all of whom were well presented, polite and courteous. They made the Puru Sunia seem like a home from home.

The only problem we experienced all week was when we returned to our room one afternoon to find that it stank of cigarette smoke. This was due to people smoking on the balcony next door and the smoke drifting into our room through the gap between the bedroom wall and the thatched roof. We turned the air-con on full blast then left the room for an hour and this seemed to clear the air. Fortunately for us, the smokers left after a couple of nights but this is an issue throughout south-east Asia and other countries that have yet to recognise non-smokers' rights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear ChrisnDave, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments also shown that you love Puri Sunia. We will try to do our best to solve for smoking issue in our resort. And we do hope able to welcome you return at our peaceful in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#32 of 196 in Ubud
629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing