We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was so sad when I had to leave this resort. It was perfect! I loved everything about it. The food is delicious!! The staff will go above and beyond to make your stay as best as possible. These are seriously the nicest people I have ever met, and I truly appreciate my time spent here. The front desk will set up anything you want. I highly recommend the cooking class, elephant safari, and cycle tour. I feel very lucky to have chosen this resort. As a solo female traveler, I felt safe and comfortable at all times. I hope to return to Bali one day and revisit the friends I have made at Puri Sunia Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Lindsey, Om Swastiastu! Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time during your staying with us. We will do our best to maintain our products and services to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    186
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
169
571
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is 15 mins drive from Ubud, in the heart of rice fields. I and my husband stayed there for 5 days for our honeymoon and we absolutely recommend it. The hotel is isolated from crowds, surraunded by nature. They offer morning yoga sessions, trekking in the rice fields and to the villages nearby with no cost. We took a cooking class and a couple spa treatment both of which were wonderful experiences. The food in the hotel is particularly very good and better than the other 2 hotels we stayed in Bali. Thank you very much to the friendly staff of Puri Sunia, we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelenNur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful resort around 10min outside of Ubud, surrounded by rice fields and pure nature. They offer cost-free shuttle service to/from Ubud which runs every hour and it works quite effective. Service is absolutely helpful and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights and had a perfect time. The pool is beautiful and the food is great. Rooms are clean, big and worth the money. We also booked some treatments in the Spa, which was also a good decision. Would definitely book this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Alex, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our thanks for your review in trip advisor. We are happy our resort became your favorite place in spending your holiday during in Ubud-Bali. we will maintain all of our products and services to welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I don't need to write too much here that has not already been said! The staff are truly amazing and love to laugh with you (or in my case at my clumsy attempt to speak Indonesian and Bali). This place is fantastic but be warned it books out fast so plan your trip here early. Breakfast and dinner on site is brilliant as is te hourly shuttle service to town. The rooms are amazing with opulence and luxury. They have split system aircon and large comfy beds. Water is supplied daily along with fresh local fruit. This place is a must to visit the incredible surrounds of Ubud.

Room Tip: They are all great but ground floor for us worked the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_flip25197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul, Om Swastiastu! We would to thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy to know you enjoyed our resort, staff, products and services. We will share it to all staff members and sure they will so glad to hear it. We will do our best to keep all of them and wish to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Came here as a family of 7 including a 3-month old toddler for our family getaway. Booked wholly-based on TA reviews, and did not regret it one bit. Requested for airport transfer and were greeted by two vans at the airport, equipped with cold towels and even ice-cold water which was truly appreciated especially in the sweltering Bali heat that we arrived into. Took a good one and a half hours to reach the hotel from the airport, but it was good journey nonetheless with our knowledgeable and friendly drivers entertaining us all the way. Parents started getting a little skeptical when we entered Ubud and took a right turn through a tiny single lane road which seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere with nothing around but paddy fields. Little did we know that we were headed for paradise.

When we reached the hotel, all doubts and fears were immediately vanquished; everyone was so friendly and so accommodating! We were checked in in no time and were ushered to the restaurant for welcome drinks, and as it was tea time, were also offered complimentary Balinese snacks and tea which was splendid.

We were then escorted to our rooms; we booked 3 Deluxe rooms for 3 nights and each with different configurations and needless to say, all our requests were fulfilled including a baby cot for my nephew. I shared with my sis and we had a room with twin beds; my other sis, her husband and my nephew had a room with a baby cot and the hugest king-sized bed I've ever seen in my life and my parents had a room with a generous queen-sized bed. All 3 rooms were spacious, impeccably clean (even meeting my mums impossible standards, haha) and well decorated and equipped with everything from umbrellas, to towel stands and even insect repellent and an adapter! And then we saw the bathroom, AND FELL IN LOVE. Not only did it look amazing, it even smelled amazing! There were even bath salts by the tub and its certainly somewhere you can take a good long soaking in. Also loved the fact that the rooms were on the ground floor and opened out into the gorgeous gardens and we could easily move between rooms. Some other reviewer's have mentioned that there is no privacy on the ground floor, but I say, its a pleasure sitting out on the verandah; any staff that passes by greets you and asks you if you need anything or how is your stay going or you could even strike up a conversation with them and know the little secrets of Ubud and Bali. They really are friendly without crossing the boundary into your privacy either. That being said, you really can't go wrong with any of the rooms here.

Two of best things that deserve special mention: the beds and the restaurant! At night, you get a turn-down service which was nice. But, the beds.. Those beds here were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on and even my 3-month old nephew who usually wakes up like clockwork for his feeds slept right on through! Breakfast in the restaurant was a pleasure each morning; skip the Continental and American breakfasts (not that they weren't good or anything, its basically the repeat of bacon, sausages, eggs, etc that you get at every other hotel on the planet) and opt for the Indonesian and Puri Sunia breakfasts instead. The mee goreng was fantastic; we loved it so much that we ordered it for dinner on two other nights as well! And this too coming from a family of Malaysians, where mee goreng runs in our blood. Haha. The views from the restaurant were gorgeous. Prices at the restaurant are a little steep compared to those in Ubud town, but nonetheless worth it if you're there on a rainy night and don't feel like taking the 10-minute trip on their shuttle service to town for food.

They do not have a fitness centre, instead there was a beautiful yoga centre and which we really wanted use but simply didn't have the time for. The spa also looked amazing and our booking came with complimentary foot massages for everyone which was a nice touch.

All-in-all, we had hands down the best family holiday of our lives. Although it was a really short 4 days, everyone left well-rested, well-fed, well-taken care of and really sad as none of us wanted to leave. Needless to say, we will be back again and again. If you need a taste of paradise; Puri Sunia will give you just that.

Room Tip: Any room would be excellent, but make the extra effort and ask for one with a king bed. You will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review and compliments. We really appreciate it as we knew that you enjoyed your time at Puri Sunia and now our resort became your favorite place in spending holiday in Bali. We will do our best to maintain our products and service and wish to serve back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Puri Sunia for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The staff were so welcoming and their service was friendly, superb and thoughtful. As for the breakfast, it was sublime, they offer a selection of 4 breakfasts and our personal favourites were the indonesian and puri sunia. My wife said that the strawberry pancakes she had eaten in one of the mornings was excellent. The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from Ubud running on the hour until 22:15. It is approximately a fifteen minute journey. The rooms were well kept, the staff carry out a turn down service in the evening. In closing, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ubud, a tranquil atmosphere and winderful customer. Thank you Dewa and the rest of the staff for making a stay a pleasant one. We would definitely stay here when we re-visit Ubud in the future. A beautiful place and a even more beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessedarethespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our resort. We will share it to all staff and sure they also will be happy to hear it. We will do our best to maintain all of our products and service and wish to serve you again on your wedding anniversary in future at our peaceful home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

From the organizing our airport pickup, to a totally relaxing 10 day stay. We can't speak highly enough of the very friendly staff, the service, the beautiful meals, and the traditional surroundings. We could walk the rice fields in the morning, taking in the traditional Balinese lifestyle. Then enjoy a meal in the superb hotel restaurant. The food was always a delight, not too spicy for the uninitiated, to as spiced up as you would prefer. An excellent choice of western and local cuisine. We will definitely be returning for further stays at Puri Sunia.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Max, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review and compliments to our resort. We glad that you enjoyed your time at Puri Sunia Resort. We will share its to all our staff members. We sure that you wish to see maintaining and improvement of our product and services in the future to welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing