We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #41 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I can't praise this place enough. Every 'i' was dotted and every 't' crossed. The highly praised reviews made us book here and they are so true. The staff were attentive in every way to make this place a better home away from home. The place was set in a relaxing jungle amongst the rice paddy region only 10mins north from Ubud. The room was large and such a joy to walk into every time. Relaxing is the aim of this place and they make it effortless in achieving exactly that. They have a warm genuine desire for you to feel peacefully at home. The food was great, with breakfast being an excellent start to each day. Half our lunches and dinners ended up being at the resort out of our 8 night stay. The longer we stayed the less we wanted to venture into Ubud. Once again, I can’t praise this place enough. Thanks again to Mr Dewa and his staff

Room Tip: The 'suite' rooms are above the 'deluxe' rooms and provide the highest view point of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieV_and_SaraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Charlie and Ms Sara, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad to know you enjoyed your time at our resort. I will share its to all staff members here. Sure they will be happy to hear that also. Your compliments made us to commit to maintain all of our products and services and wishing your return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

A 15 minutes drive from central Ubud, this is a hidden jewel tucked away in a small village, Abangan. The unassuming entrance is misleading. Once inside, the gracious and helpful staff make the stay a memorable experience. The resort has deluxe rooms, suits and villas. We stayed one night in a deluxe room and then shifted to a villa with a private dip pool and a gazebo. The bathroom open into the private garden. Our stay was enjoyable. The resort offers free shuttle ride to and from the city center every hour. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We realized that we need to gain ideas to do improvements. We seek your suggestion on how we can improve products and services in future for welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

10 minutes drive from Ubud centre, relatively quiet and very relaxing. Surrounded by trees and rice fields beyond. Staff are excellent, meals in the restaurant are very good, choice of 3 styles of room. Stayed 8 nights and felt at home. Great yoga space and complimentary early morning session. Guided walks or jogs through the rice fields too. Easy to explore local villages and small trails into the rice paddies. Complimentary hpurly shuttle service to and from Ubud centre. Recommend to anyone seeking a fabulous escape from city hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotographerCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like express our sincere thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our products and services, specially our yoga and foods. We will do our best to maintain its to welcoming you back to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one of the very few places that is truly deserving of its 5 stars. They really deserve their success. We went there to drop out and relax and this is primed exactly for that. The food was excellent and for a three or four day break its perfect. Yoga in the morning. Cycle around in the afternoon. Just sitting and listening to the sounds all around you. It's quite stunning. The rooms are big, airy, spacious. The staff couldn't be friendlier and they really go out of their way to make your stay as memorable and meaningful as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxGaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review and compliments. We do happy our resort now became your favorite place for your holiday. We also glad you enjoyed our products and services. We will do all of our best to maintain its to welcoming you back to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Puri Sunia Resort for 4 nights whilst we were on honeymoon. We paid for an airport transfer and I would recommend this. The driver was waiting for us at the airport, we enjoyed ice cold water and hot face towels when we arrived at the car, which we enjoyed after a long flight! The hotel itself beautiful. We stayed in a suite (upstairs room). The room was huge with a nice balcony and lovely bathroom. We found our room to be of a high standard and very clean.The hotel restaurant is great, there was a good choice of food for breakfast. We also ate in the hotel restaurant one evening, the food was AMAZING, I can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel is located in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud town. We enjoyed exploring Ubud town; the hotel offers a free car/shuttle service to Ubud every hour and also collects guests from Ubud every hour. The journey is only about 10/15 minutes. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Every member of staff went out their way to say hello to us which made us feel very welcome. I also had a massage in the hotel spa. The spa is beautiful and the therapist was extremely professional; I thoroughly enjoyed the massage and would recommend the spa. We also arranged to have a private car with driver to take us on a tour on the way to our next resort Lovina. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the various sights we stopped at. The driver was great at pointing out sights and telling us about the places we visited. This hotel is a must!

Room Tip: Would recommend staying in a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review and compliments. We do happy that our resort became your favorite resort to spend your holiday during in Bali. I will share its to all of our members and sure they also will be happy to hear. We committed to do our best to maintain our products and services to welcoming your return to our peaceful home. SUksma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This Resort made our trip to Bali special! It was wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpfull. We had a cooking class wit the chef. He is funny guy and the food is absolutely perfect. The service in the restaurant was also excellent! The staff from the house keeping is perfect they helped out were ever they could. Housekeeping Manager Eka gave us beautiful tips for trekking and restaurants. He specially was truly amazing. We can not thank the puri team enough! It was perfect. And we felt home away from home. So when they say welcome home, coming back from a trip...it's true

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CristianGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Chistian. We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad that your enjoyed our time in our resort, products and services, specially our staff Eka and Chef Made. I will share this review to all of staff and sure they will be happy to hear too, wish to welcoming you return to the peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my favourite hotel in Bali. It was my last of a 3 week tour - I wish I'd gone there at the beginning and stayed the whole time. The place is beautiful. The Service is perfect - you feel like you've come to stay with good friends who want you to have the very best time you can. The food is absolutely wonderful - so much so that I made a point of asking to speak to the chef. The Spa is the only place in my whole life that I feel like I was totally at peace with the world.
I know I'm gushing. I just loved it there. The rooms are clean and comfortable - the bathrooms are the kind of place you want to stay in longer than you need to just to enjoy them. I really enjoyed the four poster bed (that sounds dodgy.... ahem.....) there's something very special about a four poster bed. TV was good quality and had a few English speaking channels.
Staff really can't do enough for you. In my 4 nights there I did my best to partake in everything. I did morning Yoga with Julie, which was wonderful. I went for the rice paddy walk - best pictures I took in Bali. I did a full 4 hour package in the spa - all natural ingredients -supplied by the kitchens. I did smell a little "yoghurty" afterwards - but I was so chilled out I didn't give a damn! I even learned how to make the offerings that are dotted all over the beautiful Island.
It is true that the location is outside Ubud, the shuttle service met my needs without any problems and I liked the remote nature of the location. One thing to note is that I am terrified of anything that has more legs than me (or no legs for that matter)... there were a few little (and a couple of rather large) lizards around. But they didn't bother me - and the chaps on reception were very good at chasing them out of my room for me - I'm a wimp - they really wouldn't have hurt me and I was in the middle of the real actual proper jungle!!!
I loved the place - can you tell? I dream about going back!
Thank you to all the staff - especially Sri and Julie for making it such a special time.

Room Tip: I had the most basic ground floor room (cheapest) I don't think you need anything more than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexieLou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review and compliments. We do happy that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. I will share its to our staff members specially Sri & Juli. I am sure they will be happy to hear too. We will do our best to keep and improving our services and products to welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
786 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#46 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 199 in Ubud
364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#36 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $82 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing