We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at puri sunia was amazing from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. I enjoyed the free morning yoga sessions and also the guided walk around the local area.
Puri sunia is a peaceful and relaxing hotel in idyllic surroundings...i would definitely return if i could!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our yoga and tour to local area. We sure able to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    185
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
567
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff are very helpful. We stayed at Sunia for 12 days, and we were part of the family when we left. we had special treatment by the staff and they all called us by our first name after a few days. The cook created things that were not on the menu, but we made sure that we gave him notice the morning before. Fresh Juices for breakfast. I liked the so much that I will be going back for 3 days when I am in Bali next. It is worth the drive, the Hotel is located just 15 Minutes away from the main town of Ubud.

Room Tip: First floor units have a nice view over the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor and all the compliments to us. We also happy to know that Puri Sunia Resort became your favorite resort to stay in Bali. We will do our best to keep our service and products to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. 'Suksma'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel just outside downtown Ubud. All the staff were helpful particularly Kumiang the young driver who picked us. The food at breakfast was excellent. I found the hotel on trip advisor and it was well worth it. The drivers will take you in to town and pick you up upon request and the facilities are beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv4samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review on the tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We will share it to all our staff member especially Komang our driver. Sure he will be glad to hear it, so do all of us. And we are very keen to serve you again at our peaceful home as a part of our family in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Puri Sunia hotel exceeded our expectations!! Situated amongst the rice paddies witnessing the passing local life couldn't have provided a more scenic background. Stunning sunsets and warm,friendly hospitable smiles from the staff made us truly welcome. The Manager Mr.Dewa made us exceptionally welcome as honeymoon guests...the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel truly offered the chance to unwind & relax. The hotel created by ethical and sustainable methods is what was most appealing.It won a silver medal in the Tri Hita Karana tourism award..'In recognition of your significant achievements in incorporating sustainable,spiritual,social and environmental principles and practices into business'....truly unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the rooms facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawlovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in our peaceful home. We sure able to keep all of our warm service, genuine smile and hospitality to welcoming you back in near future at Puri Sunia Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The reputation of this resort was so good and I found it was exactly right after staying at this hotel. They never made me disappointed. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable for sleeping. The view from the room was a bit limited because it was not a huge resort, but with good enough beautiful garden of which with a lot of big green plants. It was very important for me, because I'm a jungle lover. I could feel myself very refreshing in this resort.

I stayed with my daughter, but she joined me from the second morning. So I requested to change the room from the King size bed room on my arrival day, to the twin bed room from the second day. However, what a kind they are? They kindly arranged my room for changing the bed to the twin's according to my daughter's arrival in the morning. Everything was already done during we had a breakfast in the restaurant. I felt their very good hospitality to the guest.

The most impressed me was the the restaurant. Every staffs were always kind and talked to us. They were really friendly and also very polite. Regarding the taste of the breakfast... Actually I had lost my words... It was the best breakfast in Ubud! So far, I have tried several hotels in Ubud, but the egg benedict whichI tried in this resort was the best...! I strongly recommend you to try it in this resort. My daughter was also very moved to the puri sunia breakfast with the lovely french toast... You should try it, too.

One more if I mention, I must recommend you to try the trekking in the rice field. Some of the guest enjoyed the nice view and walking in the rice field with a nice guide, Yulie. She was very kind and helped us with her good knowledge about Bali. We also enjoyed to visit the pre-school on the way. It was really lovely memory... She also made us try the real fresh coconuts juice.... It was like a live-show to see an old farmer rise the very high coconuts tree and picked some of the fruits for us. Really nice experience. We could fee the breeze in the rice field, could see the lovely small flowers, and felt the real Bali, by our own sense. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review and compliments. we glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our peaceful home. Our team members will be happy to know that you enjoyed the yoga, trekking and our foods, especially to Yuli the Yoga instructor, FB team and chef Made. Sure we will be more happy if we might serve you as a part of our family again in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Wow, is the only way to summarise this superb new resort in Ubud, Bali. Everything about the hotel, the staff, the food and surroundings is nothing short of fantastic. Set amidst the stunning rice paddies of central Bali, this is the ideal stay for someone looking to combine peaceful relaxation with breathtaking scenery. With the town of Ubud only 10 minutes away in the hotel's frequently run courtesy bus, there is no shortage of places to visit to pass a day or evening away. The daily activities and spa facilities on offer in the resort are superb and overall this is somewhere that any visitor to Bali simply must stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nofeardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for giving your review and compliments for us. We glad that you enjoyed our resort, staff, products and services. We will share its to all team members and sure they will be happy to hear that. We wish to welcoming you back in the peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the Manager himself Mr Darma as well as warm and smiling faces of staffs which provided us with soothing herbal drinks. Our room is strategically situated near to the reception, swimming pool as well as the cafe. With lush tropical plants surrounding the area it provides a cool ambience including the paddy field in the background. The bedroom is equipped with wooden furniture including weaved baskets with a mosquito net beautifully tied up from the ceiling which provides a unique feel of the Balinese culture. On our first night, we received a knock on our door which turns out to be a surprise visit from the staff bringing over a birthday cake complete with a birthday song sung by the staff as it was my husband's birthday. It was a wonderful surprise indeed. Breakfast comes with a choice of fruit platter or fruit juices including western/American breakfast and Bali coffee too but i would recommend to try the Puri Sunia breakfast ;-) The staff even offered 'rice coffee' on our last day as my husband had stomache from something he ate elsewhere which helped to comfort his stomach. Overall what makes this place special is the warm hospitality by the friendly staff :D The only draw back is that it's a few minutes away from the Ubud town but it's a nice change if you want to get away from the busy Kuta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulianaJamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we would like to thank you for the review and we glad that you enjoyed our service, also our bit surprise for your husband's birthday. We are sure that you will be back to our peaceful home as our family in near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing