We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Ubud”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotel stay experiences you could ever have.
The staff are exceptionally warm and friendly and if you stay here a few days like I just did you feel very much part of the Sunia Family.
The hospitality and care is very genuine and heartfelt.
The staff really do care about the guests and will go out of their way to help.
The atmosphere is very relaxing and just the right distance from ubud to be away from the hustle and bustle of the charming mountain town.
I thoroughly recommend the Sunia it is a wonderful insight into the beautiful people and spirit of the island. The staff will take u to the local village if u ask and I highly recommend doing this if you want an insight into how the Balinese live in such balanced harmony.
They have a new Aust trained chef who provides first class food on a consistent basis.
Don't look anywhere else this place is outstanding

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and compliments. We glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our peaceful home. We will share its to our team member, specially our chef. And we do hope able to serve you in near future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    194
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
180
587
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Puri Sunia is about a 10 minute drive from the heart of Ubud (the resort has a bus every hour that takes you there). The rooms are beautiful and quiet, deep bath, views of green lushness and tastefully decorated. The staff are friendly, helpful and excited to share their culture. The food at the restaurant is wonderful, and the Balinese breakfasts a perfect way to begin each day. There is an afternoon tea provided with Bali coffee & sweets. Perfection. Would definitely stay there again & recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 109KarenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review on the tripadvisor and the compliments you delivered. We glad that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our foods and service. I will share its to all of staff members, and sure they will happy to hear its. We wish to welcoming you back as a part of family at Puri Sunia, in the peaceful home. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent four days here, wishing it could be four weeks. The setting in amongst rice paddies, the rooms, the pool, the food... cannot fault anything.
The free shuttle takes you on the hour into Ubud, a short 10-15 minute drive away, with pick up on the quarter hour. The young driver was terrific, polite, helpful...even invited us to his village temple to see the preparations for a festival a few days later.
So peaceful. The restaurant is fabulous. Who needs an 'American' breakfast when the Indonesian breakfasts are fantastic. The restaurant staff were fabulous.
Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms havw a private balcony overlooking the gardens and very high thatched roof. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 983Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review on the trip advisor. We also glad you enjoyed your time with us, our food and driver service. I will share its to all of staff member. We also wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our first trip to Bali for 20 years and we took our 12 year old son. Hotel and location was just what we were after. Lovely surroundings, quiet location and very much in the heart of real Bali. Staff are fantastic and nothing too much trouble. Restaurant is great and the huge soft beds were something that more hotels should have. Hotel is about 15 mins north of Ubud however shuttle service made it easier and means you are away from the hustle and bustle of the town. You also get to experience seeing the rice fields and terraces on the way to and from and see how the local villagers live.

Room Tip: We had ground floor room which was very nice. Upstairs is same with private balcony and view so pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review on the trip advisor. We also glad you enjoyed your time with us, enjoyed our food, surroundings and services. I will share its to all of staff member. We also wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've all been to hotels that owe more to the photographer than reality. Puri Sunia is not one of those. Stated simply, it delivers!
I've travelled, and stayed at many hotels, and few of those live up to the hype in the brochure or on line: this venue did.
The staff were always available if required, the meals were first class, and the rooms beautiful.
If you want tranquillity, isolation and peace and quiet, this is the place! The hotel shuttle service is available on the hour, every hour, to whisk you into Ubud, and every hour to deliver you back to your oasis that is Puri Sunia.
My only regret is that I wasn't able to stay longer than the 10 days I was there.
I have absolutely no reservation in recommending this hotel.
David Fletcher, Perth, Western Australia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review on the trip advisor. We also glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will share its to all of staff member. We keep the words as you have teach 'All are from the mind'. We also wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was travelling with two girlfriends one of whom was extremely reluctant about travelling to Bali. After day one at Puri Sunia she messaged her family to say she would like to stay here forever. The staff were so welcoming and very interested in the countries we come from. Yoga in the morning was a fabulous experience especially relaxing at the end of the session. All you could hear was the roosters, insects, birds and the wind in the palm trees. I seriously hope there is no further development in this area as this special experience would be lost. The food in the restaurant was beautiful and complimentary afternoon tea was so tasty. I will definately return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review on the trip advisor. We also glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially our Yoga class. I will share its to all of staff member and Yoga Instructor. We also wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I chose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor. I stayed in a suite, room 802, from February 17-24. I highly recommend staying here for at least one week in order to enjoy a leisurely and relaxing stay. I also recommend staying in a suite on the second floor as you have a private balcony, views over the treetops and a high ceiling (seems very spacious). I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort. I chose the Art and Cultural package. I was picked up right on time from the airport through transfers I arranged through the hotel. Check in was great. I was given a drink in the restaurant before going to my room to relax. The room was very large with a view over the pool area. Nice big bathroom. They had one of those electric mosquito plug in things in the room and a net over the bed. I was worried with it being rainy season in February that there would be lots of mosquitoes but I didn't have any problems. It did rain but mostly late afternoon or evening. It was actually nice to hear the rain and thunder. So don't worry about visiting Bali in the rainy season. One day it was actually a bit cool in the seventies due to the rain. So the bed was comfortable with a duvet and soft cotton sheets. You also have a rack to hang your clothes if you want to wash some stuff although the hotel does offer laundry at reasonable prices. Breakfast was great. You pick from a set menu but you can mix and match dishes. I did mediation and yoga at 7am which was a great start to the day. I did the rice paddy and jungle trek which was really interesting. We even went to a relatives home of the guide from the hotel to see how they prepared offerings to bring to the temple. I took a Balinese dancing class which was fun. I arranged a driver through the hotel to drive me around the island based on itineraries I put together. I had a private cooking class from the hotel chef. I had two massages and a facial at the spa. fantastic! The manager and staff were really wonderful. That was was made my stay. I am so glad I chose to stay here rather than the crowded Monkey Road area. I had no issues with taking the shuttle to the town center. You won't be sorry staying here in such a peaceful area surrounded by rice paddies and local people. I felt very much at home and would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review and your compliments. We also glad you enjoyed your time with us, the package and the cooking class. I will share its to all of staff member and chef. We also wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home in Ubud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 196 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing