We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but relaxation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing but relaxation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Puri Sunia was just amazing! I won't lie, on the way there when we drove through the back streets of Ubud past the rice fields, I wondered where on earth we were staying! But when we arrived it was more than I expected. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the gardens were impeccable, and the resort was always so quiet and serene. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food was great.
The resort is located out of town, but the hourly shuttle to Ubud center makes it easy to get around.
My favourite thing about Puri Sunia was the morning Yoga. There was no better way to start the day than Yoga in the open air studio surrounded by jungle. I have a very stressful job and this was the exact break I needed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review. We glad to hear that you enjoyed you time and our yoga during your stay at Puri Sunia Resort. Also we were pleasure to serve you as a part of our resort and were able to release your stress out. I will share your comments to all of our staff, and they will be happy to hear it. I sure that we look forward to welcoming you back at the peacefully home in Ubud-Bali. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    185
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
567
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hospitality at the Puri Sunia and in Indonesia was amazing. They helped us plan various parts of our trip. The hotel is surrounded by rice paddies and is very peaceful. It is 10 mins away from the city center, so if you are looking to be close by the city then maybe this isn't your choice, but we really enjoyed the location. The hotel also provides shuttles every hour that pick up and drop off guests from early in the morning till late at night. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were large and comfortable. They also offer Yoga every morning if you are interested in doing that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nimz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your time to write this review down. We glad to hear that you enjoyed you time at Puri Sunia Resort. Also we were pleasure to serve you as a part of our resort. I will share your comments to all of our staff, and they will be happy to hear it. I sure that we look forward to welcoming you back at the peacefully home in Ubud-Bali. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hi, This is only the second place that i have stayed that i can honestly say how wonderful the experience was. We chose the "Peacefully Kingdom" package in a pool villa. We had a cooking class, downhill bike ride, Ubud & volcano tour, rice paddy and jungle trek, 1hr massage and two beautiful meals.The staff are amazing and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liesarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We were pleasure to serve you as our part at Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoy our service and the package that you took. We thank you for your time to write this review and I will share them to all of our staff and sure they will also happy to hear it. And we wish to welcoming you back at the peacefully home in Ubud Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I can not speak highly enough about this place. I was traveling alone and was a little apprehensive about booking somewhere out of town but this was definitely the right choice.

I had a deluxe room downstairs, the room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable, aircon was good and the huge sunken bath was a real treat. The only downside was the lack of seating - other than the bed or the high back chair by the mirror there was not anywhere to sit during the day - I had a small terrace with chairs but being on the ground floor and on the route to other rooms and the sap it was not very private - not really a big deal. The room was very quiet and I slept brilliantly. They have fast and free wifi throughout the resort (some sites, said it is only in public area).

The grounds are gorgeous - the hotel is in the countryside (10 mins by free hourly shuttle to Ubud). I was told the hotel was full but it did not feel it - very quiet by the pool etc. Pool itself is lovely though there is one quite large step to get in and out and elderly people might find this difficult.

The restaurant was great - very reasonable prices for very tasty food and room service was quick. A good balance between Balinese food and western choices. The breakfast was delicious - only two choices, Continental or American but both were yummy. I preferred the Continental (the pancakes were amazing).

The hotel arranged an airport transfer for me at 5am and packed a little breakfast box for me.

As other reviewers have commented, the staff were outstanding they knew my name and made good suggestions of things to do and were generally very friendly without being intrusive.

I didn't try the spa but other guests said it was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKtravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We sincere thank you for your review. We were also pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. I will share them to all of staff and sure we look forward to welcoming you back at the peacefully home in Ubud-Bali in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

First time to Ubud and we stayed at Puri sunia for 4 nights. I had read many reviews trying to understand where to stay, close to town VS quieter place outside of Ubud. We certainly made the right choice. Puri Sunia is about 10mins by their free shuttle bus to centre of Ubud (leaves every hour). We stayed in Delux suite, which is upstairs and can definitely recommend upstairs suite and the one further away from restaurant and pool area as it is more private.
From the moment we arrived t(2am) the service was exceptional, they provided us with complimentary sandwiches because we had been travelling all night, and the staff each day asked of our program and gave ideas. The restaurant food breakfast and dinner is delightful, and sitting on the restaurant deck at night watching the fireflies in the rice paddie was very special.
This is an ideal place to feel like you are in your own tranquil setting but can also get the most out of the Ubud area.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and away from the pool area more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discoball_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Puri Sunia Resort to spend your holiday in Bali. We were pleasure to serve you as a part of ours and we glad you enjoyed it. it will be shared to all of staff and sure we all wish to welcoming you back in near future at peacefully home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I read about this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked my stay based on the other reviews and feedback. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, it’s about 10 mins outside the main centre of Ubud. They have a free shuttle service that goes to town and returns every hour, the drop off and pickup point is the easily located Ubud palace.

We stayed in the suite room which was just perfect, the bed is ginormous with a full mosquito net. The suite rooms have a balcony and are located on the second floor. The resort is small and caters to couples and people wanting a quiet time. The morning yoga was great, which runs every day from 7pm in the specifically built pavilion which is higher than the other rooms so your outlook is over the tropical rain forest…very zen.

They have one restaurant however this more than caters to anyone’s taste. The chef has done a wonderful job, they have a good selection of choices and the food really is delicious. The only reservation I had was around a set menu for breakfast, I am a big eater however I never went away feeling hungry, you definitely won’t be disappointed.

I can't speak highly enough of the staff or the hotel manager, they are all very personable and a delight. You are always greeted by happy smiley faces. On my last day I missed the hotel shuttle into Ubud to change some money for the departure tax, the Hotel manager offered to take me personally....what first class service...I didn't even have to explain I was leaving for the airport and couldn't wait for the next one.

For anyone looking for a peaceful and beautiful setting to spend time with their partner or close friends I couldn't recommended it enough. I usually don't believe in staying at the same place twice, however next time I am in Bali I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying Puri Sunia Resort. We were pleasure to serve you as a part of ours and we glad you enjoyed it. We will share them to all of staff and sure we all wish to welcoming you back in near future at peacefully home in Ubud-Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Puri Sunia. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. They assisted us in developing our own private car tour of special local places to see. The food at the restaurant was awesome and value for money portion wise. The staff at the day spa also helped contribute to our very thorough relaxing. We were looking for a small boutique hotel, in the mountains, away from the hustle and that's exactly what we found. I have travelled my entire life and this hotel is really up there in terms of value for money, service and quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camviettrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing