We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From start to end ...just brilliant”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From start to end ...just brilliant”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

First time to Ubud and we stayed at Puri sunia for 4 nights. I had read many reviews trying to understand where to stay, close to town VS quieter place outside of Ubud. We certainly made the right choice. Puri Sunia is about 10mins by their free shuttle bus to centre of Ubud (leaves every hour). We stayed in Delux suite, which is upstairs and can definitely recommend upstairs suite and the one further away from restaurant and pool area as it is more private.
From the moment we arrived t(2am) the service was exceptional, they provided us with complimentary sandwiches because we had been travelling all night, and the staff each day asked of our program and gave ideas. The restaurant food breakfast and dinner is delightful, and sitting on the restaurant deck at night watching the fireflies in the rice paddie was very special.
This is an ideal place to feel like you are in your own tranquil setting but can also get the most out of the Ubud area.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and away from the pool area more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discoball_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Puri Sunia Resort to spend your holiday in Bali. We were pleasure to serve you as a part of ours and we glad you enjoyed it. it will be shared to all of staff and sure we all wish to welcoming you back in near future at peacefully home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    194
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
180
587
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I read about this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked my stay based on the other reviews and feedback. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, it’s about 10 mins outside the main centre of Ubud. They have a free shuttle service that goes to town and returns every hour, the drop off and pickup point is the easily located Ubud palace.

We stayed in the suite room which was just perfect, the bed is ginormous with a full mosquito net. The suite rooms have a balcony and are located on the second floor. The resort is small and caters to couples and people wanting a quiet time. The morning yoga was great, which runs every day from 7pm in the specifically built pavilion which is higher than the other rooms so your outlook is over the tropical rain forest…very zen.

They have one restaurant however this more than caters to anyone’s taste. The chef has done a wonderful job, they have a good selection of choices and the food really is delicious. The only reservation I had was around a set menu for breakfast, I am a big eater however I never went away feeling hungry, you definitely won’t be disappointed.

I can't speak highly enough of the staff or the hotel manager, they are all very personable and a delight. You are always greeted by happy smiley faces. On my last day I missed the hotel shuttle into Ubud to change some money for the departure tax, the Hotel manager offered to take me personally....what first class service...I didn't even have to explain I was leaving for the airport and couldn't wait for the next one.

For anyone looking for a peaceful and beautiful setting to spend time with their partner or close friends I couldn't recommended it enough. I usually don't believe in staying at the same place twice, however next time I am in Bali I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying Puri Sunia Resort. We were pleasure to serve you as a part of ours and we glad you enjoyed it. We will share them to all of staff and sure we all wish to welcoming you back in near future at peacefully home in Ubud-Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Puri Sunia. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. They assisted us in developing our own private car tour of special local places to see. The food at the restaurant was awesome and value for money portion wise. The staff at the day spa also helped contribute to our very thorough relaxing. We were looking for a small boutique hotel, in the mountains, away from the hustle and that's exactly what we found. I have travelled my entire life and this hotel is really up there in terms of value for money, service and quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camviettrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martel, France
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent and beautiful resort , situated in the middle of prominent ricefields, you really relax here, the restaurant was excellent, the breakfast was delicious , wonderful service, treated like family, surely the best hotel of our Indonesian trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ind0nesiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleasure to treat you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Calm & romantic paradise. We stay here for 2 nights and we feel like we don't want to go back home. Its a different part of Bali, in the day we go down town and in the night we stay here. Its very different atmosphere here, the air...are so relaxing. Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rielesmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying at Puri Sunia Resort. We were pleasure to serve you as a part of ours and we glad you enjoyed it. it will be shared to all of staff and sure we all wish to welcoming you back in near future at peacefully home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I considered Ubud Hanging Gardens as we were looking for somewhere in Ubud with the oo-la-la (afterall the resort was featured in Conde Nast Traveler), but we finally decided on Puri Sunia for our 6 night stay. I'm very happy with our choice. It's been a completely blissful experience. 

A peaceful setting. Most sides of Puri Sunia are set amidst thick foliage and is quite luxurious like on a tropical island, while the front of the resort opens up to quaint little patches of a paddy field. It's an intimate and cosy environment, with the comforts of a well maintained resort. Birds, butterflies and dragonflies flutter about. Sightings of red ants and house lizards were thankfully rare.

The resort has a good layout, with quite a few spots at which we spent many lazy afternoons relaxing. The dining area is airy with views of trees overhanging the resort's pool on one side, and a more local scene with the occasional motor cycle whizzing by the paddy field on the other side. Hanging out in the yoga area feels like you are on a tree top viewing platform with greenery abound. The balcony of our upstairs room also had privacy from an almost unobstructed view. 

We had a suite room upstairs. Spacious, clean and comfortable. The decor is a nice balance between modern with traditional touches - refer to resort's website photos. High roof and a bigger than usual bath tub. We found the pillows too soft but the resort replaced them with firmer ones. 

The resort's food was consistently yummy and of good quality. For eg, spreads for bread were a variety of olive, pumpkin, etc. We had their Asian salads, local dishes, American n Int'l breakfasts. I was impressed that the pastries were always served warm. Prices were comparable to restaurants in Ubud city center, not exorbitant. 

Complimentary services galore. It was great that the resort offered hourly shuttle to Ubud's city center which was a short 10 to 15 min ride away. The ride weaves through the villages and takes a scenic route so it's almost an excursion on its own. Free daily yoga and tea sessions were nice options we occasionally took up and enjoyed too. The two hour trek on Tuesday led by the resort staff through a village and paddy fields was good fun. 

Resort staff was always warm and friendly. A joy to be always greeted with smiles and sometimes by first names at the reception area when we returned after an outing or at the start of one's day at breakfast. 
We have also been fortunate on this trip with like minded resort guests at Puri Sunia - for eg, no one rushes to reserve pool side chairs before breakfast. There hasn't been any sense of overcrowding at any of the resort's facility, even though I believe the resort is about 80% occupied - perhaps each guests' timing has simply worked itself out. 

Weather was perfect too. I generally prefer the tropical heat to temperate weather (for eg, I found the weather a bit too chilly for swimming at HuaHin, Thailand, in Dec). During our stay, it rained on some afternoons as this is the rainy season but I welcomed it as it made the afternoons in Bali cooler. On some nights, after it rained, we left the balcony doors open for the cool breeze in instead of using the air con. 

I'll definitely return to Puri Sunia, especially if the upkeep of the resort is maintained. 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Came to Puri Sunia with my mum. From the time we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel at home. Every staff member was obliging and nothing was to much trouble. The continental Breakfast was great and so much food.
Would definitely recommend this resort to couples and anyone just wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. Complimentary yoga twice per day and also some other fitness activities. Free wifi and an hourly shuttle service into Ubud town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 196 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing