We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #37 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Budgewoi, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Came to Puri Sunia with my mum. From the time we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel at home. Every staff member was obliging and nothing was to much trouble. The continental Breakfast was great and so much food.
Would definitely recommend this resort to couples and anyone just wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. Complimentary yoga twice per day and also some other fitness activities. Free wifi and an hourly shuttle service into Ubud town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    180
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
160
553
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from a magical place where everyone remembers you by name and welcomes you into their world. I spent 4 nights at Puri Sunia on Bali then 2 nights of hell in Kuta and then back to Puri Sunia for 7 nights. The day we were leaving for Kuta the manager gave my daughter and I his card with the offer that if we needed help to please contact him; which we did that night. So back to heaven we went. Our rooms, the excellent cuisine, the spa, daily yoga class, walking and running treks, making of offerings, available tours, bikes, pool, and an incredible staff made this an enchanting mother/daughter experience which left us loving Bali and vowing to return.

Room Tip: only 16 large rooms with large tubs and all the toiletries you desire including bath salts and bubbl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to treat you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Puri Sunia offers a private relaxing oasis to enjoy the calm beauty of Ubud. Some would find the distance from the centre a negative aspect of the hotel, but you can easily take advantage of their shuttle service to reach the city center. On the contrary I loved being away from the hassle of the town, which is quite different from the paradisiac image of the most spiritual city in Bali that books and movies have built around it. Staying at PS we had the chance of taking an amazing walk through the rice fields just round the corner of our room. The staff, the restaurant and the small swimming pool are all great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CaiusPio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to treat you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort. And thank you for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We do hope to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Puri Sunia was simply one of the best places we've ever stayed at. Relaxed, private, very friendly. Yoga in the mornings and then running. Thank you to Dewa and his team, including Dedi, Mayun - and if you stay in a bungalow, make sure you try the barbeque feast. Huge thanks to Madi for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri Sunia Reso... U, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleasure to serve you as a part of Puri Sunia Resort. We glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort. And sincere thanks for your compliments, which I will share them to all of our staff.
We wish to welcoming you back in near future at a peacefully home in Ubud-Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had the private villa with pool, stayed for 6 days and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an upscale, quite, hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Though we had a private pool for ourselves, it was "only" about 2x2m; however, it was perfect for quick dips to splash around with the wee one. Yes, we had our 11-month-old baby with us. We also had a private terrace where we enjoyed the romantic candlelight dinner one evening, but mostly that's where we put up the playpen we rented from Balibaby. There was a grassy area, but once a huge 30 cm long jackfruit fell from the trees above - scary to think what would have happened had it hit one of us (or, gasp, our baby).

The breakfast selection was fantastic; the continental breakfast was a bit too overwhelming with it's 4 courses, but having a fresh fruit platter was wonderful, so we ate a different breakfast each day (American, Indonesia breakfast as well).

Though Ubud is only a few kilometer from the hotel, it is too far to walk and there is an hourly shuttle that takes you to town, picking you up hourly as well. You just have to let them know when you want to go. They have morning and afternoon yoga, a welcoming foot massage, and other spa treats (but you'll pay European prices for them. Cheaper is to get massages, etc. in town).

Though this is sold as a family-friendly hotel, during the time we were there, there were 2 other families with babies and they only had 1 high chair. Also, our villa was quite dark and because of the humidity, our room had a light musky smell to it especially when they opened the mosquito nets. The closets were also blanked in darkness, and the curtains covering the windows along the dark-side of the villa, in the back were actually moldy on the bottom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellejay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Welcoming and trully friendly personnel made our first days in Bali unforgettable.

The resort runs very smoothly with yoga in the morning, great welcoming free massage, activities (do not miss the trekking with Julie), shuttle service to the centre of Ubud, amazing breakfast with 4 style menus to choose from, etc.

We loved chilling in the pool and had loads of fun visiting the market in the morning with the very friendly Buda. The cooking experience arranged for us was also very interesting and great fun (we'll try back home again!)

All in all, it was a great stay - interesting, calming and with plenty of activities to do.

Perfect for couples, great location in a quiet area only 10 min from Ubud centre where there are really good restaurants and genuinely friendly staff.

Room Tip: The villa with private pool is just paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the New Years Eve. we both loved it! The hotel is 10/15 min away from Ubuds center. Nothing to worry about since the hotel provides shuttles to the city center and retour! We really enjoyed our stay very, very much. There are yoga classes, organised walks in the rice fields and some other activities, you can also rent a bike. The staff was always very helpful. For breakfast you have 4 or 5 menus to choose from. The dishes and juices are freshly prepared on order, very healthy and tasty! Also delicious coffee!This is a place to relax and find some peace. We stayed in a superior room and also for a night in a pool villa. Both accommodations were great. Though the room was inside more spacious than the villa. But the villa had a spacious private garden with a whirlpool/pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#23 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing