We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unique resort experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unique resort experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Situated away from Main Street, quiet and comfortable. Very friendly staff and food serve in the restaurant is very delicious. The Grill pork ribs is a must try!
King size bed is the size of 2 queen size..very comfortable.
Free shuttle to Ubud centre. Certain day they arrange morning jog and some day is just leisure walk, check the schedule in advance.
High tea is served free, although the local cake is not to our liking.
Pool is clean and not crowded.
I am sure you will like this resort, and I will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    180
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
160
553
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheonan, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Puri Sunia is a wonderful place for every one to enjoy. Everything about my holiday at there was great. The service of staff always made me comfortable. I will absolutely choose this hotel for the next time go to Bali. Highly recommended this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaehoLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed for three nights at this beautiful place and we were more than sad to leave - the hotel itself is beautifully located outside ubud, a shuttle will take you to the city. nice, spacious rooms, quiet and the hotel complex is full with lobely details and well maintained. the staff is as helpful and nice as you can imagine, and the food: wow! we couldn't wait for the breakfast, there's four different choices of sets, western and local, still dreaming of it. same applies for lunch and dinner.
we had a superior room on the upper level in the back of the hotel. so what's the conclusion? the second we left we planned to come back - one of the best stays we experienced!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jensaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was originally our 1st choice however we were being offered to try their sister hotel Puri Sebatu which was opening middle Oct.
We proceeded with their offer only to know 2 days prior to arrival that Puri Sebatu did not open in time (slight disappointment) so we were move back to Puri Sunia.

Location
Puri Sunia was located in an quite an isolated area with nothing much by greenery and padi surrounding. It is the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle. Not for those looking for excitement. We arrived late and the drive to the hotel was rather dark and scary. Kind of give u an idea how lsolated it was. But we love it being around padi fields and greenery.

Room
We had the deluxe room which was on the 2nd storey. To be honest there was not much a view from the room that we have 808 that is. Just trees that. But within room (a big room), the bed was comfy, aircon strong, water from the shower good, nice big bath tub and just very relaxing.

Facilites and Activities
The yoga session was good although abit early at 7am.

The trekking that happens on Tues and Sat at 8am is a must go!!! They bought us around the rice padi fields, show us how the local live and do and we even got to try harvesting the rice and also buy fresh coconut from the local who climb up the coconut tree with no safety equipment. It was really an eye opener.

There was running on other days at 8am, not for the faint hearted though and the route can be a bit rough your ankles.

The shuttle service to Ubud centre was good as well, the driver gave us good recommendation on the food as well.

Staff and food
The staff were all cheerful and welcoming. Greeting us every day making our holiday wonderful from the start to finish.

Lovely touch with the chicken sandwiches when we arrived late.

Breakfast was ala cart, very good spread and wide range of choices. However room service was not as good, choice were rather limited and the one we chose were really just average only.

Conclusion.
This is my first trip to Bai but I could see myself coming back here over and over again and certainly Puri Sunia would be the 1st choice that would come to my mind if i want a peaceful and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h3hehaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Puri Sunia Resort is approximately 10 minutes away from Ubud. We rented a motor bike from the hotel (USD 8/per day) and enjoyed a great day driving around the rice paddies, just great.
The food in the hotel is really good. We had a'la minute “Eggs Benedict” for breakfast and some great Indonesian dishes prepared a'la care during the evenings.
In case you need a driver to Ubud or for day trips I can recommend you Pak Wayan: Mobile: +62 81805672373.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The property is located about 10 minutes from central Ubud and can be reached via the hotel shuttle which leaves and picks-up hourly. The rooms are large and there are three private villas with their own pools. The breakfast was good but we did not eat there for dinner or lunch

Room Tip: all rooms good, nice view and the staff so friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisnahtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed with my partner in Puri Sunia for three days early this month and had the best experience. We enjoyed all the service that the resort provides! We went for the village experience and got into the paddy field for the first time, then used the shuttle service to check out the city center. The pool is beautiful, the massage was amazing, and the BBQ pool dinner was delicious! The service was exceptional, the staff were very friendly and always have smiles on their faces. We were welcomed with cold towels and drinks and immediately taken to the restaurant - we ended up there so many times with the amazing complimentary breakfasts and beautiful dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraFinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#23 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#34 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing